My Financial Goals for 2021

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Untitled design19.png

It's been great seeing everyone's responses to @theycallmedan post calling on Leo users to share their financial goals for 2021. I've spent a bit of time reading through everyone's posts and I've been wanting to write one too, but I felt a little privileged. 2020 brought with it a significant amount of financial struggles. However, in comparison to other users on Leo and the block chain I am quickly reminded what a privileged position I am in and how others around the world are living.

But I guess it's relative to where you live and what country you are born in and it's rules and regulations.

Financial struggles

Untitled design20.png
Let's start from the beginning so you can get a grasp of the situation.

My blood heritage is Indigenous/Italian Australian. My mum migrated to Australia as a kid and back in those days it was quite a racist place. Being half Indigenous and half Italian saw me excluded and attacked quite often. But I'm not the kind of bloke that takes things laying down. I know what I want and I go get. It's just alot harder to get. My wife if also Indigenous/English heritage. Where her skin is fair we experienced the same issues. Her mum was taken and placed into an Orphanage as a kid to "learn" the anglo ways. Went through a bit of shit. Perhaps another blog session.

Anyway, I experienced a fair bit of poverty and ended up homeless as a kid. I met my wife at 12 and we have been together ever since and worked not just to address our own financial goals and lives but of the lives of others.

Untitled design21.png

Fast-forward two decades and my wife has become a nurse and me working in social welfare and both engaging in advocacy and fighting against the government building community capacity. Been quite successful over the years but these industries pay no cash. The year is 2016 and my wife is pregnant with our first child and with limited savings and income we manage to get ourselves a small two bedroom unit. With uncertainty we know we will eventually need a bigger place. That same year a local government election is held and I decided to run, I lost by 300 primary votes. End up in court as a band of rusted on career politicians and a banker decide to try and destroy me as they saw the community support I received.

They didn't think I would fight it, but I had two. I got into more debt and spend 3 years fighting in court. Then financially sustained by their political wages and other income. My missing out on being able to provide for my family and missing out on meals due to legal costs. The 3 year battle wages, resulting in an 11th hour withdrawal of all chargers, allegations and proceedings as a senior legal personnel with a background in political corruption picks up the case. Understanding what is going on and seeing I am innocent commits to winning the case. Had it progressed, I would have got a financial windfall and my political opponents charged and unable to participate in politics. They withdraw but now I'm out of cash.

Untitled design22.png

2019 arrives, property prices increase we go to the bank draw on our equity and redraw our loan to purchase a house and land further out in a new development. The bank approves it on the condition we sell our current property at a agreed price. End of the year my wife is pregnant with our second child and things start looking better.

Untitled design23.png

Jan 2020, things start looking good. I have a few back to back wins on projects. Landing me a promotion at work, our son is to be born and bank preapproves the loan for our family home.

Untitled design24.png

Then the pandemic hits and it all goes to hell. I was lucky I signed a new contract so I didn't lost my job through the pandemic as everything shut and many lost their jobs. But the bank calls in their approvals and defunds the project. I scramble to find a new lender who will only cover the cost of the land and not the house build. I lose $40,000 deposit but we secure the land.

casey.jpgppe1024x498.jpg

My wife gives birth in a mask and baby Casey arrives. Now we're stuck in lockdown, a 2 bedroom unit we can't sell and a block of land we can't build on struggling to make ends me.

The 2020 Local Government elections return and we discuss should I run again due to the issues that were experienced last time. My political opposition already started campaigning against me running a narrative of me being a crook and corrupt which is untrue. I enter the race and immediately become a focus point of targeted campaigns, hate speech and anything and everything that my opposition can do to strike me out. It's working and I am getting a lot of hate.

FB_IMG_1609982176789.jpg

On the 11th hour, my wife enters the race. The opposition not enough time to plan their attack and any direct hit at her is negatively received by their followers. Politicians attacking nurses? Nurses save lives, pollies ruin them.

She blitzes the campaign field securing a position on local council, not a paid position but an allowance is provided. She exceeds quota and in so makes history by becoming the First Indigenous Councillor. ✊🏿
Untitled design25.png
We take a risk and list our house on the market right before Christmas 2020. We hope to get the current market bottom of 440k in order to commence our build.

Things are bleak and offers are way below that number. We're stuck, most likely unable to continue our current house mortgage and land mortgage. We need to build. If we can't get 440k we won't sell.

Untitled design26.png

4 days into 2021 and we get the call, we've got the offer we sought. We had a planned open house and inspection which could net us more. But we decide to sell at what we need and the market bottom.

My Financial goals
This year, I don't want to become a millionaire. Although it would be nice I don't care too much. I just want to be able to survive this year as we will now have to move out and rent while we sign construction contracts.

I hope to have enough financial income to get us through 2021 and into our family home and have a year of enjoyment.

Happy New Year everyone, I wish you all the best in your financial goals.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

All the best for 2021. I’m sure things will be much more positive. So proud that your wife got into council.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you, I have been so proud of her achievements. She's awesome

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The less you want, the less you feel worries.
I read your family life story.
Be healthy and happy!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you my friend and yes this is true. I just want a home for my family and a job to live our lives

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Me too. I have not own house. Now,
We have to stay in an apartment provided by the government.
It is very good to buy a home with Crypto.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

In Australia, might take a life time to save for. Houses in Australia are ridiculously over priced and hard to afford. Even renting is extremely expensive.

How much are houses in your country?

So many great goals, @melbourneswest.

Make it happen all of them.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you my friend, you too. All the best in 2021 and may you reach your goals too

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @melbourneswest! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the January 1st Hive Power Up Day
Happy New Year - Project Activity Update

Hope all goes well for the new home build.