HIVE Has the TOOLS to Takeover AIRBNB ~ #hivebnb

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

If you're new to following me, you probably wouldn't know that me and my family recently made the move from the States to the state of Nayarit, Mexico. We left with no job set up, no real place to call home, and essentially no real friends to rely on. I had personally met a few people on my trip back in March, but no family or long term friends to speak of.

hivebnb.png

We only recently got set up at our permanent spot, at least until November. The second floor of a 3 story house in a nice, gated neighborhood. Safe for the kids, quiet, cheap, and has everything we need. No complaints.

I've managed to make some acquaintances and we are starting to get our footing regarding the area and what it all has to offer.

The only real thing that I can't say has come to fruition yet is...

A job. Or some sort of income.

Luckily I've made some good crypto investments as of late, have some cash in the bank, and have some jobs from last year that are finally starting to pay in, where I'm not really fretting not being emplyed.

But I would love to have something that occupies my daily time.

A job (if you can call it that) that I enjoy waking up doing every single day.

So what would that job look like?

What do you get when you cross my passion of cooking delicious meals and my love of hospitality???

A Bed & Breakfast!

A full service, high end one, at that.

So, what's the hold up? What's stopping me from making this dream a reality?

Well, the banking here in MX is crazy. The interest rate on a home loan can be as high as 40%. That. is. insane.

Like I said, I have some $ I am willing to put into this project, but the total is out of my reach...which is why I am writing this post, in part.

Would you like to see a HiveBNB come to life? A house where Hive is accepted as payment, among other mainstream cryptos?

A house where everyone that stays will leave with the knowledge that Hive exists?

A decentralized platform where users don't get raked over the coals for an additional 35% (what airbnb currently takes off the top)?

I would love to see this happen, but I can't do it alone.

I have a business plan already drawn up, explaining everything from the initial investment costs, all the way to the nightly rates.

In short, you, as the investor, would have the deed to the house, until the loan is paid off. Which would be around 5 years.

10% interest (real estate usually pays 7-10%) on the original amount of the loan, would be paid yearly, on top of the principal.

Worst case scenario: You invest, I invest, idea goes belly up, I lose my whole investment, you sell the property and (most likely, seeing as there will be improvements done after the purchase) would get your whole investment back.

So in reality, I have everything to lose, and you, the investor, have very little to lose.

I won't be posting all the financial details here, but if this idea intrigues you, and you want to hear more. Email me at cigarr23 at yahoo.

I can show you pictures of the place, all the financial details/business plan, and the vision to make this idea a raving success.

With my sales skills (salesman of the year for the country in 2016) and hospitality background (decade + in restaurant biz), this comes natural to me.

I'm not looking for any handouts, rather, a partner who shares my vision, wants to grow Hive, and make some money while doing so.

So what say you? Wanna get in the hivebnb business with me?

Hive on y'all. Thanks for reading.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I love the idea of powering down to buy some hivebnb tokens that you could use somehow and have a number of years experience in the bnb business, actually wrote a series way back on how to set up a bnb but have no know-how on going this way.
We had the building and initially used whatever furnishings we had, our decor theme is a mix of vintage and modern, managed to get really good old pieces online and in secondhand stores, bought new appliances and linen, and as money came in from bookings, we'd improve by adding things like aircon and other general improvements. We have a very high rating on the online booking sites and have good Google visibility, but you know all about marketing so that's ok. I was keen to start an online hivebnb booking portal and create a coin, but do not have the know-how! Perhaps with bookings, one could start a hivebnb community where people can list their bnb's and pay using crypto but that still won't help with what you want to do. Keep on searching and your dream will become a reality!

I love the idea of powering down to buy some hivebnb tokens that you could use somehow and have a number of years experience in the bnb business

Exactly. I can see the hivebnb ecosphere in my mind already.

Your game plan, so to speak, is one which I also would implement. The goal is to do a good job, but also make money. So while the place isn't perfect, or exactly how you want it to be, work with what ya got until you get it there.

Congrats on your airbnb success @lizelle. I'm hoping to make this a reality, but I too don't have all the know-how. I'll either rely on a helpful, knowledgable person....or spend countless days and weeks studying everything I need to know and make many mistakes along the way, haha.

Instead of relying on one investor, tokenize it?

Meh, I have no idea how to do that, just spitballing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's actually a great idea, one that I hadn't thought of.

However, I don't think it would fit my time constraints, and would probably be a better fit after one, or a few of these hivebnb's were up and running. Proof of concept kinda thing. But hey, I'm willing to listen to different ideas if people wanna help out.

I like @preparedwombat's idea of tokenizing it... using something like https://mint.club/ and their Bonding Curve means that people don't need to be worried about you potentially rug pulling the project... but it also means people could put in as little or as much as they feel comfortable with... and the value of the token could grow forever if you run a successful business.

I'm totally down for out of the box ideas. I looked into that website, and it appears they haven't launched yet...

I can definitely envision a hivebnb community here with its own token. One that could be used to book places, and invest/speculate on. Very cool.

My knowledge surrounding that aspect is pretty nil tbh, so maybe if an investor gets on board and wants to run it that way, I would totally be down.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, they'll be launching in Q3... I assumed it might take you a few months to get everything ready from your end. You could essentially do the same thing on Hive-Engine... but the difference is that Bonding Curve... so if you issue the tokens and keep a large number yourself (to reward community members/investors creating content about it) then you could also remove the liquidity and crash the token... that can't happen with a bonding curve because every purchase pushes the price up and every sale pushes the price down... so withdrawing all your liquidity means you get a continually lower price.

Conversely... you could look into a Hive DAO proposal.. that might award you with a bunch of funds upfront and then investors could be paid back as the HiveBnb makes money.

Ah, just noticed that Daltono already suggested this. Disregard.

Those are some great ideas, man! Seems like a lot of people are thinking the same thing, which means maybe they're on to something.

What @preparedwombat said was bang on, first thing I thought of.

Projects like RealT.co have been tokenizing real estate for a few years now, I mean I don't see how it couldn't be set up on a smart contract once all the back end work is done...Whether it be on Hive Engine or Klye's project.

Interesting opportunity, and I think it would attract a lot of Hivians (I still dont know what we call ourselves) for potential income.

Solid, thanks for your input man. I'll look into that realt.co one for sure.

I'm not too sure either, lol, I usually go with Hivers. But I'll float with anything.

@klye, if you hadn't seen this idea and think your project might be a good fit, lmk!

Whoever doesn't appreciate your ambition can't be trusted.

That 40% is a gringo tax. Locals don't pay that. I was impressed how few homes banks own in SA. Fascinating concept when home owners name the price. Then they don't have to submit to other weird things like homeowners ins and I'm doing it again ain't I?

I'll stop now.

Ambition, at least when it's something I'm passionate about, has never been an issue. Thanks for noticing bud.

I've heard even the local can get that kind of rate, sounds absolutely insane to me.

Don't ever stop bud.

I want to stay in the Hive House!

I want YOU to stay in the HIVE house!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There used to be a crypto bnb in Taiwan. The dude had a listing on Open Bazaar back when it first launched.

Oh for sure, I'm sure this wouldn't be the first crypto bnb....but it could be the first platform which is strictly p2p, decentralized, no middle man, with it's own token. Pretty cool!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I wish I were in the place to help with this. I also am jelly that you made it down to Mexico. Congrats to you and the fam. I hope you have some luck finding somebody willing to help out with your vision. I think it is a great idea bro!

Maybe this is something a proposal for Hive funds could help with. I am not sure, never set one up myself.

Hey man, I appreciate the support. I hope someone with pockets deeper than mine feels the same, lol. I think it could be a real money maker, but on top of that, a big boon for Hive and the whole ecosystem.

I don't know too much about the Hive Fund Proposals either...maybe someone with more know how can/will chime in and lmk if that is a viable option.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'd be willing to power down some HIVE and contribute that to the process.

Hey bud, thanks for the consideration, means a lot, really.

I'm not sure what route is best to take tbh. I like the idea of having a token people could buy, a lot or a little, depending on how successful they think this idea could be. I'd be happy to put my $ where my mouth is and buy a stack myself.

Gonna try and talk to some people who know more than me on this stuff and see what they think is the best way to go about it.

I'll keep ya in the loop man, thanks again.

I'd be willing to invest and perhaps visit one day. But, I haven't the amounts of money required. I'd be willing to put something into a pool. I saw the token idea floated. I'd buy the token. You could tier discounts based on how much token is held, or something like that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's great to hear man, thanks for letting me know.

Maybe that road is the best one to head down. I'll have to dig into it a little more and see how it would all play out. But I'm definitely up for anything that accomplishes the goals.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @intothewild! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 11000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!
 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Once I knew we could survive for a while, the paycheck was no longer an addiction. Don't get me wrong, I don't like the idea of not having a super steady income, but enough cash and some passive income definitely helps.

I hope we can make something work too. We have until November, essentially. Gonna keep throwing ideas out and seeing what sticks.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta