#piratesunday : The 1977 Bermuda 25 Dollar Silver Jubilee Commemorative coin

1 P

”Blackbirds tend to like shiny things.” ~ The Bloody Raven

The late afternoon, last week following a visit of my Mom in the hospital I felt drained. I was at least relieved that she is doing better. The rain and the slight breeze made me feel miserable enough to form that perfect little black cloud over my head to match my black coat.
I wanted to go home, have a hot shower and bundle up with a book.

I was with a relative of mine and she offered to treat me to a quick meal before giving a lift to the Skytrain station when I noticed we were near my favorite not-so-local LCS (Local Coin store). It had the big yellow banner “Moving Sale – 25% to 50% off” I checked in my wallet $85 CAD cash. The same store Captain @thedamus had frequent successful plunders in the past. This could cheer me up and make my day worthwhile.

So I tried my luck and here’s what I got!

The BIG COIN!

1977 Bermuda 25 Dollar Silver Jubilee coin (CHI)
1
Reverse; Bermuda 1977, TWENTY-FIVE DOLLARS(BMD)
Sterling Silver 0.925, 54.75g
49.85mm Diameter, 3.21mm thick

Shiver me timbers, and what I spy with me unpatched eye is this lovely vintage sterling coin resting in the glass display case yet to be appreciated by any Seafaring cosplaying Captain. When asked of the price, me eye patch popped off in surprise of the wee price! “Yea gots a deal, Captain’s honor!”

After some research there is no reference to any particular ship in but a generic representation and symbol of England’s dominance in the era of the sailing ships.

With still some cash left I perused the display case to make my day more worthwhile and what I got could make the saltiest pirate smile. I’ll save that for another post.

1977 Bermuda 25 Dollar Silver Jubilee coin (CHI)
1
Obverse; SILVER JUBILEE, ELIZABETH II
25th Anniversary of the Accession of Queen Elizabeth II
Arnold Machin’s 2nd Portrait
Reeded edge
Reference KM#25
Mintage of 5,613

The Total Mintage appears to be split between two makers in BU and Proof.

1977 ........ 2,312 Royal Canadian Mint BU
1977 ........ 1,887 Royal Canadian Mint Proof
1977CHI... 6,225 Valcambi Switzerland BU
1977CHI .. 5,613 Valcambi Switzerland Proof

This normally comes in a fancy plush blue case and certificate of Authenticity COA but I can make due with just the capsule. A few spots on the coin but still worth the bargain price the dealer offered me. After all, there be a Movin’ Sale and I made off like a Happy Pirate! Yo ho ho! Tis a lovely addition to my fleet.

1

And now for those into the colorful Banknotes

1984 Bermuda One Dollar
1
Front: $1, Bermuda Monetary Authority, One (BMD) Dollar
Bermuda Petrel (Pterodroma cahow,) Elizabeth Regina II
Signatures: J. David Gibbons (Chairman); Stephen J. Flett (Managing Director)
Reference P-28

This banknote is on loan to me by Mr. Punkys Dad, tis a collector’s note and he told me he’d appreciate it’s return in the original condition and I should NOT just fold it or cram it into my purse. Thanks PD!

1984 Bermuda One Dollar
1
Back: Newport Bermuda Race
Material: 100% Cotton
Printer: Thomas De La Rue & Co. Ltd.

R

I hope you enjoyed this coin feature, thank you for stopping by my Blog today.

The #piratesunday tag is the scurvy scheme of Captain @stokjockey for #steemsilvergold and #ssg-community pirates to proudly showcase their shiny booty and plunder for all to see. Landlubbers welcomed to participate and be a Pirate at heart so Open yer Chests an’ show us what booty yea got!

References

1. My own pictures shot with a Samsung SM-A530W
P. Image under Pixabay
R. Clip art from 123RF
W. Wiki Commons

Other References

Numista: 1977 Bermuda $25 Silver Jubilee
NGC Guide: 1977 Bermuda $25 Silver Jubilee
Valcambi Switzerland: 1977 Bermuda $25 Silver Jubilee
Banknotes: 1984 One Bermuda Dollar

SSG

“Et lux in tenebris to serve laboro, sum sicarius” “I work in the shadows to serve the Light, I am an Assassin”


Posted via Steemleo | A Decentralized Community for Investors
Sort:  

Another beautiful coin, sis @kerrislravenhill!!! Great research on that coin! You’ve been busy, yet so ahead in posting for Sunday! Impressive as always.
Take care 🥰🌺🤙and a million hugs and kisses 🤗❤️😘
Ya

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're quick tonight Sis, I know most Steemians are asleep by now but my only opportunity to post is now. I'm in for another busy day tomorrow arranging my Mom's interm financing for her care home accommodations so I may not have time to do much else.
Much love Sis, 🌺🤗💝🤭🥀

Posted using Partiko Android

Whoa! The Bermuda coin is gorgeous. What a fabulous ship.

Much Obliged @dfinney , I think you may see a wee pattern here. Arrrh!

You are the queen of nautical coins! 👸🏻

I love this coin! I have one or two about the silver jubilee, but not this. Great acquisition!
!trdo


Posted via Steemleo | A Decentralized Community for Investors

Congratulations @ronaldoavelino, you successfuly trended the post shared by @kerrislravenhill!
@kerrislravenhill will receive 0.75460613 TRDO & @ronaldoavelino will get 0.50307075 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

About every Commonwealth country, and a few Non-commonwealth, has put out a Silver Jubilee issue.
I admit, the ship attracted me much more than the Queen of England.
Thanks for the comment and the Trendotoken @ronaldoavelino

An awesome find for sure @kerrislravenhill! Congrats on bagging it! Have a good night🙌👍

Credit the ; The Yellow banner “Moving Sale – 25% to 50% off” does motivate or this Article wouldn't have happened.
Thanks for the comment @elizabethbit

"Braw lookin' shiny 'att is Lass!" 😉 -Keptin

Aye, Kepin. Always best get the approval from the senior officer.

That's a cool looking coin.. so it's worth $25 plus melt value?

Close, the price was better than that quoted by the Krause Catalog in USD factoring in the little spots, minus the COA + Clam shell case. Even if were higher I'd already fell in love with this coin.
Thanks for chiming in @davedickeyyall

Nice coin @kerrislravenhill. Do you have all the coins with ships on them.

;)


Posted via Steemleo | A Decentralized Community for Investors

According to Numista...and Krause publications....No yet. But things are proceeding as planned. As you were Sir!

Aye aye Captain K!


Posted via Steemleo | A Decentralized Community for Investors

Awesome find! It's great to hear your mom is doing better, and really nice to find that you could find a way to help yourself feel better! Hope you were able to enjoy a good book too.

This may be a short lived coping mechanism, I have only so much cash available. Back to novel, "The Lost Scottish heiress. "

I hope you are having a wonderful Christmas !!!!
To you and yours Merry Christmas!!!!😊👍🥰

And a very Merry Christmas to yea @silvertop

Congratulations @kerrislravenhill, your post successfully recieved 0.75460613 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@ronaldoavelino earned : 0.50307075 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site