Applied for Access to the Mid-Tier TradingView.com Charting Library to Increase the Ease of User Experience on Upcoming Hive.Loans Beta, Hopefully They Grant Usage Rights Shortly!

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

image.png
( a screencap from the tradingview.com website where they offer their 3 tier charting libraries )

While it stands yet to be determined, spent the last 10 minutes going through and signing the license agreement for access and rights to the middle tier of the exquisite TradingView.com charting library. While something of an industry leader of sorts, TradingView.com offers free access to their "light" version of their charting library to anyone, however to get access to the really nice stuff their developers have crafted you have to apply for rights to use it, or outright purchase their god tier charting library. While currently a goal to eventually have a license bought for their complete top tier library allowing for chart creation rivaling that of their own on site charts or views similar to what is found on binance, as it sits I've yet to get a response on the price of it, will likely not be cheap!

After taking a long hard look at how incredibly labour intensive building my own charting library would be, applying for access to their mid-tier charting goodies seemed a no-brainer move. It would be silly for me to spend weeks or months developing a full fledged charting function from scratch for the site when I can hopefully just grab what essentially is "industry standard" package from the guys over at TradingView.com. Everyone put a collective prayer or cross your fingers or whatever that those who look at the applications don't take my MS-Paint scribbled signature on the licensing forms in lieu of having access to a scanner as a joke or something.

This library would be a huge upgrade to the Hive.Loans project and make life waaaay easier for folks trading assets or CFDs on site. If all goes well these new charting features might make their way into the v0.1.0 Hive.Loans beta testing here coming up some time this month..

Can't wait honestly!

Also a massive shout out to @mattclarke who delegated the @Hive.Loans account 1000 HP!
While I still don't have the thing set up 100% to cast rewards, your delegation has helped a bunch. <3
I'll likely write in some code to detect delegations to the site and retroactively compensate the support.


Vote KLYE for Witness, Every Single Vote Helps, Thanks for the Support!

Need to get in Contact with KLYE?
Join the Official #KLYE Discord Server Today!


image.png
Looking for an Affordable, Secure & Reliable Server Host for Your Witness Server or Other Web Related Projects? Check out Privex.io!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Nobody has released an open source charting app?

They do have an open sourced free version from tradingview, but it lacks the analysis tools and overlays that might be handy for folks playing futures positions in the future, rather than having to have it open on another tab or screen.

Yeah, that is pretty niche.
Probably only folks in the industry taking the time to experiment with different looks and features.
I'll be glad when we open source the world, then we can have what we need just by asking, or building it ourselves.

All of Hive.Loans will be open sourced but I'll likely have some functions buried in the thing obfuscated beyond easy removal or detection to effectively maim the application against use on other graphene chains. As much as I like sharing my work the last thing I want is for the knobs over on Steem to take my source code and effectively profit off of months and months of my own work intended to enrich our community.

Perhaps this isn't a popular method and some might call me an asshole for doing so, but frankly it boils down to me creating the application for the HIVE community.. Not any of the other source chains or spin offs.

I'm with you on that.
I'm off steem completely.
Sad day, it was.

I just thought I was later to the game than that.
GitLab has everything, right?
Who knew charting was so hard?

Charting itself isn't difficult, however buidling the suite of tools required around said charting to do analysis on site or to integrate the chart to allow for it to by used to trigger things like orders or stop losses in real time is a bit more tricky. The free lightweight tradingview chart library can have these things hacked in of course... But if I can save myself some dev time by sending out a nice email in hopes of someone else letting me use their already developed and tested stuff.. Would be silly to convince myself that building it all out myself is somehow more optimal. :P

I'm in, crowd sourcing is quicker.
This all can't come soon enough, for me.

Yes, those charts are sweet. Your time is far better spent in other areas. Especially if you can get access to these. Why reinvent the wheel when there's already a really nice one already "invented" to use? Good call in my book.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, that was my train of thought too. I'm not known for my GUI designs in any positive light so best leave that to the pros and use their time tested libraries.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the matter. :D

Another test comment

Test comment