You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Posts Length | What is the average word count? | Are longer posts rewarded more?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I am astounded that so many posts are in the 2500+ category. I wonder what would happen if you pulled a random sample of 20 of them to see how valid these data are. Specifically, as was already mentioned, are the posts really 2500 words or are they 2500 with translations and/or links to previous posts, etc?

While I am sure that some of my posts exceed this length, I have been making a concerted effort to cap posts at about 1500 words. 800 is better.

Sometimes, if someone is covering an interesting topic in depth, 2500 words might well be warranted, but I hope people won't think they should add length for its own sake.

The reason I try to keep my posts shorter (and people who actually read my posts might laugh at the idea that I am even making an effort) is because usually this means editing my work, making it clearer, and saving people time.

I truly believe that with longer posts, sometimes, all people have time for is skimming. That being said, you didn't invent these numbers, but are reporting them.

I suppose the question is: does this mean we ought to try to write longer articles for a bigger payout?

One question that springs to mind: some of the larger accounts tend to get bigger payouts per article (which I feel is usually fair considering the content). Is this skewing the payout data? I wonder what would happen if you considered the modal or median payout rather than the average. (Like you need more work, right?) I am just curious.

In all honesty this is fascinating, but I will probably continue to do what I am doing: try to write short articles and frequently transgress, writing longer ones. I couldn't even keep this comment short (sorry).

!LOLZ
!PIZZA

Sort:  

A priest was arrested at a church
He was convicted for mass murder.

@dalz, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @harlowjourney
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/1)