Is Brave browser losing it's payout appeal?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

With any successful project it is better to be in as early as possible. I have been using the brave web browser since it was in beta all the way up until February when it reach 25 million users.



image.png

The main benefit of being in early to a good project is having a better chance of accumulating as much stake as possible before others notice it and want some for themselves.
(Still early with HIVE)

This works in two ways. You want the project to stay quiet while you accumulate and you also want more people to come in at some stage to drive it's popularity and it's price.

Since brave opened up it's payout scheme in Europe during the last year it has been great to accumulate extra BAT for doing what I was used to doing on chrome and using what is a better browser before we even look at any rewards from it.

The browser is better for speed, utility and protecting your online privacy compared to other major players. On top of that if you decide to switch on the ads service you will receive rewards in their native token where applicable.

Unfortunately we have now reached that tipping point of popularity over product and the monthly rewards are dropping steadily over time.

Looking back since the scheme started for me personally,



image.png

April - 35.95
May - 22.50
June - 17.03
July - 10.56
Aug - 5.49
Sep - 6.63
Oct - 1.70
Nov - 1.27
Dec - 1.96
Jan - 3.85
Feb - 1.35



Apart from a slightly better reward in January, there is a clear and steady decline in rewards since this time last year that co-insides with the increase of users on the brave browser.

While the price has been on the rise lately, it is only in relation to the bitcoin pump and not an increase in the token value for it's own sake.


image.png

With that said, My April payout last year of 35.95 BAT would have been worth $5.752 USD and my last payout of 1.35 BAT worth 0.78 USD or to look at it more negatively a drop of about 86% in monthly value.

I know that there are many different factors in calculating the payouts but I would presume that the number of users is the main one and that has increased massively over the past year so well done to the team at Brave.

It's just unfortunate that the amount of the payout has lost so much of it's value over the course of a year.

With that said. It is the only web browser that I know off whch will send you payments for using it and I won't be stopping any time soon.

They might be small but in my experience it will add up over time and hopefully the price will do the same for me. In crypto it is smart to take anything that is being sent your way and let it ride for years if needed. You never know what the future holds for BAT or any of the other tokens on the market.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

That decline is actually very shocking, to me it seems like the project is just running low on funding and adjusting payouts in order to continue running. Perhaps these payouts will find some rejuvenation in the future as crypto continues to gain mainstream attention. Not quite sure...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I hope so too. That they can attract a higher level of advertising and up the payments again.
I hadn't really looked at it all year until lately and that was when I saw how much it had dropped. I knew it was lower but not by this much.

Let's keep hope, I love the $BAT token and hope they are able to keep the pace up

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah I was more keen on using Brave for the privacy features vs earning a token but certainly wasn't going to turn down a bonus for just browsing!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's still the best but it would be even nicer if it was the best and payed us to use it. 😂

But maybe I'm just getting greedy in the crypto world. I'm looking at Sats for doing anything these days.

Haha, you're turning into a maxi slowly but surely 😀

Life minimalist and crypto maximalist. A solid combination. 😂

I'll drink to that haha 🍻

Hivefest 2025, we'll be able to afford the good stuff.

Interesting numbers. I haven't checked mine. I was never able to work out how to actually turn them into the token. I'll keep using the browser though and, if it becomes worth it, I make the effort to work out the tokens bit. 😁

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You can just sign up for an uphold wallet feom the browser tab and from there transfer to any exchange.

Then swap for hive. 😂

I'm just letting them build up for now and check back in a few years.

I'm just letting them build up for now and check back in a few years.

Same. 😁

!ENGAGE 20

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's my approach for most of my small holdings at this stage. Just keep growing and hold.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Ouch didn't know the rewards has drained up so much! I use Brave and would be really sad if the incetive program would dry up entirely

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's worth having a look at. I hadn't realised how bad it had gotten myself as it was passive and left to build up in the wallet. Any extra tokens are. A bonus but it is still a disappointment to see how low it had gotten.

I guess it is directly related to the advertisers and the advertisers' choice of locations. However, such a high level of fluctuation attracts attention on itself ^^

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That is one of the factors as well with some countries getting very little share of the ads and revenue. I would be curious to know what other people saw in their returns now and if it is different to my own experience of it?

I hate that I can't move the tokens without incurring so much for fees

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta