You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1/3 Americans That Earn $250,000 Are Broke

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

Great article @rentmoney,
I find it very unsurprising as well because money management is not a hot topic in the education system, or investing, saving, how money works, where it comes from, etc, all seem to be very unimportant to teach youth.

I remember as an eighteen year old listening to a gunnery sergeant in the Marines giving us this Friday afternoon pep talk before we embarked on our regular weekend drunk fest and how I wished he would hurry up and get it over with so I could go party and have fun. He explained intricately how he became a millionaire by never partying on the weekends for his entire enlistment of 20+ years and that 95% of us or more would never achieve what he did because we will never listen, etc... I found it to be a very strange weekend pep talk and it stayed in my long term memory forever. Now it makes perfect sense and I wish I would have listened!

The best we can do is learn from our mistakes and pass insight onto our children and grandchildren when it comes to this topic, in my opinion.

Making 250k a year and paycheck to paycheck? Success or failure?
There certainly isn't much freedom associated to a lifestyle like this, that's for sure.

Have a great day, thanks for the thought provoking article.
!LUV

Sort:  

You hit the nail on the head. I preached and been preaching financial advice to those around me for sometime and for the most part it goes in one ear and out the other. I'm by no means a pro at finance but I do find most those who are cryptocurrency and blockchain wise are much better financial planners than those who are not. Thanks for sharing your Marines story. The experienced trying to help the less experience or young while mostly being brushed off for their efforts is a common theme in our society. To be a teenager again, the things we all would do differently.

!LUV
!BEER
!PIZZA

Making 250k a year and paycheck to paycheck? Success or failure?

For me, I wouldn't go as far as saying its a failure but it certainly could and likely would lead to financial failure if one didn't adjust their spending habits.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

@futuremind, @rentmoney(2/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require that no other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

@rentmoney, @futuremind(1/1) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require that no other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.