Using RSI while trading

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Authored by: @hetty-rowan



()


RSI

No, I am not talking about the Repetitive Strain Injury here, although you may also experience that if you sit at your PC all day and click your mouse frantically, hoping to be on time with your order. Before you know it you have missed the boat and instead of a profit you have a loss.

But the RSI I'm talking about here is a technical indicator you can use to learn to predict which way the price of a cryptocurrency will go. Yes it is possible to see this in advance. No one can give you a 100% guarantee, not even technical indicators, but as the name implies, it is an indication. And to learn to trade properly, this RSI indicator is an important one to understand so that you can keep an eye on it and make serious profits.

Strong or weak movements

The RSI indicator indicates how strong or how weak a movement in the price change is. For example, if Bitcoin is moving from $55,000 to $56,000, it is a weak move. Then this is an indication that the trend is unlikely to go up any further, but may actually reverse. Likewise, of course, when the price goes down. If this is a weak movement, the price will not fall very hard and there is a chance that consolidation will follow soon after which the next up or down movement will come. Using an RSI indicator can help you to see this coming and therefore to anticipate it! But as said before, you will have to understand how it works. And unfortunately this is not always easy. But hey, if we want to see money, we'll have to work for it ... with or without our brains.

With the RSI indicator you can view the strength of such a movement and thus foresee whether a trend will continue or will reverse.
To understand even better what the RSI exactly means, it is useful to understand the following definitions:

  • Leading indicator - this is a trading indicator designed to detect future price movements before they happen. These can ensure that you enter a profitable trade rather than a "Lagging indicator."
  • Momentum oscillator - this is a leading indicator that can predict any trend change.

The RSI = a momentum oscillator that measures the speed and change of price movements. The faster the change of a price movement, the more powerful it is and the more likely it is that the market will continue to move in this direction. The weaker this movement, the more likely the trend will reverse.

Very important indicator

To fully understand what this indicator measures, what it does, and how you can use it, we'll have to dive into the formula. And I apologize in advance, because this can be a tough dry piece. But nevertheless necessary to understand if you want to trade for serious profits. However, you should keep in mind that while this is a very important indicator, this is only ONE indicator, and it is still important that you can read the candles and recognize chart patterns. I will come back to the map patterns later.

So grab a cup of coffee to make sure it is all less dry. But here we go.

Formula RSI

The formula to calculate the RSI is always based on the LAST days. The number of days you want to use also influences what your RSI will look like. The most commonly used number of days is normally 14. But this is not a standard given of course. Although, it is recommended to use 14.

To understand the formula properly and to be able to apply it yourself, you need the following definitions. Feel free to read it 85x to understand… Again, this is important to understand. If you're not a math genius like me, it may take a while for it to sink in. LOL

  • First Average Profit = [the sum of all winnings during the profitable days] / [the number of days (14)

  • First average loss = [the sum of all losses during the loss-making days] / [the number of days (14)]

  • Average profit = [(previous average profit) * (number of days - 1) + current profit] / [number of days (14)]

  • Average loss = [(previous average loss) * (number of days - 1) + current loss] / [number of days (14)]

  • RS = [Average Profit] / [Average Loss]

With all these formulas you can eventually make the formula for the RSI:

RSI = 100 - [100 / (1 + RS)]

Congratulations if you've stuck this far, AND if you really understood this dry formula. And now for the good news,

you can keep it somewhere in the back of your mind because we are happily living in a computer age where these technical indicators are simply present for us on all major exchanges,

Which take the calculations off our hands. If you feel the need to control it yourself then the formula is here, and you can get started. If you have time to spare, go back to the Bitcoin peak of 2017, look up all the information and try to calculate and check the RSI formula. This could help you understand it even better, but ... this is only recommended if you have a lot of time to spare.

What is important to know about the RSI, the figure that comes from this formula calculation is always between 0 and 100. And there is an important fact. Because a cryptocurrency from and above RSI of 70 is seen as OVERBOUGHT, and an RSI below 30 is seen as OVERSOLD.

How can you make money from this?

If a cryptocurrency has an RSI of over 70, you could expect that a rising trend will no longer continue for very long and will be reversed. So not a wise time to buy. But statistically a good time to sell. If a cryptocurrency has an RSI of under 30, it is 'oversold', and you could expect the downward trend to reverse, so that will give the green light to buy this cryptocurrency correctly.

OVERBOUGHT means that the cryptocurrency has risen in price too much in too short a time and that the price could drop again at any time. Now is likely the best time to sell your cryptocurrency.

OVERSOLD means that the cryptocurrency has fallen in price too much in too short a time and that the price can rise again at any time. Now is likely the best time to buy this cryptocurrency.

Be Careful!

Paying attention to this is the simplest way to make money from this principle. But… yes of course there is one, but you have to be careful with this that you never use this RSI indicator as the only means. Because it is by no means a watertight strategy. So always only use this in combination with other indicators. Using one indicator is not going to make you profit. That is something you should keep a close eye on. A cryptocurrency can have an RSI of 80 and still fly like a rocket. Then you are quite disappointed if you decide to sell your crypto based on this RSI. So don't!

Next week, next indicator!

There are more technical indicators available that also relate to the RSI, but I will only get to that next week… Because I must first have absorbed that part in my brain. So you just do your thing, save this somewhere in the back of your mind ... take a look at the exchanges at the technical indicators and observe what you see.

Observing what I'm learning

That's how I go about it, try to absorb it, and then observe. But above all, do not make decisions based on this information. Certainly not as long as I cannot yet use all indicators in combination, it will mainly remain an emotional issue. And that sometimes works out better than other times. Especially my own emotions turn out to be the biggest bummer ...

I am learning step by step… but it doesn't get any easier the more you learn.



lbi.png


Wishing you all a good day, and I'll be back tonight ... For now I am going to enjoy the spring temperatures outside with the dogs in our small Netherlands, and together with my partner I will put together a garden shed that is the first start for our own project for hopefully a better future.


  • And last but not least ... DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH, I AM NOT A FINANCIAL ADVISOR

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

sees formula - math PTSD kicks in :) Speaking of emotional issues I would make the worse decisions if I traded on a daily basis especially because of emotions. I hope you will write a series about how defi works so noobs like me don't mess up when they start using LeoFi in the not so distant future :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lol ... I can relate. Oh my ... I will write a series about defi once I can wrap my brains around that. And hope I don't mess it up myself, although I guess that's also worth to write about that so you guys don't make the same mistakes.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That was as clear as mud ;) Is this an indicator that I should actually see in the trading view of an exchange? Binance for example. I've read the post 22 times so far and although I understand the words and the way they are strung together, I am much more of a visual person so I need to see it in action before fully understanding.

RSI = Relative Strength Index for those playing along at home.

Thanks for these posts. It's good to be learning together and I can imagine these posts becoming a great resource.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You can actually find it on binance trading view, you’re right.
B8A133E329D44A848BFF4B363E583872.jpeg

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cool, found it. Now to read this post a couple more times.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good luck ... I'm trying to fully understand this thing myself ...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yup ... that's it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You can find this indicator in Binance yes. And luckily for you, you don't have to do the calculations yourself, but to fully understand it, I strongly recommend trying it, and observe is closely. Although it's not watertight as I said ...

You're welcome. I'm learning myself and it helps me to write it down.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Another pretty good tool to have in the investment tool kit!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

They are all good tools, and one is nothing without the other ... they all relate

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Really educative post right here. I had come across the term rsi before but didn't quite know what I actually meant, now I do, at least to an extent. Thanks for sharing.

Will be putting this in mind when next I go practicing

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Be careful ... and try to observe a lot before jumping in with a lot of money. I don't want to be responsible for losses. Lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

wouldn't make that mistake. Trying it out first with Demo trading :-)

I liked this part ‘Using one indicator is not going to make you profit. That is something you should keep a close eye on. A cryptocurrency can have an RSI of 80 and still fly like a rocket’ the world of crypto always surprises me

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Same here, the world of crypto is something different ... and very exciting to be a part of in this early stages.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Let's go MRI! A great indicator, but for now my preference would still be MFI because it accounts for volume in addition to the speed of price change. I follow Tone Vays and I know he's an MRI trader through and through.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's another one I have to look at and learn as it sounds like a great one to use ...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's similar for sure, I guess it comes down to personal choice and what works for your trading system. And maybe how much value you want to put into Volume.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice we are going to become expert traders with your classes ;)
I heard RSI or any overbought/oversold indicator is kind of irrelevant for forex pairs. Is it different for crypto because there’s an actual market cap ?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lol ... we all hope and wish for that right? As that seems to be where the big bucks are flowing.

As for your question, I am a complete noob when it comes to forex pairs, so in all honesty ... I can't answer this question. But it does make sense for some cryptos. Although in case of Eth for example, it doesn't. For what I know is Eth not hardcapped. So why it would be more relevant to crypto and not that much for forex? I hope somebody jumps in with that answer ...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It is a good tool to use, but I tend not to rely on it too much besides when it hits certain support/resistance lines as a place of entry. I also like to use it to find negative and positive divergences as they give me warnings for me to be careful.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

No tool is watertight, and there is not one tool one can completely rely on I think. It's a combination of many things, and there is always the emotion in a market ... what we saw last week with the BNB, and a few weeks ago with Doge.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea emotions are the hardest issue in trading. I find either coming in with a plan or taking a look at the long term is best. I wonder what would happen to people if BTC takes a 30% pullback. Although unlikely to happen, the change in 1 BTC would be over $15k and it will be crazy for everyone involved.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If the one trader that I'm following at Twitter is right, the pullback is going to happen. He's repeatedly talking about the parabolic move that Bitcoin is going to make, and once that move is there, Bitcoin will drop and the money is flowing in the alts. After they've made their parabolic moves, grab your money and run! Because we're going down, hard and fast ... and have to wait until the next cycle takes off with the next halving of Bitcoin.

Don't get me wrong here. I'm not saying that he is right, but the way he explains everything, and the way he is spot on with every chart he posts on Twitter ... it makes me think. After all, this same thing has happened twice before. And in 2017 everyone was like, "Noooo this is not going to happen, it's different from 2013". Yet it did happen, we fell hard! Why would this time be different? Because institutes are in Bitcoin? They pull out the money once they see it happen, and they've watched it for years. Bitcoin is here to stay yes, but not without a big pullback IMO.

And yes, people involved who haven't pulled out ... that can be emotional devastation.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congrats, you were upvoted from this account because you were in Top 25 engagers yesterday on LeoFinance .
You made a total of 15 comments and talked to 11 different authors .
Your rank is 22 .
For more details about this project please read here - link to announcement post
You can also delegate and get weekly payouts.

I am running a Hive giveaway contest too , to win it - you have to be in Top 20 in CTP + LEO + SPORTS + Top 5 in STEM
Today's winner of 1 HIVE is - jfang003 and amr008

This is some impressive writing! It is great to see you going above and beyond being a hedge fund on blockchain and add more value to the community by showing off your knowledge and educating the readers.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you ... I'm trying to learn crypto trading myself. And while learning it's always a good thing to write it down. Glad you liked it and find it more value to the community. That's what we're doing it for. Bring value to the community.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Trading is for professionals, it is always advisable to move with caution. Thanks for the great information

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

But professionals also had to learn it sometime before they became professional traders. Move with caution is always the advice and the thing you should be aware of, it is money, and can be lost very easy when making the wrong decisions. Thank you for your comment!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

True, I often get caught up in emotions and so, after a few failed attempts, I decided not to trade: p

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The failed attempts I had only motivated me more to learn how I should approach it to become successful, and over all ... that was the best decision so far for me. Not that I'm making big bucks now, but at least I've come to understand something new to me. And it does help me to make decisions, instead of FOMO into a crypto, or panic sell when it goes down for a moment.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice!

Here's what I think happened when we crossed $40,000 with Bitcoin recently...
The near term prediction was $30k before that, and it ran right up to $42k.
Then the profit taking started, the market went down to the 30's and then
back up a little and leveled off around 36k. Seems the RSI was likely ready
for a sell off... then BAM! Elon Musk bought $1.5 billion in BTC and announced
his company (Tesla) would take BitCoin as payment. So here we are now.

IMO if a big player like Tesla is looking to keep the momentum up, they might
just buy as the market is "trading sideways". We may have other big entries
coming soon, more, I mean "MOAR" institutional money should be coming soon!

Maybe the profit takers will not be whales, just smaller accounts needing CA$H?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @lbi-token! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Communities

Interesting to learn this. I just heard of RSI for the first time. I think I had a new addition to my cryto trading vocabulary. I'll read more.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I hope no one uses RSI as the only indicator there is. I mostly use it to spot a possible trend reversal but am looking at a longer time period. It May work for scalping but I don't have nerves anymore to watch the chart all day long haha.

Do you know the difference between Stochastic RSI and RSI? I guess the formula is a bit different?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Rsi and Macd along with smas are the best way to trade.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I look at the indicators alright but I do most of my trading with my gut. It has stirred me wrong a couple of times. The issues I have mostly are I tend to pursue big profits instead of turning little profits into a cumulative profit and I lack the patience to see a trade too. I have stopped a trade only to see price drop or rise to where I want.

The technical part of trading is still a maze for me but I am learning. Thank you for this.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm doing my best. Thank you!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta