Do You Give Yourself Permission to Listen to Your Own Investment Advice?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Screenshot 20210525 12.20.17 PM.png

the screenshot of my reviews is there cause I am pretty friggin proud of them :)

I am a tarot reader on a psychic hotline, and part of the job is to let go of the energy of the person you read for, as soon as the reading is done.

I connect with 30 - 50 people per week, and if I kept all their sorrows and stories in my head, it would really drain me.

But sometimes, things relate to "real life" so well, that you just have to think them over for a little bit.

A few days ago, I connected with a lady who wanted to know what her future love life looked like.

She had recently been divorced (25 years married), and was just looking for some light at the end of the tunnel.

When people call in with those types of issues, I try to find the most light filled part of their possible future, and let them know it is there. They are calling in for hope, I give it to them.

In this particular case, I kept seeing money, money and more money. And also a sense of that money moving away. And also a sense of her not even noticing that the money was moving away from her.

So I asked her about her investments

And she of course responded that her husband had always taken care of "those things" and that she did not think she was smart enough to do "those things" for herself.

So then I asked her if she had ever had an investment opportunity that she thought would go great, but she didn't go for it cause she didn't know how to bring it up to her husband. And then I asked her if this opportunity later took off. And then I asked her if it had happened more than once.

And all of a sudden, I was not doing a reading anymore, I was simply listening to this person tell me about investments that they had been wanting to do for years. Investments that had multiplied, investments that would have helped her put her kids through college. Investments that would bring her so much money, that she could continue working just cause she loved her job so much.

And even though this woman was a teacher, with access to technology and education, with access to "extra investment money", and with previous "I should have listened to myself" experiences.

She still was not sure she was the right person to find a place where to put her extra money.

She did not trust herself

She trusted her traditional savings-account-wanting ex-husband instead. And now that she was getting a divorce, she was chatting about letting one of her children's college friends advise her.

This made me a little sad

Here I was seeing a person who had a keen sixth sense for finances, and investments, but she wouldn't give herself permission to tap into her sense.

So because I could not tell her, I will tell you

Trust yourself

Love yourself enough to trust yourself

You know your unique situation and you are the best person to advocate for yourself

It is better to have invested and lost, then to not have invested and see that you could have gone big

of course, I am assuming you are only investing "extra" money, and that you won't let yourself gamble your mortgage payment

Listen to your gut

If you get an inkling of something, research it.

Let yourself listen to your own financial advice.

Give yourself permission

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I've always said that I was great at given advice but not so great at accepting advice.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I guess I am among the people who don't trust themselves!!!

It is better to have invested and lost than to not have invested and see that you could have gone big
There are many investments I have seen early but didn't invest and saw them do well!

I am now forcing myself to invest and lose thanto regret not having invested hehe.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It is so easy to put the responsibility of our actions onto someone else.

The Blockchain taught me to change this, I used to nag my husband that we needed to start saving. Then on here, I figured out how to invest my time and small bits of money.

I am on the investment train now and happy about its destination.

Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @metzli! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP