Think NOW about LATER

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Do you ever think about later?

The time when you are entitled to retirement, when you no longer receive income from a job? And if you don't have a job now, how will you earn a living? I've never thought about it that way ... but that has changed. As everyone who follows me a bit knows, I have set myself the goal of having 1000 euros in crypto next July. Liquid that is, so that I could possibly go on vacation again. Before that, it had started last July. But now my goal has changed.

I haven't changed my goal to earn

Not that I don't want at least 1000 euros in crypto liquids, that has not changed. But seriously… I don't know if I would use it to go on vacation. Yes I long for a vacation with the dogs. Jump in the car together and drive to France. But with the current corona measures everywhere, and with a different idea in the back of my mind… I am not so sure whether I should want to go on holiday in my situation. It would mean that I would lose all hard-earned crypto in maybe weeks. Yes, I have two great weeks, but then nothing more ...


thinking.png



I think I shouldn't spend it on a vacation

And the more I think about it, the less that idea appeals to me. So now last week I suddenly realized that now I am slowly getting so far that I can save some of what I get together with blogging. I should also do something for the long term. And I really mean the long term. After all, I am not getting any younger ... and now I have not had a job for a number of years, so I no longer pay pension contributions. Which for me means that I will have to ensure in a different way that I can still receive an income after my retirement age, OR can use a savings.

Retirement

In the Netherlands, everyone who has always lived here is entitled to retirement after the age of 67. But let's be honest, that's not exactly an income you can easily live on. And as a child of the '70's I have to think seriously about that.

Retirement Gap

In the meantime my retirement gap has become so big that even if I were to be hired by an employer NOW, this gap cannot just be closed, and to ALWAYS continue to live in the same situation as I have to do now. That you always have days of a month left at the end of your money, I really don't like that. So then the question arises, which is more important? Set a goal to earn 1000 euros in liquid and go on vacation once? Or to take responsibility, not to go on vacation, but to build up some kind of retirement fund. I can only spend the money I earn once, but I can put aside what I earn now ... use it wisely and hope that I see it grow over time so that in a number of years I can have a nice savings on it that I can use to supplement a meager income.

The situation I'm in now, doesn't seem to end soon

Until now it has never been my style to think about that more deeply, but lately that feeling has crept over me more and more. And certainly now that I have been in this situation for a number of years, and it does not seem to be ending immediately.

I would actually be stupid if I didn't think NOW about LATER



piggy bank.png



Start a retirement fund with tron

So what have I done… I have decided for myself that every tron ​​I can get hold of is put in a wallet separately. That will not count towards my 1000 euro goal, but that will be my savings for later. And I wish that later was still a long way off, but what I said, as a child in the 70's… will soon come closer. Now I still have time to do something about it, and I do not want to suddenly regret that I did not think about it NOW.

Made a start this week, and I hope to see it grow

I made the start for my piggy bank… it is not much, but by thinking about this consciously, by being aware of it and looking carefully at what will yield me the most, I hope to be able to grow it further.



goldchest.png



Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Reddit Posh:

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 33 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

Oh @hetty-rowan, as a 71 baby, you've just made me feel so old....and I'm NOT old....but ofcoourse, you are abolsutely right, so invest invest and invest some more is the only thing I can say and there's so many things to invest in too, so save those 'coins' and I'll see you somewhere gorgeous in retirement! 😃

Lol ...

We are NOT old, I totally agree with you. But fact is that I don't have an employment, so I don't receive salary from that. And to 'work' here to earn crypto is something I can do. And it's amazing to earn something from this. But I really HAVE to think about the later. I don't want to live for another 40 years with nothing. So really invest is not something I can do, but trying to save my 'hard earned crypto' is something I can do. Or at least ... I can TRY to do. And just be aware of the fact that I actually should do that makes gets me motivated to work even harder to earn more. Now is a time that I can still earn it, who knows what will happen ... and when I need it.

So that made me question myself, is that vacation so important? I haven't gone on a vacation since 2003 ... I think I can live without. But I don't think I can live with nothing for always.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @hetty-rowan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3750 replies. Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Yeah we spoke about it earlier this week, and you're so right. We should think about it, we ain't getting any younger are we? :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nope we're not ... I wish! Lot's of things I would do very different ... I can't change that, but I can start saving up ...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes indeed, I should really think about it as well, but as you know first things first.. It makes no sense to do that now, things will change next year, so first focusing on that.. But it's defo high on the to-do list for next year :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If you know for sure that things will change I would wait for that too. As I can not count on a big change, every day to start is the right day for me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I've been planning a crypto trip for several years too Sooner or later I'm going to take it. With Covid now is probably not the ideal time to travel. For the time being, blogging and trading crypto and saving up for better days!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta