Elon Musk Effect

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I think we can safely say there is an "Elon Musk Effect". Someone should study that, maybe it can be replicated. :D

Look at Tesla, many agree it's overpriced compared to its results, yet it keeps soaring. No matter what. Well, probably based on the perspectives of a pionieering niche, but I wonder, would Tesla be the same without Elon Musk? Probably not.

None of the projects Elon Musk is involved in that I know of is boring. Some are controversial like 'putting electrodes in our brains', but all push the borders of science further.

In the past he was a strong supporter of Doge, the meme coin. What he saw in it, don't ask me, but in the end the coin can be used for Defi and was pumped by WSB by insane percents in a short while.

About a week ago, he put only the word 'bitcoin' (and an explosion emoji) on his Twitter profile. At the time the market was red, and bitcoin at 32k.

In one hour it shoot to 36k and the next hour maxxed at 38k. But then it went back down to 34.5k during the same day, slightly in the green, considering it had a long wick up.

When he added this to his profile Tesla had already bought $1.58 worth of bitcoin as we have just found out. But we didn't know it then.

However even the word of the charismatic (controversial?) Elon Musk wasn't enough. Investors needed proof! Put your money where your mouth is, right?

And the proof came. And what a ride bitcoin had yesterday which continues today to a new ATH at 48k.

Etherium also had a new all-time-high, BNB too, which rose over 100% in the past 7 days. That's from what I noticed in the top 10 at first glance.

I wonder, would the market have reacted the same if Elon Musk had bought $1.5 worth of bitcoin with his personal money?

Even considering the Elon Musk effect, I believe it wouldn't have. In fact, we saw the limitations of his charisma when he put bitcoin on his profile.

Tesla, on the other hand, is a different deal. It's a publicly traded company, and not just any company. If he messes up (which I doubt he did with this particular move), he will answer to stakeholders.

image.png
Source

There is a second information that worries me a bit.

That Tesla will accept in the future BTC to buy their cars. And I suppose other big corporations will follow suite.

The positive side of this is bitcoin (and maybe in extenso the crypto world), gets a thumbs up from those corporations which allow it as payment. And they have huge numbers of customers, which will speed up adoption.

The downside is corporations will amass bitcoin while retail will purchase things with it, that way transfering wealth from people to giant entities, without putting pressure on the price.

If this would be done with a crypto currency which is deemed suitable for commerce, instead of one which is considerred the digital gold / store of value, I would have no problem with it.

After all, you don't buy a Tesla with your silver / gold bars, do you?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Elon is showing us that the bull market is not entirely driven by financial institutions. Many big names entering crypto will follow in the near future.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Many big names entering crypto will follow in the near future.

I heard some things too. Will we still have a 'standard' bull market?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have no clue. I've landed in the crypto world during the mania phase of 2017 so I don't have the experience to compare the whole bull market of 2017 with what we have. It might happen though that the correction won't be too harsh as interest towards crypto increases.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I guess we'll live and see what happens.

Well, he played it well as he bought it with Tesla money, not his own. Tesla is a public traded company and he bought it basically with the shareholders money. Genius!

Yes, using it for retail purchasement is a bad thing as it only makes people poorer. I would use BTC only to buy assets not liabilities.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well, he played it well as he bought it with Tesla money, not his own. Tesla is a public traded company and he bought it basically with the shareholders money. Genius!

And this move happened after they sold some of their own stock, because they didn't have enough cash on the balance sheet for this purchase at the beginning of the year. At least that's what I heard at Leo Roundup, I didn't do the research myself.

Yes, using it for retail purchasement is a bad thing as it only makes people poorer.

Well, people on average rarely think in perspective when their assets are mooning. Remember the lambo craze?

I would use BTC only to buy assets not liabilities.

Exactly.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I would also sell at this high stock price if I where them :)

Lambo is not more compatible with my lifestyle, so I better keep the BTC.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta