Reviewing A $400 Samsung Galaxy A72 (photos Included)

in LeoFinancelast year



clbhgm68t03961coq83pm2x19_IMG_4752.webp
clbhgm8hk031u14oqdviqh71l_IMG_4743.webp
clbhgmnag036y2roq6fwne08i_IMG_4742.webp
clbhgn2fp031x14oqbb878nqv_IMG_4740.webp
clbhgnieg034g1ooqedm1cvos_IMG_4731.webp
clbhgnonq03762goqgrngaluz_IMG_4737-1.webp
clbhgo5b9034j1ooqej27fmhi_IMG_4727.webp
clbhgo4z2034v0joq3uz0f2ps_IMG_4721.webp
clbhgolo003991coqdqtxb1j2_IMG_4750.webp
clbhgooqt030m0woq53f017h6_IMG_4735.webp

For a $400 phone, the Samsung Galaxy A72 sure seems expensive, but this is probably because it's a Samsung thing. Samsung has a way of mimicking apple when it comes to price. The surprising thing is that this phone is a midrange device, however, I had the opportunity to buy the Samsung s20FE which is a flagship device, but I turned down that opportunity since I already owned a flagship phone in the iPhone 12. However, it's still illogical not to want to own two flagship devices, the reason why I choose not to own the s20FE was because, it came with a 4500 MAH battery, which would have already started to age since it's a two to three-year-old phone already.

The Battery "Need"

Another reason was the superiority of the A72's 5000 MAH battery. The need for a big battery came because I live in a country with poor electricity. So the essence of battery and solidity is important. The s20FE which is the opportunity cost that made me lose, has a brighter dynamic AMOLED display, better camera system, better speakers, and a GLASTIC design that spells flagship immediately you see it. The s20FE at $400 was a steal, it wasn't a complete flagship as Compared to the real s20 ultra, s21, or s22. The s20 ultra was close to $699, so $299 is a huge amount of money and there's no way you can compare the specs of a $400 phone with that of a $699 phone even if they're of the same brand and even if they're both flagship devices.

Necessity Over Quality

However I went for the former because most of the time, we're not essentially out to shop for quality, but the necessity and something that satisfies a need. Make no mistake, the galaxy A72 5G is in a class of its own. (Even if it's a bit overpriced) It's massively way in over its head and still manages to match the expectations. For a start, the back is made of plastic. It was made in 2021 and came with a 5000MAH battery, a 64MP main camera, and a 32MP front Camera, here's a catch, it came with an optical zoom lens, with over x40 zoom capacity, while maintaining some quality in pixels in good lighting. The processor/chipset is a snapdragon 720, very good processor there.

Selling Points

One of the biggest selling points of a Samsung device is the display. This one came with a super AMOLED display, with the capacity to show deep bright colors, (the contrast is excellent as you'll see in the picture I attached) and it has an 84% body ratio. They could have done better with this. Samsung promised 4 years of android updates on this. Meaning it'll get up to android 15. It runs on ONE UI 4 and also gets security patch of up to 5 years. This is another reason why Samsung phones can be pricey, the continuous security patches, and the updates, unlike some brands that might go a max of 2 years android update.

These updates are quite expensive and the truth is, it's going to be virtually impossible for me to use this phone for an additional 3 years, even if it continues getting updates, the value would have been paid forward in 2 years of usage, before I sell it. But, let's say I do not have money to buy another one, it's quite easy to replace the battery, keep getting the updates and still use it for another extra year after two years of updates, it shows valuable they've made this phone.

**Protection Against Water & Falls **

When it comes to design, the A-series packs a signature design and it's only going to change with the A74, it's simple and classy and even if it's not Sophisticated with glass panels and all, I think the design makes it easy to withstand some heavy falls. And talking about accidents and falls. This phone has got the protection of gorilla glass 5. It is one of Samsung's finest midrange deceive, with an IP68 dust and water rating. This means that this phone can stay in water for over 30 minutes, a few of the times I've had it in water for a few minutes, it came out excellent, this is one of the features you'd hardly see in a midrange device in brands like TECHNO, or even XIAOMI.

**
Overpriced But Satisfied**

All in all, I think it's an excellent phone, howbeit, at $400 it's overpriced. It's got to do with a brand thing I guess. I fell in love with Samsung after using my first in 2020 (which was stolen). I guess, why I decided to pay for this one was because it was the bull market firstly, and secondly, it was an excellent device. The battery test and endurance level beat most midrange phones and even flagships. But I admit that sometimes when we fall in love with a brand, it's easier to see the utility before the cost. I didn't do any camera test, since I mainly shoot with my iPhone 12. so here you have it.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I have been thinking about buying a new device I had not put the battery of this new device in mind but I have it in mind now. You didn't say much about the camera unless I missed it or maybe it was not a preference to you but that's all I have in mind. So far electricity has not been too bad where I stay.

The camera is decent. Downloading a GCAM to it since it uses snapdragon chipset 720 makes the camera almost perfect especially in daylight. So far it's a perfect device and the battery is arguably the strongest I've seen on any Samsung device

Impressive smart device, you've got there, at least for the utility you get will be topnotch cause it does housed most things you need in a smart device

I got mine two months ago for $274, the Camon 19series, the camera runs on a 64Mp main and a 16mp Pro upfront tho there's the 5G model with 32 front and 64 main camera, packed with a 5000mAh battery, 18W fast charge, 6.8Gamut display and a 0.98mm considered to be the slimmest bazel screen to body ratio, the processor be like Helio G85 octa core....it is definitely a topnotch device...

For the smartness to work and everything you'd need to navigate I sure love this device got you covered,...it's a great choice boss congratulations 🎉

I know about the camon series, quite a sturdy phone if you ask me. This particular one you're using has very good battery, this I can actually attest to though. $274 isn't bad, I think phones are generally becoming more expensive these days.

A midrange device will always be a midrange device! Sometimes, that 5000 battery capacity and the huge camera might not be up to what is stated. I wish you had gone for the flagship you will definitely get a good value of it even on the long run. I also notice you didn't review the processor. For me, a two year old S series is still better that a current A series.

I am currently using a Note 10+ which is almost 2 years now but it still feels like a new one. The Note series and S series are among the best Samsung devices you can get out there though the note series have been recently merged with the S series.

I haven't used the a20FE model nor get a concrete review of it so I can't really tell much about it.

And yeah, the A72 is over priced at that amount same as its predecessor A73.

In reality, it's one of the best 5000 MAH battery out there and believe me I've used zillions of phones with the same battery capacity. As for the 64mp camera, noticed I didn't dwell too much on it because I know it's mostly pumped up and not it's truest capacity. Rather the optical zoom has come in handy for me.
In reality, I bought the phone for it's sturdiness, I actually got mine for around $365, meanwhile the s20FE was about $450, but in selected wholesale outlet one can squeeze out more value. I didn't think I could spend that extra for a flagship, seeing that I already owned the iphone 12.

The Note series and S series are among the best Samsung devices you can get out there though the note series have been recently merged with the S series.

This is true, but even if I'm going to use a flagship phone, it'll always be an iPhone, packs more value than flagship Samsung would.

I have used the S10, the battery is hellish, however I guess, it's take one spec and forgo the other when it comes to tech

I also go for the necessity over quality when purchasing smart devices. If it has strong features that I need (e.g. Strong HD camera, AMOLED display etc) then I don't mind buying it even if it's a bit overpriced. It's hard to find a smart device that has all the features you need so you always have to choose one over the other. Maybe a blend of Android and iPhone will solve the problem.

Yeah that's what I choose, it was a thought-out choice and it was true I'd miss out on all the flagship features for buying something else, but the truth is that it fulfills all the needs and everything I actually wanted and I got this. Yeah, the features are good, I'm enjoying most of these features and they've come in thus far.

Powerful device here mate. You really made a nice choice although it ate into your pocket. The camera is great isnt it? I made a mistake two months ago out of hypes about redmi devices. I bought this redmi note 11 for 142k because of how people praise the camera and the pictures i have seen. The mistake was that i should have tested the camera right there in the showroom. I didnt. I happily paid and came back to a poor camera. Right now i had to depend on my other infinix phone for camera. But am sure to get a better device because i love great images - but right now not in the bill of an iphone.

The camera is quite good, especially since it has the snapdragon 720, I download GCAM to it and the camera is stunning in good lighting. The Redmi has a camera without good contrast and display, it's why I had to sell off my Redmi 8 after all the hype to buy it.

If your Redmi has snapdragon chipset, you can download GCAM, I assure you, the camera will come out better.

If your Redmi has snapdragon chipset, you can download GCAM,

It has it snapdragon 680. So I will try the GCAM app as recommended. Thanks so much.

Yeah, you'll notice a huge upgrade when you eventually download GCAM to it.

I have already done it and the improvement is very obvious. I appreciate the reccommendation

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is a BEAST of a phone or will I say a Beast in mobile clothing.

The features are impressive and killer... the zoom lens is something else.

I think I'm getting used to the Samsung Frenzy: it's either Samsung or Samsung... Or Samsung AND iPhone. Naaaa, I can't have an iPhone without an android. And my only choice when it comes to android is Samsung.

When it comes to design, the A-series packs a signature design

E be like say na Carpenter design this my A12 🥲🥲 abi dem do the design when material finish

a few of the times I've had it in water for a few minutes

Fear no go gree me test am oooo 🤲🤲

I think no other android matches Samsung for now and not even Xiaomi's Redmi. I am impressed with this phone. I think as for the design of your A12, the design gets better with the quality of the upgrade. I.e, a42 design will not not be better than A52.

Fear no go gree me test am oooo 🤲🤲

Hahaha just put it inside just for two minutes, you'll see. But you have to confirm if yours has IP68 rating oooo if not, you don jogodo be that oooo. Hahaha.

iPhones will forever remain my favorite, however, it's the reason I actually use the two. The utilty is mind boggling man.

I think no other android matches Samsung for now

At all

I think as for the design of your A12, the design gets better with the quality of the upgrade.

In other words, Ksam you are using an old model 🥲🥲 I understand sir 🤧🤧

if not, you don jogodo be that oooo

Ahhh, it'll just be like those skits we watch 😅 not skits... real life own.. where the person would make mouth and boast that his phone can spend 5 years inside the water...

When they finally put the claim to test.... "few moments later" tears everywhere 😅😅

iPhones will forever remain my favorite, however, it's the reason I actually use the two.

I haven't used an iPhone before.... maybe I'll experience it someday... but like I said... I'll need to use the two... I can't stand being limited to certain apps, or having to purchase specially... of being closed as compared to the "unlimitedability" of android.

I haven't used an iPhone before.... maybe I'll experience it someday... but like I said... I'll need to use the two... I can't stand being limited to certain apps, or having to purchase specially... of being closed as compared to the "unlimitedability" of android.

I won't lie to you eh, as a regular Android user, you might miss what you're always used to when you switch to an iPhone. That is why I use the two. Android brings versatility, iPhone seems limited in so many sense. Plus I won't like to be carrying iPhone everywhere I go, the stupid Nigerian Police sees having iPhone as a crime.

It's a good device but I do think it is also quite expensive. In my view, I'd rather go for something more in the middle because if it has all the features I need, then I am good. For things like a better camera, I tend to not really care because I don't take pictures that often.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, I understand, the galaxy A53 would have been what I'll have gotten, but the battery wasn't as good as this one. But since you're not a heavy user or gamer, a cheaper phone would come in handy.

Cool Phone
Thanks

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, somewhat cool.

That was a timely post fella! It's always nice to get a honest review from a trusted source as I'm currently looking for a new phone and that's top of the list. With the A73 on its way, I like the 'bargain' prices of the older models.

What a great post, thank you :-)

Yeah, the older model gives you a good bargain. For example, the Samsung A52s is way cheaper and offer some ridiculous value, and even with a more powerful snapdragon 778 more then this phone. Except that this one packs a more better battery.

Well thank you...you may have just saved me a few more quid! Much appreciated :-)

These shots are clean! Personally I'm a Samsung fan girl and I always choose Samsung to Apple anyday.

For 400$ it is really good phone!