Giving Mining KOIN A Break & Hard Fork 24

in LeoFinance • 4 years ago (edited)

koin break.jpg
Background Image Source, KOINOS Image Source

Plenty of Work, And I'm The Proof 😅 💦

It's been a fun couple of days with the KOINOS miner and putting my computer through the ringers to see what mining is all about. Now I know why it's called "Proof of Work" because your PC really does do some work and the temperature of my room went up by about 10 degrees, which means in the UK I'm having my own version of summer with these temperatures lol! Proper sweating going on here, I was doing my day job in my shorts for the most of it! No wonder these big mining rigs need water cooling haha

Gif Source

New Miner Version

I heard there was an update to a new version of the miner - v1.0.1 - which might give a smoother experience if you were having difficulties over the last couple of days - you can get it here if you wanted to try it out again.

Evening Off

So my PC, which I call the "Gladiator", is having the evening off to recharge after finding another few hundred KOINs today, pushed me over the 2k mark which was unexpected really! Thought I'd only get a couple of hundred but looking at the so called "rich list", I'll have to buy the North Sea mining rig if I wanted to compete with these guys haha - seriously!

image.png

337k and beyond in the first 24 hours, crazy! When the top three hodlers have 40% of the tokens... yeah... guess decentralisation might be off the cards! Still, I'm in the top 100 for now at least, I think - see where you stand here

Proof Frequency

I tried 1 per day Proof Frequency today but I will probably up it to around 6 per day tomorrow and see how that goes. I don't really have a target with it but I'm not leaving my music and gaming PC on all the time to mine seeing as it does sap pretty much all of my CPU to a point that just casual browsing on Leo and PeakD became uncomfortable (although that may also be down to the hard fork, which looks like it's been fully consensus...ised?) 🤔


Hard Fork 24

So, the "Eclipse" as it's also known as looks to be pretty much done and dusted and I want to shout out to the team (developers and witnesses) behind it all for the hard work they've done (I'm sure they have their own "Proof of Works" to contend with haha) but what changes were done?

Well, my understanding is that it is a lot of "under the hood" work that will streamline a lot of blockchain data processing - so much so that I heard only 1/4 of the processing power and storage is needed compared to before from @themarkymark. This streamlining will make it a lot more straightforward for developers to build their dapps and games on so a lot of foundation work and creases had to be ironed out from the Hard Fork that created HIVE in the first place back in March 2020.

For the average user like myself, not much really would have changed for us, other than any new powered up HIVE won't be able to be used for witness voting until after 30 days but it can be used for everything else (voting content, proposals etc - I asked @blocktrades and they confirmed.

I understand that the Hive-Engine is rolling back and playing catch up over the next couple of days so I suspect by the other side of the weekend, we'll be through it all and everything will be up to speed! Happy days!

So, how hot is your room after mining some KOIN or are you still having issues with it? (If so, go to the KOINOS Discord here). What would you like to see happen with the next Hard Fork? Any changes you think should be made? What about the HIVE rewards and SMTs debate? Let me know in the comments below!

Take care

Nicky

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Seeing as we are going to be 33°C here today, and I will be in the kitchen, I will give it a miss.

Also, if it uses that much CPU,I have to asked what it does to ones system? Could one let it run overnight? My laptop would melt! 😱🤣

You may need to put your laptop in the fridge then 😂

I think the miner does adjust how much cpu it uses when you use it for other things but it's probably best to use a spare laptop/pc for it. I might try it on my spare and see how that goes. It will be like the Sahara in here 😀

That Koinos discord link seems to be invalid or expired.

Hmmm, thanks for letting me know! I just tried to create a permanent link - try this one - https://discord.gg/9Ub4qUP

I'll update the post!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It worked, thank you.

You're welcome, thanks for bringing it to my attention - you going to get involved with some mining? :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, just started mining using your guide. Was getting errors. It seems to be stable now.

Ah awesome! Glad you got it sorted! Yeah once you get it stable then it's just click and play really (and sweat a lot as your room temp increases with the extra CPU power 😀)