Half-yearly scramble

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Hey hivers, it's officially the second half of the working week for me as Wednesday is over...Only two days to go and the weekend will be here and to say I'm looking forward would be a gross understatement.

I've had a productive week at work as I've signed some solid new business and am closing in on my six monthly budget target. I report over the fiscal year which runs 1 July to 30 June here in Australia, and like any good operator I review monthly to ensure I'm on track, or at the least identify that I'm not so I can adjust as needed. Things aren't looking too bad I suppose and I have the expectation that by 31 December I'll have reached the required figures - There is a little hope involved here too if I'm honest.

It's been a strange year though as in past years I've been ahead of my half-yearly budget by a long way at this stage of the year and have had no need to even consider whether I'll make my half-way budget; This year, well I'm lagging. Certainly not through any lack of effort on my part of course, I've worked efficiently and with effort as always but there's this little thing called the pandemic you see...

The comparison

As of today I'm 7% away from achieving my half-yearly budget figure, not too bad right? Considering last year I was already 24% over that half-year figure by the beginning of December...That's a big difference year on year and I'll be honest in that there is no way I'll be able to match it in 2020.

Scrambling and stress

My projections indicate I'll make it to budget by 31 December, but I'm carrying some stress over the issue nonetheless; I'm not concerned about what the Directors will say or think, that's the least of my issues, it's a personal thing though. Making my budget is important to me and I am not one who likes to underachieve. I work very hard to ensure it doesn't happen...That's what makes this situation a little harder - It's largely out of my control. This is not an ego thing though, far from it...It's a confidence and self-satisfaction thing.

I've lost 20% of my income this year, between March and October, and was on a four day week due to the pandemic. It's inhibited my scope as far as client contact goes and of course there's the emotional impact the entire situation has had...All of these have contributed to my need for a last minute scramble for that remaining 7% before 31 December and come June 30 2021 I'm sure I'll be scrambling again for my fiscal year budget...Which is what my bonuses are paid on...I don't think 2021 is going to be much kinder to me and my budgets I'm afraid. Hmm, problematic. Thanks pandemic you bastard.

I spoke with the Director today who assured me there was no problem; He also pointed out I had lost 20% of my work time and was still going to make the half-year target which he though was pretty good...But you know, there's that pride-factor I need to meet. It was reassuring that he understood the situation though; He's feeling the same pressures, but on a company level. Many are I suppose.

Terrible year doesn't seem to do it all justice I guess but it's important to use perspective too; For this reason I've been working on strategies to manage my self-imposed stress and pressure and to go through the motions, tried and tested methods, that have carried me successfully from budget to budget in years gone by...I've been injecting a little additional over and above effort with the view to cracking that budget prior to the end of the year and beyond too; What choice do I have.

So how about you? How has this year impacted you as far as your work budgets or commitments go? Certainly many people have had negative financial impacts due to the pandemic...Have you?


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I've never had it easier, to be honest. I've been in my current role for 4 years, and with that employer for 8, so those gradual, annual pay bumps have started to really snowball. Working from home has been much easier than a long commute to the office, and the low interest rates have meant we've been able to get rid of the last few thousand dollars of (non-mortgage) debt we've been carrying a while.
I'll be honest, I have a bit of survivors guilt for weathering things so well; at least so far.

Seems like you are doing well which is great to hear. Good that you've managed to lose some debt too...I guess all those people on social security could say the same as they've been getting pretty hefty additional payments; I suppose the good thing is they've been spending it at the pokies, on cigarettes, booze, toilet paper and big screen TV's at Harvey Norman's...Nothing like sharing their free money around. Bless them.

How's Faith's Mum doing? She going alright after that nosebleed?

Faith's mum's nose bleeds happen daily since last Wednesday, a couple nights in hospital, more tests ensuing...No real results yet. We'll have to see how that goes. Besides that she seems ok. Faith also. Still getting over the operation but total recovery is quite long for what she had done so it'll be a while. Initial results seem to be positive though.

We've been living at her mum's place for the last three weeks now which is fine...It's likely to be permanent though. There's a lot going on for us at the moment but it's all good, it'll all work out.

@galenkp, Budgeting and then achieving financial goals is not easy because aspects which are attached with Finances are very dynamic and it includes time to time Calculations, Analysis and Reconciliation. Stay blessed.

Yes, achieving my financial budgets on behalf of my company is never easy and it's been made even worse through the pandemic situation that has permeated across all sectors of my industry and right down to an individual level - We're all affected either directly or indirectly. Have you felt much negative impact upon you so far?

!ENGAGE 25

@galenkp, From last three years i am travelling Full Time Steem/Hive Journey, so nothing changed in my life. When it comes to the Pandemic Situation i am in isolation or in a way spending more time Indoors from last three years. 🙂

You live off a blockchain income? Jeez, I want to live where you live...It's not possible here.

Not exactly. We live of family income, and i am one of the Contributor, so it's collective effort. Stay blessed.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Well, I think you've done well. The question I'd ask is: How much has your market shat? More than 7%? That seems to me to be the weighted factor here.

CV has had a couple of really unexpected results for me. I have a slightly higher disposable income because I am doing so little that requires money much of the time. Who would have thought? I'm literally squirreling the difference away to facilitate my travel wishes when that becomes available again. I hope I can remember where I buried the acorn...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The question I'd ask is: How much has your market shat? More than 7%? That seems to me to be the weighted factor here.

For the company to be eligible for government stimulus packages to subsidise wages it was a requirement they could prove a 40% drop in revenue over set periods. My company did that, in fact the revenue dipped further than that due directly to the pandemic...So, fair to say the industry and the segments the company operate in were struggling pretty hard and still are.

Some people can talk about how unaffected they are and how good things have been, an unemployed person whose fortnightly benefit has been doubled...Don't have to work but get more money. Then there's people who have had pay and hours reductions but still have to output the same results, in a market that is tanked. Same with pensioners who had a similar scenario to the unemployed...So, some are doing better, but generally speaking most are not. It'll catch up with everyone though, I don't think there's any doubt about it.

For me...Well, I'm not complaining as there's no point in doing that. my post was merely a statement of fact...This year hasn't been as good as any of the last 5...So, clearly isn't going so well overall...Not just for me.

I get it and I didn't take your post as complaining, even a little. Well, except for the fact that you have to hustle like hell to make it to your projections. That actually probably means that you made a really good projection in a year that isn't exactly known for them...

So your company is -40 and you are -7. I'm pretty sure I can figure out which number I'd rather be betting on.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lol, yeah, compared to the rest of the nutbags at work I'm going well. My team has kicked ass. I guess I set my standards and expectations high and not reaching them isn't something that sits well. I used to have a perfectionist nature until I eradicated it but that doesn't mean I don't like to attain my goals. I finish work on the 24th year so have a month to hit that figures...It's achievable but dependant upon many factors, some of which are outside my control.

Well, you are surely right about this year's pandemic making us lagging behind and having an effect on us, emotionally and financially but at the same time, I tell myself that the year isn't over yet until it is over.

This is what I am saying, I know you are behind your budget by 7% and you feel next year isn't going to be kind to you but 7% of truth isn't far away from you reaching your goal. It is a sign of how you are moving and not stagnant.

For you, since you are the kinda person who works effortlessly, I believe you can make it before the end of the year even though you may not be able to make it over but your confidence can make things happen before the year ends or run out. Don't relent effort yet, just put in little effort and you will get there sooner than you can imagine.

For me, this year started roughly but during the pandemic, it helped me a lot to put things in order but notwithstanding, I am lagging behind in my budget too, it is obvious that for me, this year, I may not be able to reach that budget because I am far behind the budget but I hoping that before the first quarter of next year, I will achieve them.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It bodes well that you feel you will meet your budget requirements in the first quarter of 2021 considering you say you are far behind budget at the moment. Are you putting any specific strategies in place to attain the budget? Anything additional or different to what you would normally do?

Yeah, I say that because I have another additional budget coming in (impromptu) at the moment and I have to deal with them, so my other budget can wait for the meantime while I settle the incoming one.

As long as I am able to settle them before the first quarter I have no problem, just need to put more effort into work.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Government's stuffed up my round Australia travels apart from that not to much of an issue.

Yeah, I guess there wouldn't be too much going on for you as far as negatives from a work perspective - I think you're not actually working as such right? It would piss me off if I was you though as it's put a collar on your travel plans.

I don't know, maybe I'm the only person in Australia who is a little down on budgets...Strange though, I mean thousands of jobs are gone, businesses closed many never to reopen, commercial tenants not paying leases, same with residential tenants, prices of goods fluctuating, supply issues...Nah, sounds like everything's going great! Yay pandemic! It's been so good for the country.

Fortunately I wasn't working before the covid thing and planning to travel about for some time my financial situation is currently has not been impacted. Though not having the ability to to travel and or not easily between states has completely changed my travel plans. I know lot's big people that are down on income this year and some lost jobs. This countries situation is crazy right now as I can't work out why something's are still holding or going up in cost.

It's all over the place man, and is so fluid that people don't know where they stand at any given point. I guess at least you are fairly free in Q and it's a bis State so you can move about...But still, not being able to cross borders and all...Crazy times.

Exactly this very uncertain times is making it very hard to make informed choices.

That's the thing I've been finding, so many people are failing to make decisions through uncertainty, fear or cluelessness I guess. I don't blame them sometimes, it's difficult to predict what might happen next, certainly here anyway and sometimes on a daily basis. It has meant a much slower first half of the financial year for me. We'll see how it goes though.

Some are going ok, or say they're going ok, but it's not enough to support those that are not and their lack of decision-making etc. At least money that would normally be spent overseas through vacations is being spent here...(Or on Amazon) - Bezos must be pleased. Another few billion under the belt.

It's been an "interesting" year for sure.

Given all the crap that's been happening in your life, you really don't need to be adding random unnecessary stress XP

Yeah, sucky year. I try not to pile the stress on, and do a reasonable job mostly, but in this case if I can hit that target it's going to mean a lot to me from a satisfaction perspective. I need to get it by the 24th, my last working day of the year so I'm working hard for it...Stress? Yeah a little but I usually manage it reasonably well.

There's so many people around the place who struggle, even if they are too proud or egotistical to admit it...I spoke to a mate this afternoon who is a debt collector/repo man who works for the big four banks...No work for months. He's stressed!. There's many like him I'm afraid.

Thanks for your comment. 😏

I understand the satisfaction thing XD

Good that you're managing it, try to remember to be realistic in your expectations of yourself given the current circumstances ;D

Realistic expectations, even somewhat low ones, make for a better result if the reality isn't quite that good good. :)

You have done quite well considering the pandemic i have had the worst year even as far as income having no work for six months and only now the work is starting to trickle in lucky i had a few dollars put away but the main thing i have remained healthy with chin up looking to the positivity and hive has also kept me sane it was the perfect year to take it up with the time i had on my hands 😊

No work for half the year? I feel for you mate and hope it comes back soon so your life can get back into forward gear. It's good that hive has offered a bit of sanity, direction and distraction.

All the best for a better start to 2021 huh?

Thanks mate it can only get better here's hoping i am lucky i have great brother's who are always willing to help we work as a team which makes things a little easier 👍

Families that help each other are stronger ones and considering your heritage I'm not surprised this is the case. All the best with it and let's hope it gets better sooner rather than later.

Thanks mate this is true it's nice to still maintain those transnational ways it certainly puts up a strong wall , have a great day buddy 😊