You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Marketing: Desperately seeking funding

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Hello @tarazkp , I am the developer of the EXODE sci fi game on HIVE (a game which aims to become a full client game, more information and links below!) ... I came to your post by reading one of our player blogs!

So errh I do have a few notes, so thanks for happily reading below.

I have a few notes regarding an industry-level marketing effort:

  • Basically, a marketing budget is spent toward a target audience. And there are several kind of activities that HIVE proposes, from social networking to gaming and many things between ; depending on how you target, you will make some activities grow less than others, and also use your tools more effectively toward it.

  • Which will in turn influence the success of these activities and possibly make the others less noticed or fall in priority, just as it would have shown here; I mean, I see no game mentioned in the examples you had in mind :D

  • I don't know how you would pick which one to put forward. The examples you proposed are mainly about social networking. That's ok. But how about games? and which ones? So, my first note would be to expand the themes and cover more ground that the social networking aspect!

=========================

To be honest I see many, many proposals always focused on the social networking thing, or the vote and curation aspects.

And even understanding "you vote on something to gain $$" has been used to the point of having so many bots and stuff to do that, to the point of making me come out of my coding cave and do some posting here, because voting bots are more compatible with the past of HIVE than its future ( according to me! ;) ).

We have enough focus and proposals on these points imho; and there are great options I would like maintained, but HIVE can do more, and is doing more!

So, basically, you may decide in an arbitrary way of what dapps would be mentioned, and I wanted to put a note to say "don't forget things and be fair".

And even if you make efforts to identify which ones should: you may lack the means to identify in what way you should mention some, or not others.

So, how will you choose? It has been one year and several messages and form submissions to therealwolf but even hivedapps ( https://hivedapps.com ) still does not mention EXODE, for instance! and several other Hive portals do not. Whereas, therealwolf is a good guy from what I heard, just that form submissions do not seem to reach him. Hivedapps is still used by third parties to identify which dapps are there.

I don't blame people on this; until the game is complete, I am happily making it with more features. But the way to notice dapps? it's not even fixed yet.

So how do you decide on the kind of vision of HIVE you would present?

The games which are the most mature (such as Splinterlands) already have interesting metrics; yet while it is still played on HIVE they are more and more multi-blockchain-oriented as the game naturally grows.

Other games may lack the maturity, solid & proven concepts, or server stability, but would benefit from this mention greatly; but speaking about it, they would be glad to know when it begins and when they are mentioned to make sure the servers, community managers and maintenance staff stands ready. ;)

EXODE falls into the category of real games but also being in real alpha, although we are moving forward. I am not really "preaching my own game" (well, I am; I am all involved here :) ) but still "praying our gaming church".

I am more trying to understand in what ways such a positive initiative could benefit our HIVE gaming profile and playerbase, how you select, how fair that sounds, because I would like this one strengthened and not only the social aspect.

I would of course like more games to be included in your marketing options.
If you would like to know more about EXODE itself:

... thank you for your efforts for HIVE. I see the proposal is going through!