Sort:  

:D

Have you ever panned for gold?

When I was down south I would pan the odd time in the North Sask river and found some fly-poop-sized specks of gold, but it never really amounted to anything. I needed to be closer to the Rocky mountains lol.

The last thing I panned was some paydirt bought online because I live in Nunavut and 9 months of winter gets really frickin' boring. This way I could pan for gold inside! Plus I wanted to try and make a 3d printed gold sluice so that when I go back down south I can head to the Rockies and find even more of that gold I've been longing for!

Lol - so you buy dirt online to pan? That sounds like a scam :D

I have never panned for gold, but there are a few places around Australia it is still possible, but I think they lace the streams with dust now. In Finland where I live, I have never heard of people panning or fossicking.

Some can definitely be a scam, I went over this a bit in one of my latest blogs. Paydirt is mores meant for beginners to guarantee they have success and learn proper panning techniques or for people who can't get out to gold bearing spots, say people who live in Florida, for example. There's no gold in that state! Or people who have disabilities which prevent them from gathering their own pay dirt.

I definitely won't be buying more. I wanted a small amount of gold just to do my testing with on the 3dp sluice so I can gauge how much gold I'm losing before I go and shove it in a creek and find it out the hard way.

I live in Nunavut and I know there's gold here, but because it's Inuit land I don't think it would be ethical for me to take their gold.