My Plan (Budget: $1500) + $400 in grant To Renovate My Family Home

in LeoFinance4 years ago

IMG_20200606_191436-01.jpeg



$1500 is roughly about 600,000 in naira and this is a supposed budget for renovating my family house. Currently I stay with my aunt because I haven't completed my father's property. 1.5k$ is a huge amount of money and precisely I don't have it currently but I'm planing to save up this money in a space of 18 months from my trading profits and other menial micro jobs I do on the internet. Although I'll have to depend on my curation rewards which means I might power down an equivalent of my curation reward for every week for a span of 18 months and well also I'll consider collecting a grant from my friends as well.

I'm also looking at bitcoin mooning in the space of 18 months to come because by then hive will follow suit as well and other alt coin as well. However I'm only hoping and not really basing any certainty on this. Nevertheless I'm not pressured to exceed the timeline of my budget which of course might exceed 18 months but then since my means of getting the money for this isn't certain, the timeline may exceed 18 months, it might also happen before 18 months but then the higher dollar rate against the naira might just be advantageous to me even if it's really disadvantageous in the long run.


IMG_20200625_164009_110-01.jpeg


It's a difficult process to build a house, but then when you finally do it's an asset that appreciates overtime forever. Although this budget doesn't really include the cost of a land because the land is already available courtesy of my grandfather. In Nigeria it's easier to purchase a landed property or own one. In my own case I co-own this land with my younger brother and having my grandmother and mother as the only survivor of my extended family, so by default we've inherited this land which is about one hand half plot of a land which can conviniently contain two four bed room house with a parlour each. The landed property is all ready available and so the budget wouldn't include the cost of a house.

Total Cost?

Currently building a four bedroom plus a parlour apartment without an inbuilt passage will cost about 1200 bricks which is about 190k in Nigerian naira, cements will cost about 124k in the same Nigerian naira. Then payment for the builders involved will span about 180k as well this will bring it to the total of about 495k approximately Then the roofing materials might for about 100k plus other instruments involved as well as the nails then an extra 50k for the wood and ceiling materials which will be in excess of 600k. I'll however be hoping to have a grant of 150k from my friends and Family to complete the other tiny building material I might need including doors and aluminium material as well. at the end, I'll be using up 750k in naira ($1940)

This might look incredibly small to a high end or high level earner but then some average earners in Nigeria might need about two years of even more just to earn this amount of money. I had to contact people who are builders to get a rough estimation of how how much I might need. Now in 18 months time, this money might just rise to about $2000 or considerably more but then this region would definitely get this project done. I'm currently in college and having a lot of prospective bills to settle so this might be really difficult. There might be a lot of unforseen circumstances too but then I feel 18 months or at least 24 months at most should be able to help me with this. $2000 is huge and probability impossible but I'm hoping I can have the favour of crypto moon in the coming two years.



Images taken & owned by me





Interested in some more of my works?

2400 Leo Staked; Why I Have Decided To Start Investing In Leo
SATURDAY'S VLOG: A Trip To The Barber's Shop
Scarlet Days. (An Original Poetry & Photo Manipulation)
Why Do People Fear "The Process Of Change" Despite Adoring "Change" Itself? (A Life Ramble)
My Photography Tour For The Week & Experimenting With New Edits
The Phenomenon Of Loyalty; What Makes It More Of A Sentiment Rather Than Rational?


IMG_20200623_170847-02.jpeg


My name is @Josediccus, a young Nigerian student who is a Vlogger, A Psychologist, Poet And Sports Writer/Analyst. I'm using my contents as a process to create shared meaning as well as create expressions through which people on/off hive can relate. I believe content is a process to be enjoyed and relished and I'm up for any collaborations in my field stated above. Cheers


@Josediccus, your brother-in-pen & heart


I'm hoping to reach more people who are broken at heart and spirit, so share on any platform or reblog


My Twitter handle

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

Best of luck in raising the funds you need! I just donated a few HBD to help with the effort.

My goodness, thanks a whole lot I didn't even hope I'll get any help here because the community has helped me a lot in the past. I'm grateful to you. I hope to bring updates when I finish finish this, I might have to sell my BTC and my hive saving even earlier as well. Thanks Eric I'm definitely grateful

You're welcome. I'm happy to help and am looking forward to hearing about the progress!

I'll make sure to do that when I begin with the project, how's everything with you?

Awesome. I'm doing well. Covid threw a huge wrench into my goals (as it did many others) of starting the travel channel this year but I'm trying to use this time at home wisely.

I've been working hard on my next book, the sequel to The Perfect Pause, and am just about done with it. Another few weeks and I'll be posting it a chapter at a time and soliciting beta-reader type feedback from my readers here on Hive. The book designer and illustrator have been lined up so everything is on track for an October release.

Yeah the covid-19 really did a considerable number on us all but then I'm also utilising my time at home well too. Well the perfect pause the sequel? The title alone seems really catchy and enthralling.
October will just be about great for the release, I'm an avid reader and lover of your work and I can't wait for the chapter release soon here on hive

Thanks. Glad to hear you're making the best of it. The title will be "Mindful Moments: Perfecting The Pause".

I wish you luck. It does seem like a monumental undertaking! But a house really is worth it. I hope the crypto moon comes at a fortuitous time for you. 🙂

Thanks a whole lot, it's definitely going to be stressful and tasking by all means and I'll have to hope the moon comes faster. Thanks for your generous tip I'm grateful.

I would say that you can absolutely count on the 4-year BTC cycle giving it a higher price within the next 18 months than it's at now. It's important that you do factor that in, because I think it would change your decision making.

If you were certain that what is worth $5 now will be worth $15-$50 in 12 months, would you spend the $5 now or wait to do the project?

Unless there is some reason you MUST do this now, I would say you are picking a self-defeating time to begin. Focus on other things this next year, things that don't make you spend any more crypto than is absolutely necessary. Because we can absolutely count on the market in general being at least 3x higher in a year than it is now.

Well the house is collapsing and it might finally crumble anytime soon and well I have people staying In the house so that's why I seem to be in a haste to actually pull it down in some places and do a sizeable amount of 89% renovation to keep it standing. I'd have gone for the long run let's say seven years but then you see my need for speed.

Thanks a whole lot by the way there are so many aspect to put into consideration as well.

Great thoughts. I am hopeful that a substantial amount of this sum could eb raised from your contents here on HIVE.

Posted Using LeoFinance

It's quite difficult, if I connect on hive solely and depend on my curation reward it could take 36 months to actually do so unless maybe there's a bull for hive as well and BTC. Thanks a whole lot, hopefully I should be able to do this.

Continue documenting the process here on HIVE and I'm sure you'll find plenty of support from the community!

Oh no I'll not ask at all I'll try as much as possible to raise the money

I'm going to follow you just to see how this goes. I wish you luck and look forward to seeing your progress.

Thank you

Posted Using LeoFinance

Good luck to you! Sounds exciting!

Thanks a lot, it's definitely exciting by all means