My Thoughts on the LeoFinance 2020 Roadmap

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Direct from the desk of Dane Williams.




LeoFinance 2020 Roadmap

First up, big ups to the LeoFinance team for all the work they're putting in behind the scenes to make our community the success we know it can be.

If you haven't seen yesterday's LeoFinance 2020 roadmap, then click the link and go and read what's in the works.

Here are a few thoughts and discussion points I wanted to share.


New LeoFinance Interface (Initial Release: July 30th)"

The simplest update is the most exciting.

Like most people in the community, I can't wait to leave behind the old Steemlike LeoFinance interface and move to one of our own.

As someone who talks forex with my email list and on other social media platforms, I'm actually embarrassed to share the current interface and haven't even bothered to attempt onboarding anyone new for this reason.

If the interface is anything like PeakD, it's going to be a success for not just the LeoFinance community, but for Hive as a whole.

Bring on July 30!

LeoDex V5 (Full Release: August 6th)

Even with LeoDex's fees being a lot less than Hive-Engine's, I haven't used it once for one simple reason: I have no idea how to log in using whatever the current method is!

Well, if I can't be bothred to sit down and learn the process, then no normie is going to bother.

Sign ins have to be a simple process that people don't have to be tech wizards to be able to work out and HiveSigner should help fix this.

Fees suck and if it's easy to use, anyone trading a Hive-Engine token would be crazy to not use the LeoDex to do so.

Keep users within the ecosystem!

New Hive-Based App (Classified)

Treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen.

Am I right?

Can't wait for this one.

I have to know now!


Back to regular forex market analysis tomorrow.

Best of probabilities to you,

Dane.




FOREX BROKR | Hive Blog
Higher time frame market analysis.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

Like you @forexbrokr, I was pleased to read this latest roadmap post. Really sets LeoFinance apart from most communities IMHO. And I could not agree more on the current UI. It is a tall order to even attempt to match the quality and utility of PeakD, but ... Hey, aim high!

On this:

"I have no idea how to log in using whatever the current method is!"

I have used Hive Keychain, from the time it was first available and don't really know, given the complexities of the Hive blockchain, how it could be made any easier. That is how I have logged in to LeoDex, to take advantage of their lower fees.

Have you ever used Hive Keychain? If not and you are interested, I'll be happy to do what I can to help you get it up and running. Frankly, it works so well, I do not understand adding the Hivesigner option. I've used both and I personally do not care for it ...

Posted Using LeoFinance

The Chrome plugin and zip file method was too much for me when I tried, so I never bothered to properly find out how to set it up. I’m in no way a crypto noob, so if I can’t (be bothered), then what hope do we have getting normies to use the app?

My point is more around that we need to make logging in easier. While protecting your keys from keyloggers is important, in my opinion it’s not as important as making signing in as simple as possible.

Adding the second option to simplify things, as a less secure but more straightforward choice, is perfect.

Posted Using LeoFinance

The Chrome plugin and zip file method was too much for me when I tried

I believe the method you are referring to is installing the development package, which was only required for a few weeks when Hive was new and Hive Engine wasn't approved yet in the Chrome web store.

Now all you have to do is go to extensions in your browser's menu, add a new extension from Chrome web store (since you mentioned you have Chrome), and search for Hive Engine (type the name and search for it). Then click 'Add to Chrome'. That's it. Well, you also have to import your keys to Hive keychain. It's easy, but I believe you can find guides on that if you need. Or you can ask me. I helped other people who were having issues with Hive Engine.

I understand what you're saying about improving sign up/sign in though. This is a continuous process and is much better than a few years back.

Thanks for the heads up, I'll have to have another look at Keychain.

In my opinion, one of Steem/Hive's biggest problems has always been that we're an echo chamber, preaching to the already converted. One of the things that initially drew me to the LeoFinance project, was the team's focus on onboarding from outside.

While the whole of Hive is definitely moving forward and making things easier when it comes to onboarding people outside of the crypto space, I just really think we can't understate how important simplicity in our processes really is.

It looks like LeoFinance gets this, but I just wanted to reinforce the concept here.

Posted Using LeoFinance

I just really think we can't understate how important simplicity in our processes really is.

I agree 100%.

🌄 Good morning (here) @forexbrokr. It looks like @gadrian has already provided at least part of the response I would've written, on the "simplicity" now of adding Hive Keychain.

Your point is well taken and clearly understood. For myself, I try to deal with the difficulty factor hand-in-hand with getting involved at a relatively "cheap" entry point. Once all of the "Easy Buttons" are in place and, if it ever happens, a corresponding surge of new people then get it involved, I think (hope) the price will be significantly higher.

With that said, as for the use of Hivesigner over Keychain, well ... Guess it is nice to have multiple options. I will stand on my earlier statement, however, having taken the time to figure out what is needed for both, that Keychain is the better solution. To me ...

Posted Using LeoFinance

Keychain is much better from a technical point of view, but it's more complicated. There's no denying that. Offering both solutions will hopefully remove another pain point in the onboarding process and attract more new users from outside of the Hive-sphere.

I can empathise with where you're coming from though. I definitely see the potential in LeoFinance and have been putting my time and money where my mouth is with daily blogs and accumulating the LEO token for a few months now.

We're on the right track :).

Posted Using LeoFinance

Yes @forexbrokr, we are certainly like-minded on this …

”I definitely see the potential in LeoFinance and have been putting my time and money where my mouth is with daily blogs and accumulating the LEO token for a few months now.”

… with the difference being you’ve been at it for some time. As explained in my recent posts, I have only just recently taken a “second look.” At these “second layer” communities. And … Here we are!

Doing, not just talking about it, I have my first open order in place for some more LEO and … so … “we’re off and running!”

As for this ...

"We're on the right track :)."

... we can only hope. Right? Having had 3 different HIVE limit buy (each lower than the last) "set points" triggered in the last couple of days, I do wonder at times ...

Have a productive and prosperous Monday!

Posted Using LeoFinance