Hive's Attention Economy

in LeoFinance2 years ago

There are very few platforms out there that offers the opportunity to earn cryptocurrency in exchange for one's time, in other words it will be fair to say for free because some of us spend time on Facebook, Instagram socializing without monetary rewards which is contrary to Hive.

While Hive offers the opportunity to earn cryptocurrency without investing, the reality on Hive is it is not easy to keep going after that first few posts. It can be even more discouraging when one's post receives no attention.

image.png
Source

@shortsegments celebrated four years on Hive few days ago and on reading his Hive birthday post, his words as quoted below was a salient point for me with regards to being successful on Hive which I feel will be helpful to anyone new that recently joined Hive and intends to stay.

By reading other peoples stuff, commenting and interacting, we put attention back into the attention economy..
Source

That to me is a message I feel applies to everyone, it is a habit that requires cultivating. We are on a socializing chain, which invariably seeks attention. I remember my busy days on Facebook, I am quick to respond to posts of interests to me and the same applies for majority of Facebook users, engaging is not difficult on those platforms but Hive, being one that rewards sees less engagement when compared to the Facebooks. Probably because on here, upvotes earns rewards and we feel that's it, there is less need for engaging since the main aim is to get rewarded for posting.

A personal perspective for me is, treating Hive like my business, I want Hive to be here tomorrow while growing with and by wanting it to be here tomorrow everything that should impact it positively requires my input and part of that is engagement where attentions comes in.

I can't boast of being the most engaging around here especially on periods when off chain activities dominates me schedules but I make it a habit to engage on few posts.

The bottom line is, Hive is an attention seeking chain, we seek attention from everyone that share similar interest to our content, in order to get attention I have to give it and by so doing relationships are formed, growths are the result with consistency of course.

4HFqJv9qRjVecs4xkhd5EvhidWEEBnn9tCVDBkBhQpUFvab78MhbU1Vuhsv2nJ2ugLQ4jgoYaT2PVTE1rv7F3KJvnDsHa35tCHLax2ssgUniFSQW5hn3YTimRBRATW8fsxoPk9AY3pXfRonvfdbrEjimyvnEwGLdDed.gif
Gif by @mariosfame

We owe it to ourselves to make Hive great

image.png
Image by @doze

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

we put attention back into the attention economy...

I'm on it :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Always good to see you around bro, hope you are keeping well.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha you've said it all, treating Hive like real business is a way to go. Sometimes people equate their effort to something especially if there's a prosect of monetary returns but one thing they don't get right is thinking they don't need to put in efforts.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I see Hive as my business bro and am treating it as such, no one can tell me otherwise. And the beauty is I get to have fun while growing my business here.

The future is bright.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

All you need from hive is genuine effort and dedicate your time to it

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hive is a rare gem, the importance can't just be underestimated. Hive is changing lives and we must treat it like a good business

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

In my 40s now if Hive was around 2 decades or a decade ago I will be retired by now 🙂

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

Hive offers so many opportunities

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I feel you should have just tagged me to me it complete because that's the trick to my name. LOL

well you've said it all, Hive is now more than just a platform because everyone see now see it in a different view, some as a community to share ideas, thoughts and stories, and some see it as a business more like full time business. This has made or is making Hive evolve on a daily basis

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh wow... lol! Am loving your username and sure I should be tagging you on this topic lol.

Hive is now more than just a platform

Considering where we started off from to present, Hive has evolve quite a lot and it is only getting stared. Come end of this year we will be looking back appreciating growths in various aspects.

Cheers.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh wow... lol! Am loving your username and sure I should be tagging you on this topic lol.

😂😂 I know right!

Considering where we started off from to present, Hive has evolve quite a lot and it is only getting stared. Come end of this year we will be looking back appreciating growths in various aspects.

Definitely!! Cheers man 🍻

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Spectacular post on hive and how it's changing lives for those who truly participate and engage. FB has been earning from the attention of it's users and not giving anything back. They laugh all the way to the bank but hive is here to show them a different,decentalized way of freedom and earning. Thanks for sharing bro and enjoy the long easter weekend :}

Hive change lives bro and it keeps impacting our lives positive for those of us involved here.

FB has been earning from the attention

only if its users understands and exit.
Happy long Easter weekend to you bro, have a good one.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I guess, when I will login this time in facebook, I have to reply the Birthday wishes from 2020 and 2021 atleast.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lol, that will be some job depending on amount of friends you have.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hive is definitely leading the charge into Web 3.0. We are seeing the evolution happening right before our eyes. There are so many opportunities being presented to all of us. Now we are heading to another level with the HBD activities.

All good stuff.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

And all that is happening on Hive just keeps me glued, there's no where I'd rather be.
This is home, this is my business!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I still treat Hive like a hobby but it's pretty much a business to an extent. So I think I treat it more like a hustle or a side job that can help me retire earlier. I think comments are the easiest way to grab other people's attention and it's too bad people consider engagement underrated.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hive fits the definition of a hobby, business or side hustle for me and to have one thing with such characteristics, it requires me to implement a good attitude towards it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I missed a lot of ur posts, but i got em all 😃

Solid ideas, im with ya on just chillin here

!PIZZA

Hahaha, thanks for catching up on my post, appreciate it.

Pizza on a good Friday is appreciated bro.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @joetunex! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 18000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 19000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Lol interesting way to hit 18k comments on my engagement post, thanks @hivebuzz

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You're welcome @joetunex, that's well deserved! Thanks for being so active on this platform 😊👍

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@captainquack22(4/5) tipped @joetunex (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.