Keeping Positions On Google For MORE Organic Traffic

in LeoFinance2 years ago

boostingtraffic.png


Time To Look At My Results

Spending time doing keyword research, tracking results, optimizing- and keeping content up to date is important to keep your current Google rankings, or the position on search engines your content shows up, and this is what makes content long lasting instead of having to push out new content frequently. This is simply put what leads to natural, organic growth long after content have been published.

I know that I have published optimized content in the past, where the sole reason has been to generate traffic over time. Targeting "low-hanging fruit" or in other words long-tail keywords that has a low search volume and are low competitive is a superb starter point for anyone looking to generate organic traffic over time. I have been doing various things, and even though I have recently published some content that I personally believe has rather high chances of being picked up nicely by Google, I need to look at older articles, as it takes time for Google to rank content properly.

Keep Or Improve Your Rankings

There are different ways of doing things, but a good start is to go to Simpleanalytics, change the time period to 365 days, enter your username and look at Google in the referral list to the left:

Right click on the images and open them in a new window for fullscreen.


step1.png


step2.png


step3.png


In the last image we can see the posts that has generated the most page views during the last 365 days from Google. While page views and unique visitors are different from each other, it can still give us a decent idea of how our content is doing in terms of organic traffic.

My recommendation to Hive-bloggers is to look at these details and keep these posts up to date, as it would most likely only require some minor edits to keep the content fresh, and you will strengthen or improve your current Google rankings by doing that, which ultimately leads to more traffic being generated over time. Traffic is growth and you will by doing this, automatically bring traffic with content you have published in the past.


howoften.png


More Advanced

The more advanced method is to use a tool like UberSuggest and look into more details of each post you've successfully ranked on Google.

While the general idea when ranking content is to rank keywords with as much search volume as possible, it often goes hand in hand with being extremely difficult as well, because of the competition. Meaning, trying to out-rank other content that might have been published several years ago. A better approach is to try to go with keywords with less competition and as high search volume as possible.

This could also be called going for “low-hanging fruit”, which basically means targeting keywords that you think people will search for in the future, or targeting keywords that you know has low search volume but can lead to some extra traffic.


advanced5.png


The search volume for this specific keyword is 10 per month and it is a very low competitive keyword with a SEO difficulty of 11. This basically means easy to rank and the potential traffic is low as well. Not the greatest keyword to be targeting. In fact, it is a poor- yet very common mistake to make when you're experimenting with keywords.

  • Can it really be called a mistake when it's still generating traffic though?

Going For Even More Details

advanced3.png


While looking at the different keyword variations, search volume and SEO difficulty, we are basically doing something that is called "keyword research", and this is where most of the magic happens, or could happen. This is definitely where you can take your content to the next level in terms of organic traffic.

While my article, "How Often Should You Buy And Sell Crypto?" has estimated visits of 15 users per month despite my poor keyword decision, we can look at some other variations of it as well, as something is still generating traffic to that article.

Looking at the screenshot above, we can see that:

"how often can you buy and sell cryptocurrency" has a search volume of 70 and estimated visits of 11. The SEO difficulty is high sitting on 71, but my content gets 11 visits whenever someone is searching for that specific keyword. So I generate traffic for a keyword I'm not even targeting.

The same goes for "how often can you buy and sell crypto", which obviously is very similar to the keyword I am targeting. A search volume of 40 and estimated visits of 4. That basically means that 10% of the searches are coming to my content, which is somewhat decent to say the least.

  • This is the true power of optimized content and keywords.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Thanks for the step-by-step approach. I've heard those tools get mentioned before but I wasn't really sure how to extract valuable insights from them. Now I have a good starting point

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You're very welcome. I love these little nifty tools. Simpleanalytics is free and UberSuggest is a tool I am paying for monthly, but it's literally a hobby for me to look at these things so it's a nice investment. They also offer limited trial versions of it, so anyone can try it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Optimization in an effort to get more keyword rankings is crucial. This is something that I started to focus upon in the last couple weeks. Not every article I do is that way but at least one a day is.

Now I have to find the time to update some of my older stuff.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, I'll be doing more of that from now on as well. Anything to help drive traffic to LeoFinance

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Anything to help drive traffic to LeoFinance

That's the spirit! :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Now I have to find the time to update some of my older stuff.

I could probably point you in the right direction if you want to get some suggestions for which content you should update.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That being said, those articles are likely to benefit of "temporary rankings" (sort of an extra boost in the beginning of rankings) as the content is still fairly new.

If we look at some older content we find this:

I would probably prioritize the older articles first, and work with the other content after that.

This was just a quick glance at things. I could go more into the details and share some information about some potential secondary keywords to go after and things like that if you're interested.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Replying to my own comments, but @khaleelkazi made this comment in one of my other posts:

"I would love to attempt building out a content optimization team. A group on LeoFinance who would reach out to authors and providing 1-on-1 help to optimize their content."

So, I figured by doing what I did just now, looking at some of your content and gave you some minor advice was some sort of starting point for me doing that voluntarily. lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am trying simple analytics on other hive tribe front ends (such as splintertalk.io, hive.blog) but it is giving me a "website not found". What's with leofinance.io that is not with those other websites? lol
Or am I missing something? :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Honestly speaking, I've never tried to use it for any of those sites. I guess the reason is that they haven't installed the plugin.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ohh see.
Thanks. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

All that optimization is pretty crazy and I need to work on making my articles a bit more SEO friendly. I guess making small changes here and there is the best choice for me to slowly get there.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There are many, many things you can do when you optimize content. This is just a few ideas, even though I try to cover most basic things that anyone can do. :)

But yeah, minor changes here and there can do wonders over time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is something to learn and apply. Thank you for sharing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You're very welcome. I wish you much success in the future when you're trying to apply these things. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you, I do need to learn them first :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha yeah, that's a good point. It's totally fine though, you're doing a superb job in terms of engagement and other things so take your time. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Trying to get informed, haha! Thank you and yes, taking my time. It gets overwhelming too hehe

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It can definitely get overwhelming at times. I wish I could have a strict schedule to follow for my LeoFinance activities, but it just doesn't work. I've tried.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Probably best to not have a schedule hehe. When things get overwhelming. I take a break then go back to it, else I'd have a terrible headache and end up not learning/doing a thing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Can it really be called a mistake when it's still generating traffic though?

If you rank low for a high volume search term, then it doesn't matter because you won't get clicks.

But if you rank high for a low volume search term, then you will at least get some clicks.

The key is finding balance between the two.


Keep up the great work!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The key is finding balance between the two.

That's what makes keyword research important, or at least a great thing to do before pushing out content. I often do the opposite though, I do minor keyword research before I publish content and more once it has ranked.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Wow. This is very informative and very useful too. Thanks much for sharing it to the community.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks, you're welcome! :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I've learned a lot from this piece and I'll try to apply them to my future posts.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sounds great. I'm glad you liked it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for sharing this,very lovely read and it was really helpful,thank you so much

You're very welcome. I'm glad you liked it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

All very important stuff. Thanks for the continuing education. We have to keep expanding our knowledge in this area.

More people doing the little things will add up. Keep churning out content like this for us to follow.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Keep churning out content like this for us to follow.

I am trying but I find it rather difficult to keep it simple and not overwhelming whenever I go into these things. :D

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

LOL Yes well that is okay. We are now going to see how much people pick up.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I guess it's better to put it out there, regardless of how it comes out, rather than not talking about it though. lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If we got 20 articles a day, we will get his attention. And he wont be able to ignore it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

thanks for sharing, this was really helpful.

I didn't know about these tools but I will be checking them out! It seems they can provide with valuable insights.

Thanks for this information!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Wow. Thank you very much for this detailed post. Since I am new to this platform I wonder what's the benefit for the user/leofinance if user's posts rank high on google while there are no products/services those users offer?

I'm sorry for my silly question