A New Challenger Appears!

in LeoFinance4 years ago

         Today is somewhat of a historical moment for Hive. I checked out the proposal page and saw this:

         That's right, the @dapplr mobile dapp is now funded through the DHF (Decentralized Hive Fund). Besides the fact that I wished that thing had a better name, but it is a good progress.

         Many have thought of the fund as a laundering scheme by the major stakeholders here. And you can't blame others for viewing it as such from the outside. After all, only "OG faces" of Hive have secured funding before this event.

         Well, there's a first for everything. I am glad @dapplr team stuck around and prove their worth to the community. I did feel it was a bit unreasonable to expect funding when the denizens of Hive had no idea what the team was capable of.

         Since then, I have seen people recommending the dapp in some places. I would urge, in the future, developer groups who are looking to build on Hive to first demo their product(s). Then, mingle with the various personalities on the platform to build familiarity.

         It won't happen in one day. But, I hope it would eventually happen. Hive is young despite carrying over much of the baggage from Steem. Let's wait and see if this "dubious" source of funding will sponsor more projects within the next year.

         Who knows, I may try out Dapplr myself at some point.


         Speaking of proposals, if we could get @inertia's Banjo proposal going, that would be great. I know a lot of you use Banjo, so don't pretend that it's an obscure thing.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

You bring up a huge point for Hive. The fact that an "outsider" was able to get funded shows how things are changing. This makes sense as we see more HIVE token distribution as time goes by.

It is great that Dapplr got funded. I have not used the app but I do like what I read about what the team is doing.

Hopefully we will see the proposal system funding even more applications.

Posted Using LeoFinance

That's the hope.

We shall see if more individuals or groups will be encouraged to put up their contributions.

I have never heard of this dapp. What does it do? Is it just another mobile front end like Ecency? Thanks for sharing this info. It is exciting to see any kind of development being made on the chain.

It's a awesome looking mobile front end made with flutter.

It is indeed a mobile app.

Thanks for letting me know about @inertia's proposal. Most def will check it out.

It is reassuring to seeing a project not reflective of the "inner hive" get funded. Should encourage further developments from ppl not in the clique.

As long as that perception is changing, it's good.

I think people that are using services like that should be encouraged to set beneficiaries.
I have at least three on each post, all services I could use for free, but don't.

That's definitely a kind gesture.

But ultimately, we don't want that to be the only source of funds. Whatever beneficiaries we set should be considered as "tips" and not the main stream of income for the project.

If their users won't pay for it, why should anybody else?

Gee, I don't know.

I guess there's absolutely no other sources of income for anything besides the reward pool.

User support seems best to me, but if we aren't going to burn most of the 'dev fund', then it doesn't matter to me who they give it to.
At the end of the day, I ain't getting any of it.

I don't see the reward pool as the only way to fund projects like this. When the SMT's get out, there will be other ways to fund projects on HIVE. Such as for example, other chains! That create relationships and mutually help the blockchain ecosystem. That is the future of blockchain in my view.

Yes, if we aren't going to burn it, then who they give it to doesn't matter much, I'm not getting any of it.

Seems to me that users would support the projects they use, I do.

An interesting project, I also plan to join and download the application.

Thanks for the information and the invitation. @enforcer48

I hope you enjoy it.

I am eagerly waiting for the iOS version, and the team has been super responsive so far to everytime I ask anything or do any recommendations.

I would add to what @taskmaster4450le pointed out, the fact that we need to expose these moments (not saying we need to rush, but instead build some marketable exposure) in front of other blockchains, creating the deserved transparency that the technology provides. Everyone can help, for example, just by using the app and having some sort of logo...

Funded by the HIVE Community (or something like that)... similar to what "Made in " does.

Whatever works to further Hive and everyone who's got skin in this place is fine in my book.

It's pretty swish - does a great job of displaying posts, especially pics and vids and development seems rapid.

It is a total relief it got funded - what does 'OG' stand for in OG faces?

Posted using Dapplr

A way to say "original".

cuddle_teddy1.png

!discovery 20

Will web3 interaction be even more mobile than web2, given that young people almost exclusively use smartphones?
I immediately supported the @dapplr funding and I am happy to see that they are working really well!

Thanks for the good new, mate! 🙏
!tip & !BEER

It’s a rollercoaster ride. It keeps getting funded and then defunded.

🙄 😭


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

🎁 Hi @enforcer48! You have received 0.109 HIVE tip from @amico!

@amico wrote lately about: Mini-Trail In Piano Rancio - Bellagio - Italy Feel free to follow @amico if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @enforcer48, here is a little bit of BEER from @amico for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.