Tesla x Medium Giveaway phishing mails (Leaked email addresses from Hotbit hack used?)

in LeoFinance3 years ago

When I checked my mails today morning I noticed something very strange looking: An email supposedly from Medium in cooperation with Tesla where they announce a 100 million USD worth of crpytocurrency giveaway.



image.png


Tesla x Medium Email Phishing scam


The sender of the email is [email protected], so not even the usual cryptic [email protected] but a more or less legit looking address. I mean it should be obvious that this email is not real and Medium would never use a special domain like crypto-news-medium.com, but I guess there are more people that could fall for this than for some random addresses?!

So if you open the link it brings you to https:// elonmusk--medium.com/ (SCAM URL, don't click!). The site itself is a clone of a medium article and I have to admit it is made very well. They probably just copy pasted the code of one article and changed it to their text. And the text is also well written, there aren't any obvious totally wrong sentences or other errors. There are even fake comments of crypto "influencers" under the post:

image.png

On the article there are a couple of links to other websites where the actual scam happens
It asks you to DOGE/BTC/ETH to an address and they promise you to return a bigger amount, so the usual scam.

Where does the Email come from?

The email that I got this one is years old and I have used it for so much stuff so it's no wonder that I get spam from time to time. But I usually haven't gotten any English and/or crypto-related spam emails.

A couple of weeks ago Hotbit was hacked, I believe this is where the scammers may have found the emails. At least that's the only logical explanation that I could think of.

Anyway, never trust anyone that promises you to send back more money if you send them some. The "Tesla Crypto Giveaway" is a meme at this point and I'm actually surprised to see that it's still being used.

Have your emails that were registered with Hotbit received a similar message? I'm interested to hear from you.


Full email screenhot:
image.png


Posted Using LeoFinance Beta