Am I Financially Dumb?

in LeoFinance2 years ago


credit-squeeze-522549_1920.jpg

Source

I was recently listening to a podcast and I almost had to listen to a comment twice when a participant called most people dumb from a financial perspective. At first I was almost insulted but it immediately gave me perspective of having to think about it myself! While we are educated in school to be rational decision makers, we know that experience shows that emotions and the behavioral side of each of us often get the best of us. This had me reflecting if I was indeed financially dumb.

It was tough to grasp at first as I am educated in finance and have read volumes about investing and financial planning. However, we started to consider choices I have made in the past and present on my financial position, some were the worst decisions ever. In fact, I have had the thought that I have literally paid for my mistakes over the last couple of years. Everything from debt to bad real estate choices has occurred with more money being the only solution.

However, another concept I continue to look at is how timing and luck are always involved in the randomness of markets. I have so many examples to share from my good luck in starting to invest during the dotcom bubble to the bad luck buying my first property at the peak of the Housing bubble. I also recall my dumb choice of buying eToys at the peak of the dotcom bubble countered to the brilliance of buying bitcoin in 2016. The point is that there is never a clear cut way of seeing our decisions and being good or bad at the moment. Only time tells in hindsight!

The best we can do is approach these decision in rational ways knowing that irrationality will always be present like FOMO and FUD. My approach is to ensure no decision can impact my financial position whether it be by minimizing the size of the position or diversification from current holdings. For example, I am currently concerned about buying my new home for the family at another peak in home prices. However, it also serves as a hedge as being a renter exposes me to uncontrolled prices in inflationary times. As mentioned, only time will tell!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affiliate or Referral links to communities and services that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

Start your collection of Splinterlands today at my referral link

Expand your blogging and engagement and earn in more cryptocurrencies with Publish0x! Sign up here!

My go to exchanges are Bittrex and Coinbase; get bonuses for signing up!

The future of the internet is here with Unstoppable Domains! Sign up for your own crypto domain and see mine in construction at newageinv.crypto!

Always open to donations!

ETH: newageinv.eth
BTC/LTC/MATIC: newageinv.crypto

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.