Ride it 'till the wheels fall off.

in LeoFinance3 years ago

rideittillthewheelsfalloff.jpg

  • I have never been, nor will I ever be, a fancy person.
  • I'm the definition of low maintenance.
  • The other day I wore a T-shirt that's older than most college students.
  • As a child a saved up hundreds of dollars just by saving quarters that I came across.
  • I made over $1000 in middle school selling candy at a 17 cent profit per sale.
    • In high school people thought I must have transitioned to drug dealing and asked me if I was holding.
  • I buzz cut my own hair a dozen times before the pandemic even started.
  • I don't waste money going to bars and other overpriced social activities.
  • I've only owned one car from 2002 to 2021: a 1994 Camaro with less than 115k miles on it by the time I sold it (52k on purchase for $6000).
  • I've made less than $50,000 total over the course of my entire work "career".
  • Been on food stamps for over a decade, classified in extreme poverty, yet have never felt poor.
  • I don't waste resources.
  • I've never bought a pair of shoes (lol how).

Yeah, you don't get to where I am without being a bit of a leech at times, but I guess that's to be expected. I was not made for this world: I was made for the new world; the decentralized world; not this corporate rat-race clusterfuck I see before me.


tireblowoutpatrailer.jpeg

This is what happened on day three of my trek across the country to Pennsylvania. Probably drove on this thing for 20 miles without even realizing it. It was on the right side so people on the freeway couldn't even see it and alert us. Honestly I can't believe that the rim wasn't even damaged.

The point is that even my move across the country was scrappy. Doesn't matter that have access to six figures worth of crypto. That isn't even money to me; it is my reputation within the New World that hasn't been built yet, and I want the highest reputation possible. Even cashing out $1000 to pay bills makes me cringe. I almost miss my job at Amazon simply for the fact that it allowed me to never cash out, ever.

Speaking of Amazon SMF5 Sort Center in Vacaville, I still technically work there. I just kept taking all the time off they offered, which was every day of the week. It's a ghost town over there. The automation has really kicked it up a notch. Bezos knows what he is doing. I get paid $9 a week in lieu of "health insurance" so I still get a $9 a week paycheck. LOL. Every day that I continue to "work" there from across the country is comical. Q4 starts in a couple days and they'll give me another 20 hours time off. Let's see how long I can make it. My next shift isn't until October 7th, assuming I can't get another wave of time off like I have been for the last three months.

In any case, even my move across the country was scrappy. We actually bought a Ford F150 and I towed that 16 foot trailer 2700 miles without any experience towing things. It was like water skiing on butter for 2700 miles. Who knew toeing everything three people own on the freeway would fishtail the back of a truck given any tiny little imbalance? I certainly did not. Every time a semi-truck passed me the air-pressure sucked me toward it and threw me into a fishtail. Fun stuff.

Apparently because California trucks and trailers have no rust damage the resell value should be quite high. There's a bit of a risk involved though because the truck was very expensive due to the chip/silicone shortage. Fun fact: did you know that silicone is also used in the vaccines? No wonder why the conspiracy theorists run wild on that front.

The point here is that crypto isn't about money: it's about survival.

That's one of the reasons why I appreciate whales like @theycallmedan so highly. He was a scrapper when he was poor; he is a scrapper as a millionaire; and he'll be a scrapper at a billion as well, because it's not about the money.

Let me be very clear: if this crypto thing doesn't work out, at least 99% of all life on the planet is going to die. That's just what happens when life fails to scale, and humanity has been failing to scale for decades if not centuries. The corruption has set in, and if it can not be cured, then it will be purged by fire. Of this I am quite convinced.

Sink or swim together.

Capitalism has been outdated. This is no longer a competition. You can't spend money in the afterlife. Doesn't matter how much currency you hold if the infrastructure of society disappears. That much is certain. These billionaires that think they can hide in a bunker, on an island, or even in space are kidding themselves. It should alarm everyone how many mega-rich preppers there are out there.

They don't make um like they used to!

The world needs less greed and more synergy. The industrial revolution has taken us as far as it's going to. How many products these days are made to break on purpose so that another must be purchased as soon as possible? How many services have devolved into the lowest grade because there are no other options (power, internet, cable, water, etc)? Even the entire fashion industry exists to supersede functionality. Doesn't matter if your clothes aren't in tatters: you need more to keep up with the latest styles. It's pretty gross as far as the eye can see. The cancer is spreading. We are in stage 4.

So when I'm a millionaire or whatever and everyone talks about how "lucky" I am, I won't be feeling very lucky unless I can bring up those around me as well. This is about community strength and reputation, not money and power consolidation. If I have to leech value from my community to get rich I've done more harm than good. We all have to get rich together.

The really nice thing about crypto is that even greedy people are forced to support the underlying community. Hive billionaires will store their value in (you guessed it) Hive. When USD billionaires store their value in USD or another type of security (like stocks) that value pours into the pockets of the masters (central banks and corporations). Not so in crypto. Billionaires will prop up the value of everyone within the community, as value is shared between all holders, and counterfeiting has been made impossible for the first time ever in human history. A thousand nodes will never all be tricked at the same time unless the underlying code itself is faulty.

walless1scrap.jpg

Conclusion

Scrappers Guild unite! Crypto isn't about money, it's about reputation, survival, and eventually thriving communities that can scale bigger than corporations and even governments by exponential margins.

We find ourselves at the precipice of confusion. Many of these ideologies don't make sense because they are largely speculation. It's hard to imagine a random crypto scaling to millions upon millions of people while generating exponential value when what we have today is, shall we say, lacking. Rome wasn't built in a day, and it wasn't destroyed in a day either.

The future belongs to the people who have more to give. Greed has ruled the world for far too long, and this will inevitably whiplash into the other direction until we can find some kind of balance. Just remember: when everything is stored on a public blockchain, the richest members of a community will always be looked at with intense scrutiny on a worldwide level. If the emperor has no clothes, it would be best if they hit the gym at least a couple times a week.

Transparency is the future.

What a simultaneously joyous and terrifying thought.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I am a bit surprised Amazon is giving you so much time off. Are you still getting paid?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

only the $9 for "health insurance" lol

Do you get health insurance for 9$/ week? that's a good deal in my opinion.

No I get $9 a week INSTEAD of health insurance.
Not so great a deal.

Ah, that sucks. Because I know how expensive health insurance is :)

🤣 is to ensure you keep taking the time off!

It should alarm everyone how many mega-rich preppers there are out there.

Yeah, not only mega-rich. Society is broken in many ways.

It feels like we are in a world of followers ( sheep?). Nobody wants to have their own opinion, working like a swarm but don't think like a swarm.

IMO pretty dangerous. Special in the combination with greed.

I think the problem is not capitalism, it is the consumption and the greed for the newest on debt.

2 Guys have seeds. 1 plant them. 1 eat them.

What do you think happens? I think we both know :)

So... the guy that eat it, because he didn't share with the guy that planted it, he dies. Then its only one guy.. but because he planted it, he does not have food, so he dies too.

Moral of the story... if you want to survive, share!

And work together.

But, this story can end in every way, depending on perspective.

If we think seeds like savings and not a total amount, the planting guy with the patient and a higher acceptance of pain level will end up with more.

In the world of consumption would now be the term " tax the rich".

And so on.

I like the work together part the most too. But work together would be for 99% of people "both eat the seeds and no planting" :D

Sometimes there's an odd comfort in knowing that you're not alone. Top part of your self description sounds very much like life here... urban homesteaders who refuse to have a job job, food stamps, public energy assistance, occasional independent gig economist; the closest thing we have to a "regular income" is my wife's SSI; proud owners of a 1997 Mazda (paid for); "fashions by Goodwill" and so forth.

Greed and the addiction to "shiny toys" has been the dominant paradigm for far too long... the new reality is being built every day.

=^..^=

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Let me be very clear: if this crypto thing doesn't work out, at least 99% of all life on the planet is going to die.

exactly what I was thinking about a few days ago after seeing where this fake pandemic has lead the world.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I also tell myself that crypto had better work, although I've never really taken it as a make or Mar thing.

The observation that every holder in the crypto space is a supporter of the greater community - whether willingly or unwillingly is a sound one. There's no escaping the intentions of a superior way of doing things.

Welcome back BTW

It was like water skiing on butter for 2700 miles.

could be that tire was off form more then 20 miles :D

the description at the beginning is extreme version of me :)

What a simultaneously joyous and terrifying thought.

Without wife and kids, yeah most likely a sort of extreme version of me too.

I think this is one of my favorite articles you wrote.

I can relate somewhat as I also think about myself as a scrapper. Not to the same level as you because I do indulge myself a very overpriced drink in a bar every now and then, but in essence I identify with the way you think

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Enjoy the ride, it is all any of us can do, no matter the journey we take.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

We have somethings in common, thing like spending only when necessary, because I don't see the point burning money on something that doesn't add value to me. I'm not a fan of unnecessary spending.

I haven't had to buy a car since 2001. I have a 2001 Chevy Malibu. I had to take my car in to see about repairing the air conditioner. The guys at the shop could not put the car up in the air, due to the car being so old that the bottom has rusted the bottom of the car. I am not real happy about having to spend money to buy another car. I am happy that I have made this car last this long. I have to wonder how long I can get buy driving this car before the car falls apart while driving. I have no idea what the future will bring I feel it will be very different. I only mentioned my car due to how long you kept your car. Some folks go out and get a different car every year. I don't know how they can do that. Lol I am having a hard time just thinking of having to get a different car.

Haha, this is the line my biz partner always says about doing our real estate projects..."ride till the wheels fall off"

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ouch, that sucks. Was it just that the tire blew or did your bearing seize up? I tear apart my bearings and inspect them then repack them with grease each year. It's crazy how many people you see on the side of the road because they don't keep up on their wheel bearings. Best of luck on the rest of your trek. Hopefully it can't get much worse than that!

indeed we spent $475 tightening the hubs.
fun stuff.

I liked this one a lot... feels like you are in a very good mood today LOL even with all that scrapping done on the road.

I identify with this so much. I've never needed much. I drive a 98 bmw 328i that I got $1000 and before that I had a 2001 saturn sc2 that I drove literally until it was no longer drive able and sold it for scrap. Keep on keeping on man.

New Financial System should be starting up this coming Week...........
Wait Until you see how Many People are still Alive that the World thought were Dead and Gone..........
It will be Biblical ......

Montlo until the wheels fall off? this is the situation experienced by thousands of people all over the world, including me? Struggling every day.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Crypto will work. As I have said previously the “adults” are taking over. And no they don’t reside in D.C. The legacy system is an empty husk which will eventually need a reboot. The trillion dollar question is will the reboot be orderly or chaotic? Either way it’s going to happen.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

if it can not be cured, then it will be purged by fire

I like your style :)

!PIZZA

@edicted! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @brandt.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/10)

Realmente una buena reflexión de tu vida, y el futuro de las criptomonedas, oye tanto que has ahorrado y no eres millonario? deberías serlo.