Do You Suffer From S.O.S.? Take Some Vitamin F!

in LeoFinance2 years ago

vitaminf.png

...I know I did...

Over 20 years ago I started trying to build a business online. I don't think people can appreciate what it was like back then to even 'accept' money online. PayPal was jut starting, and we actually had to receive and pay for products via written checks.

Man I'm dating myself....

But back to 'getting started online' and there was SO MANY new opportunities popping up!

This product did this and promised that...

Another product promised it would fix your kitchen sink and all other household chores for $47 bucks a month!!!!!

Tongue in cheek, but the point is....When the 'make money online' niche first started, it seemed like almost daily there was a new 'thing' that grabbed your attention.

A new....Shiny object!

And because this was all new to me, I became a victim and sufferer of....Shiny Object Syndrome.

Never heard of it?

It goes like this.....New thing! Buy it!

Newer thing! Buy that next!

The newest thing! Gotta have it!

Sound familiar?

You may be saying to yourself, that's the whole 'making money online' niche, there are plenty of scams and opportunities that promise the world. I'm in crypto, I am in a different industry!

Oh yeah?

What crypto are you bullish on today that you weren't 6 months ago?

Or what brand new NFT launch are you super excited for?

You see, it doesn't matter what the industry may be, we are all suffering from....Shiny object syndrome!

However there is some great news.....We have a cure!!!

It's called Vitamin F!

I make sure I take my 'Focus' pill each and every day! And that seems like a simple solution but it's much easier said than done. Bringing focus to your journey can be the hardest task you make take on, however it could become the most profitable.

When I got started, I focused on ONE niche. And became the expert in it. I wasn't too concerned about what new opportunity was launching, or what new product was being promoted. I just took my Vitamin F every day and stayed the course!

Bring it right home to crypto....

When I started to really dive into things, I focused on...This blockchain! And as time grew on, the focus has remained right here in the Hive ecosystem. Sure, I may miss out on plenty of 'shiny objects' however the shiny object syndrome has been replaced with excitement and extreme focus...Right here!

Sure, there are exceptions to the rule and you may 'strike it rich' every now and again when your attention is spread out all over the place. However for me, the Vitamin F has been a miracle cure! Give it a try and see how your results improve....


hiveswap.png

Save BIG on all your Swap.Hive / Hive needs with HivePay:

https://hivepay.io/swap

Vote for our Witness Node (clicktrackprofit) On..

Hive:

https://peakd.com/me/witnesses

https://wallet.hive.blog/~witnesses

Gift and tip CTP tokens to awesome content creators using the brand new @CTPtips Bot!

Stake CTP and use the prompt !CTP to gift tokens to your favorite creators!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

"Hello, my name is John and I am a shiny object addict"
You are right, Jon. Focus is the key. That's the solution to my addiction.
I had to learn that the hard way.
I would be afraid to count up all the money I sent to JV Zoo over the years, lol

I thought Vitamin F was something totally different! But i could use some FOcus today! Coffee is not helping, I cant late at night anymore like I used to, too am dating myself here!

Also, i really like your content, it's hard for me to find peeps that I genuinely find interesting on Hive, So kudos to you!

!PIZZA

A check. That is such a funny American thing. I only know it from movies. In Europe we always did bank transfers, even 20 years ago. I wonder when online banking became a thing, I can't remember. But it was before PayPal, I believe.

There were definitely checks (or cheques) in the Netherlands but only my parents and grandmother dealt with those. When I got my first grown up bank account, they'd gone. A bank transfer was a huge undertaking back in the day though!

By the way, Happy Hive birthday to you @flauwy :)

I'm just starting the Vitamin F journey.

Spreading too thin can be a disease that we don't even know exist within us.

It's best to be good at one thing than to be average at multiple stuff. Especially in the crypto sector.
Had a nice time reading. Thanks for the tip !PIZZA

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't really suffer from it that much. If you have it, I suggest you write it down on a piece of paper and revisit it in a few days if you still want it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Does crypto count as a Shiny object?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I used to suffer from it, lol! Thankfully, I met Hive and I am now learning to focus and hopefully, get rid of the SOS entirely :)

LOL, did you get me with that title! What is S.O.S, and WTF is vitamin F, I thought. Pardon my language! :)

This is a great one, Jon!

PS: Interestingly, vitamin F exists, I just knew it as Omega 3. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Some people feels that it's virtually impossible to focus on a niche because of how they need to make money. AKA. the shiny stuff syndrome. It's generally important for us to be able to discern what is real and what's not, there's more of attractive things that aren't real out there.
Lovely post there, your growth has been immense

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I love it, i remember selling on ebay when it first started and people would send a cheque or cash in the post to pay for something! Now this would be unheard of.

Great tips about Focus. I love what the Governator said about it best.
If you don't have a vision or goal where you are going, you will just drift around and never gonna end up anywhere.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Though I like Vitamin F - Follow One Course Until Successful - I still keep my mind open by reading about other projects. But so far, two crypto projects recommended to me outside of Hive are nothing but "fake promises."

I have to agree with the focus. Though SOS never hurt me so much like FOMO but overall I'd say I am struggling with diversification.Like I am holding some portfolio, trying to earn from one and then invest in another. Diversification too much also is enemy of focus. I may have to try one thing for a bit longer I suppose. But point well made here.

Yeah, that S.O.S really gets in the way if you let it. Even here on the Hive Platform. There are new projects starting almost on a daily basis that want your attention. Some are great but a lot are just the next S.O.S. that people pick up and then toss down when the next one comes along. I have sharpened my focus over the last few months as I was getting very distracted with everything. I believe it is starting to work, I just need to continue and create it as a habit that will be hard to break. Take care.

!CTP

With sooo many distraction around each promising something exciting and new, only Vitamin F can help you from going off track! You need it everyday.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Interesting thoughts. I recently brought myself to the realization that Hive, which has been my major focus, out performed all my other investment, and I could have made a ton more were I all in Hive. But no regrets. Because I enjoyed the other ventures too

!CTP I am working on focus as I recover from the move.

Yes, we are having FOMO whenever some new thing is introduced as many missed chance to buy BTC and now they don't wanna miss another big thing. I agree instead of focusing all over just focus on one thing and get results.

it works wonders. i’m not saying we shouldn’t keep our eyes open. but jumping on every new thing can’t be good.

@tipu curate

An constant focus on something is tiresome but it fruit is amazing! And for blockchain, most of the people are doing opposite of the focusing rather they are ignoring!
!PIZZA

Very true indeed! Thanks for stopping by!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@jongolson) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
tanzil2024 tipped jongolson (x1)
mimismartypants tipped jongolson (x1)
@marvinix(2/5) tipped @jongolson (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Sometimes I forget to take my daily Vitamin F, but I've been trying to be more consistent with it. Coffee definitely helps.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

We keep seeing shiny object syndrome playing out here on Hive too.

Remember when everyone dumped all their HIVE for LEO because it was pumping?

Then they dumped all that LEO for POB (lolol) because that was the next big thing.

Ah, good times!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The check is in the mail...

I think I may need an overdose in some aspects of me. Honestly, being focused on a thing for quite a time worthwhile will definitely be a master of it in no time.

I remember the times of me doing multiple online courses and not even successfully finishing one...it was sad! But I am learning to take your prescription @jongolson - Vitamin F. 😁

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Vitamin F comes in handy when one has many debts. We need to focus on the largest of those debts to get it out of the way as quickly as possible. When that debt is gone, we switch to the new largest debt and get that one out of the way. We repeat this process until all debts are gone. Along the way we discover that each remaining debt goes away faster.

One those debts are gone, then we can use Vitamin F to focus on building savings. There's no sense in savings or investing as long as debts hang over our heads.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Most of my holdings are now CUB and Hive Layer 2. But I need Vitamin F to keep things tight at Layer 2. I cleared out half my wallet long ago. The various SWAP.* tokens take on values as needed. Thanks to liquidity pools, some token arrive periodically if not daily. A couple staked for the purpose of earning drips of HIVE. A few heavily staked tokens have been delegated. LEO is staked for Voting Power. Despite the number of Layer 2 tokens I have, I don't really do much with them except re-invest LP Rewards into the diesel pools (or stake LEO).

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The vitamin F is the only thing that seems to leave me every time. And taking it back when it flows out is hard! But other than that I totally agree with you. It is better to focus on one or two things rather than 1001 projects. If you focus on just one or two things you can move mountains, if your focus is scattered it is difficult to achieve even the smallest movement.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have to fight my Shiny Object Syndrome every day. I am so susceptible to a good sales pitch. Thanks for sharing.