Share your ideas about how we can increase user retention on Hive & earn $hive for participating! Giveaway #17

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Every day there are more than 150 new users created on the hive blockchain check out some recent stats here Thank you @penguinpablo

However, the number of daily posts does not seem to increase analogically.

Why?

Why do you think that many new users who decide to create an account, do not stay active?
Do they not understand the potential?
Do they feel lost?
Do they not know where to get support?
Did they get here by accident?

image.png

One of the questions I was asked when I participated in a Research on Decentralized Social media, conducted by Uni of Toronto was why I think that this kind of social media is not yet mainstream

My belief? They could be more user-friendly, and some of the new users may feel intimidated about actions such as .. find new users, write a post, comment etc. Also, if they come only for the rewards, they may not get what they dreamt of (or had been told to) from the beginning. It takes a learning curve to be able to interact with the platfrom.

So, I come before you today .. With a question and a gift.

How can we increase user retention?

Do you believe that there are specific actions we can take before or after the user signs up, so that they will continue to be active?

Please share your thoughts below, maybe we can come up with a nice idea that could be implemented on a community level or on hive level.

Here are my two thoughts.

.1. When a user signs up, I believe it is important for them to receive a welcome email with a few very clear instructions. Such as .. Welcome .. etc .. hive is... what you need to do now is interact & make your first introduction post (details - instructions - examples) and if you got questions pls come on discord, on twitter, on tele etc etc etc

This will help the users feel wanted, valued and .. not lost

.2. After a while, lets say .. 1 - 2 weeks, if the user has not yet created a post, we can send an email as a reminder .. which will include also a number of communities that someone can enter i.e. photography / fitness / crypto / gaming etc etc etc

.3. Notifications ... Now, you need a mobile app, a discord (Gina) or to go to your notifications to see who replied to you, who followed you etc.. What if the user would by default receive these to their email? With the option to opt out?? Its great to see in real time who upvoted/comment etc .. this way you feel more motivated to enter the website & interact.

What do you think ? Are these feasible?

Do you wish to participate to my new giveaway?

Comment below something that you believe could increase user retention!

One lucky person will win 5 HIVE!!
Draw date - 11th of August

Any questions? Let me know!


#giveawaysbykat

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @katerinaramm ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hi dear @katerinaramm

Love to see your activity for new users. I moved already quite a few users to Hive and some stay but sadly some go.

For the leaving ones I always try to understand why.

The answers are quite often like this

a. They don’t get all the key 🔑 things.
b. Usability of all the apps
c. Not understanding the crypto thing
d. Don’t get the whole web3.0 thing.

So overall people with a tech background stay like f.e. @jeanpi1908

People with less tech skill offer leave.

Let’s try to discus into that direction. Means for me the „mass adoption“

Love 💕 to chat with you even during HiveFest in Adam.

This is a great comment with very important key points.

It is true that some users may find it hard to keep up, which is why the communities / dApps can help out! I cant imagine how much easier it would be for me if apps like @ecency were active when I first joined.

Something also of high importance is the 'company', the 'friends on hive' - it is important to find ppl with common interests, it is nice to write with a purpose. Not only for getting rewards, but for communicating with people :)

Thanks so much for coming over.
I am afraid I cant come to HiveFest (I ll be watching live though :))

!BEER

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, the Beer 🍺 community is a good example of having like minded people with you.

Love to have some more exchange about this topic. I did as well already 9 „hive meetups aachen“ to keep ppl in good neighborhood


Hey @detlev, here is a little bit of BEER from @katerinaramm for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It all depends on the motivation or how they joined Hive, I have personally in the past brought people and some lose morale along the way.

I am personally having a drive currently where I have onboarded a few people here and It asked them to post I Post daily and make 10 comments, so far we moving on well.

If you have time check out their introductions posts here

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you! I ll check them out for sure 🙏😊

I believe information is the key to let new users understand how the system works in hive. The aim of growing in the hive blockchain requires following some steps that need them to ensure that they are not doing wrong thing.

We have people that have not heard about this platform before and I believe the best way to showcase the platform to the world is through social media handles where they can understand how this platform operates before joining.

It is just like marketing your products in other to convince people to buy when they see the impact and importance they will gain. Though I believe hive us already following that trend of showcasing itself through social media handles but more light need to be put to it for people not to follow the wrong step in maintaining their stay here.

Before a new user will join the platform information would have gotten to them, so to make their journey perfect the rules to need to enlighten too probably in the social media handles and in their introduction post as well.

New users leave because of the Hive police. They exist and use their bandwagoning to intimidate people even when if they make a little mistake.

Hello Katerina! I am glad to see you here. I just recently created my account in this wonderful platform.

To be honest, the best way to have more user retention is probably when HIVE price goes up. Everyone wants in during a bull run, and the bear market puts everyone into hibernation mode.

The upcoming change where RCs can be delegated (instead of HP) should also help retain new users. I remember when I first started and was running into a perpetual lack of RC to even comment more than a few times.

Why do people join FB, Insta, TikTok etc and stay? Their friends are there and they feel welcome. Unless we offer the same on Hive we will always have to find innovate solutions for retention.
Incentives are fine (think bonus pool for the first 10 posts within a certain timeframe) and likely insufficient longer term unless they find a "home". We could offer a quiz to guide them to the "right" community and link it with the incentive.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If we can make hive a little less complicated then I think users would always want to be there.

First there's supposed to be a lot of encouragement for the new users, I know most times they come for the reward and it gets frustrating if they don't get it, if they can be more initiatives like the #newbiesinitiative where newbies are taught about the necessities of hive they get guaranteed vote on one or two of their posts in a week, it'll do well to motivate them and make them stay even if they don't get votes more often.

I still wonder why we can't make direct messaging on hive work, I enjoy having my personal space and they're times that I'll want to talk to another person without the whole world knowing what we're talking about... instead of going all the way to discord, we could make hive be engaging and have people text each other. You can decide to allow messages from friends only, that's a setting that can be safe, and not everyone checks their email, they're times I go days without opening my email so sending emails might just not entirely work.

I just believe if newbies can get people to show them around they'll feel loved and want to stay ❤️

I speak as a newbie.
I have been in Hive for about a year and I remember the early days of confusion well.
Not understanding how keys work, how Hive, HP and HBD work, how resource credit works, how voting power works.
There are many notions that at first are very complicated to understand.
In my opinion, the thing that could be done is to have notifications immediately after creating the account that refer to multilingual tutorials in order to make it clear how the various functions work.

I speak from my experience.
I approached Hive as a single, without a contact person, in fact after my registration I abandoned almost immediately without even posting a presentation or an article.
To actually log in I had to run into a user who was already registered and who took me under his supervision

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta