THREE REASONS LEO FINANCE HAS CAUGHT MY ATTENTION THIS WEEK

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Now for an outsiders clueless perspective. Although I've been on Steemit since August 2016 and switched to Hive on the day of the hardfork, I've never paid much attention to communities, The only one I participate in myself is Alien Art becuase it's full of cool pictures.

https://peakd.com/c/hive-158694/trending

So I only got around to checking out Leo Finance this week, and this is why I sat up, took notice and decided to do a post.

image.png

1. Holy cow, they have been giving me money!

I've never posted on Leo Finance, but despite that, once I logged in and checked my wallet I found I had accumulated 236 Leo tokens. And they are worth $40. Not bad considering I've never posted anything. I don't know where they came from but never look a gift horse in the mouth.

So I powered them up, and decided to get started.

image.png

2. The front end - Dim!

This option for Dim as well as dark mode is great. Best thing I've seen in ages. It looks great and now I'd like to have it everywhere. I hope PeakD copies that.

image.png

The whole front end looks good, especially the use of yellow. It's straight away my favourite Hive front end in terms of appearance.

image.png

3. The price isn't going down the shitter.

OK it's only $40 but with the spanking my crypto portfolio has taken this week, seeing I own something other than Bitcoin that is going up, made my day!

image.png

This is my first post on Leo Finance so now I’ll add an introduction as well.
In the early days of Steemit it used to be sort of hip to have a first person present tense bio in the footer as a way to introduce yourself.
That’s not so common anymore, but I’ll throw one in here to relive the early days:

image.png

@frot aka @sift666 aka Ian Gregson from Wellington, New Zealand, is a blogger, artist, crypto investor, conspiracy researcher, and cod liver oil retailer who takes lots of photos and occasionally makes a good call and rakes in a bunch of cash.

He has been doing webpages and blog posts since 1998, and if he could start over he would probably choose to be slightly more anonymous in this age of data collection. But all roads lead straight to his front door, especially this one: https://www.frot.co.nz/ so there is no point hiding.

He joined Steemit in August 2016 as @sift666 because James Corbett https://www.corbettreport.com/ said it could be the future of social media and blogging, and began investing in cryptocurrencies at the start of 2017.

And he even did a post about cryptocurrencies in April 2017 called “CRYPTOCURRENCY 101 - A FEW NEWB THOUGHTS ABOUT CRYPTOCURRENCIES” which actually wasn’t bad guesswork looking back 3 1/2 years on. https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@sift666/cryptocurrency-101/

image.png

His best crypto investment was to buy Bitcoins for $1k, sell them for $17K and buy them back for $4k. Lesson from that - buy low, sell high, and leave HODLing for numpties.

image.png

Meanwhile his worst crypto investment was to buy lots of Smartcash for a few cents each, and then get all excited when his wallet started going up tens of thousands of dollars an hour, resulting in him getting a big ego and calling himself a crypto whale for a day, until the whole thing crashed and burned. Lesson from that – if you are going to buy shitcoins low, make sure you sell them very fast if they ever go high!

image.png
https://coincentral.com/smartcash-smart-beginners-guide/

Currently he is holding Bitcoin, Etherium, Monero, Dash, Cardano and also a bit of Tezos, Status, and Numeraire, while watching Litecoin and Zcash. And holding Hive of course.

image.png

He is also into gold and silver bullion investment, and is expecting hyperinflation in fiat currencies to occur globally in the next year.

image.png
https://www.mygold.co.nz/

He is an egotistical prick who likes to blow his own trumpet...

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

That was great finding that $LEO in your HIVE portfolio. Good to have you contributing on LEO Finance.

Your review of The Corbett Report was interesting.

Great to see old school folks sharing on LEO Finance.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I still have some SmartCash, someone told me they were a bargain at 9c each once. I hate those Core Wallet things, always switching the nodes and then the don't work anymore. As for the SmartCash.., what is there to say?

I still have a truckload of Smartcash - if they ever recover I'll be a big blubbery whale again!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Look at that ATH, no wonder 'someone' told me it was a bargain. Only got £100 quids worth!

image.png

99.99% loss, I have had a few of those! Vibrate, FunFair and best of all SpankChain hehe...

So on Jan 13 2018 I was loaded!

You bought Spankchain? WTF???

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, seemed like a good deal at 54c each hehe..., I still have my SPANK, it's a ERC-20 token and stashed away in some wallet I have since lost the keys for.

Are you interested in buying some waterfront property with development potential?

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

well said I too like the dark theme of leofinance and with metamask connected, I can withdraw money and can log in thought meta mask

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This sounds like another new thing I'll need to suss out. Do you know of any intro pages about Metamask?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Welcome to leo :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks - so are you and trumpman1 related?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hey @trumpman
Please check out this post and consider Tweeting it to Promote Leofinance.
https://leofinance.io/hive-167922/@shortsegments/leofinance-the-borg-of-financial-blogging

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Welcome to the place where we're growing to become Lions! And yes, Lions earn!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

that new kind of a lion that earns money but I love this lion and I hope to become one

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

that very fat lion

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

His best crypto investment was to buy Bitcoins for $1k, sell them for $17K and buy them back for $4k.

Dammit, you should have given me a call...I knew nothing back then

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Dash has just gone up 5% since I posted this - why? - I know nothing... that is the nature of crypto trading - totally mad!

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Same goes for ZEC...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

"Law enforcement has problems with Monero, zcash, dash"

GOOD, sounds like my kinda coins!

image.png

Hehe That!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Welcome to Leo finance, you look like you fit right in here. I'm also into silver and gold and watching the fiat currencies go up in flames!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

image.png

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

LOL nice reply man im laughing so hard

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

im also interested in it that's why I follow you

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Leo bull is just on the way why I like it

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hey Ian,

Welcome to LeoFinance.

With investment stories like SmartCash (I was a sucker that loaded up too...), you'll fit right into the community.

Keep staking that LEO, sharing quality finance related posts and I'll hopefully see you around.

:)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks - I guess if you start out with not much, make heaps, lose heaps, and end up with not much, you are doing OK really! (Life 101)

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

image.png

LOL man that not the way to give birth to a lion


DONT DO THAT IT won't WORK

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Wrong...just wrong...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

image.png

I didn't realise Sean Connery made docos

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

🤣

He just died, aged 90!

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

WTF.

Nice to see you on LEOFinance. I started rather recently as well. Just about 1 week ago since I became an addicted, active Lion, or cub.. (?). I haven't been this interested and/or hyped up for the last 2 years or something like that for anything Steem/Hive related, and LEO looks really, really promising. Just the fact that we have manual curation on LEO is literally the best thing I have seen in a long period of time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I started out thinking this would be a template for other communities, but am now thinking OK if this is the one that works and the main subject is finance (rather than say conspiracy or art) I can run with that.

The idea of splitting things up is all a bit new - I used to just post whatever i felt like to my timeline, but now I will start posting art to Alien Art, Cryptos to Leo, dodgy stuff to my @sift666 account with the rewards turned off, and other stuff to my @frot account where it won't earn much in the way of rewards.

Meanwhile I'm doing shitposts on Gab and Flote. But hopefully it's all still me and I can put on different hats.

image.png

LOL you got a very tight time but I do these to I let other accounts follow the curation trail and post using the @aiovo account and then send or delegate to other accounts

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I too started recently and I set my goal to power up at least 100 LEO with @onealfa.leo upvoting comments I hope I reach their soon
but man I do retreat why I didn't join the hive soon

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think everyone on got an airdrop of LEO when it first started. After all, you can't earn on curation without having something staked. I have earnt some bits from curating, because I got excited and staked every token that was airdropped back then.

The front end does look nice. I keep meaning to check the community out, but I feel like I've got more to learn than to contribute...

It's all a bit tech for me to get my head around yet, my 236 Leo were all liquid until now

Was that an airdrop based on Steem? - I wasn't holding much Steem.

I don't really grasp backends, I spend too much time looking at deep state plots!

image.png

The thing you have is content and writing skills, which are always good

at the start of 1 month or so I also got leo through comment and I didn't know if I was surprised by then

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you for the vote of confidence.

I think Uncle Sam went for the anti-terrorism paper. 🤔

The LEO was airdropped for those that held ( a certain amount of ) PAL tokens, I believe.

Yeah, LEOfinance is a pretty cool place to hang and this storytelling dino is glad to see a fellow creative pop in. Good to read a little about your crypto investments.
I started sharing my entrance into crypto yesterday.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Paltokens - that explains it!

I've followed you and started reading your posts now - for some reason I hadn't seen you on Hive before.

Yeah, I might not have been on Steemit since the early days, but I have been around for quite some time.
I guess you saw me on your time line every now and then, as I have a tendency to support ( fellow ) creatives.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You have probably been upvoting my posts for ages - apologies for not reciprocating, I don't know what happened there!

and no, definitely not for ages ( I'm not 'that' old )

No worries. It's hard to keep track.

Remember me when you've become a billionaire.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

when was airdrop1? I didn't get to participate in any

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It would have been back when they first created the token. Everyone on Steem at the time got one I believe. It looks like you're a recent arrival, but don't despair, you still arrived at a good time to earn.

nice to see you here be Blessed.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Glad you finally jumped on the LEO train I hope many of those coins came from interacting on my posts :) wow you got in on BTC at $1000 that's a freaking steal just that trade alone could set you up for life, I do hope to make similar trades in the next bull run, picking up a range of staking coins in the mean time while I wait

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It got me started for sure but at the start of 2017 I didn't have all that much to play with. So now I'm better set up and this time round if any of my picks take off I'll do pretty well.

Bitcoin had never gone over $1k before Feb 2017

image.png

Just in case you know these things

Any idea why comment counts still don't work on Hive - they all show as only one, comment counts also don't work on Leo - they show as the wrong number, but comment counts of Leo posts displayed on Hive show the correct number of comments?

image.png

That is until I hit refresh and then they don't! - Hardforks...

image.png

Welcome to LeoFinance 🦁

Thanks for this awesome introduction post. I think you’ll fit right in. If you need anything, feel free to reach out with a post/comment/tweet/discord

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I would like hot tips for the next Smartcash please :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Koinos.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

First impression!

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta