The Struggle With Finding A New Career Path

in LeoFinancelast year

image.png
Source

Ever since I resigned from my last job in the hospitality industry, all I have thought about is what I want to do next. It‘s one of the most difficult questions I've had to answer. Even now, I still do not have all the answers.

Do you know what I miss the most? I miss Omosefe, who was 100% confident in my abilities and choices. I was the one who could tell right from left and vice versa. There’s this haze and confusion where clarity used to dwell. My friend says to give it time. She says that answers will come, but it’s beginning to seem like the more I look, the less I see. Ever tried to walk through an unclear bush path? That’s exactly what it’s like at the moment for me. I’m trying to find my way through the thickest of bushes. So help me God, I will.


After countless months of pondering, I settled for a particular choice, not because I wanted to, but because a friend thought it’d be cool for us to do the same thing (my first mistake). Besides, it was an interesting choice. We went for a professional course, paid good money, studied hard as if our lives depended on it, passed our professional exams in one sitting and got our licences seamlessly.

Little did we know that it wasn’t all roses on the other side. We tried to put that licence to work repeatedly, but there was no big break for us. Every time, my country shows me that it is not always about what you know, but about who you know. Simply put, your connection matters.

Out of frustration, I packed that licence in my bag pending when I'd need it again. I spent time brooding and grumbling over how I should have invested the money I spent on that course in my shoe business or perhaps spent it on acquiring a tech skill. I thought if I had, just maybe my life would be a tad bit better.

I wasted too much time counting my losses. Don’t be like me.


image.png
Source

I read about a man who had been different things at different times. I don’t remember the exact order, but I remember that he was a surgeon at some point, then an astronaut and an engineer, and three other things. So, I had a rethink. There’s no harm in trying and trying until I get it right, or until I am settled and comfortable enough to know that this is exactly where I belong.

You see, some of us are pressured by the thought of not knowing exactly what we want for ourselves, relationships, careers, etc. Mostly because some of our friends seem to have figured everything out. But, today is the day that I let go and let loose. Today is the day that I decide to take my time, and so should you.

Meanwhile, taking your time does not in any way imply that you sit around lazily wallowing in self-pity. Just don’t. I’m taking my time, but at the same time, I'm making good use of my time. I am working my ass off in every decent and legal way I know how until I find my place.


Funny how this confused grown woman wanted to be several different things as a child. I was so smart, and I thought I had it all figured out. I wanted to be a teacher, then an actor, a lawyer, finally a nurse, etc. I knew how to make hair; I loved baking; I could knit; I could draw, I could make beads; I could run; heck, I was in every school sports competition, every inter-school competition.

They called me the "JACK OF ALL TRADES". Boy, do I miss the good old days. I guess it’s safe to say that Jack has lost his trade. The big question is, what’s Jack’s plan?


You see, what I admire most about Jack now is the fact that he realises that something is missing. And so the quest for self-discovery begins. Jack will not relent. Jack will figure it out. You will figure it out as well.

I really hope this makes as much sense to you as it did to me when I wrote it at 2 am this morning.

Thank you!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Life has its way of killing your creative spark-- if we let it. One of the lessons I have learnt this year and quite late unfortunate is that we all need to consciously and fiercely fight for our lives and by that I mean the things we genuinely care about or life will take it all from us.

We might not have the luxury of wealth, which allows for more experimenting with our creativity and time. I can't wake up one morning and say I want to start drawing again because I have bills to pay. What I can do is draw at least once a day and create/plan a life that allows me to draw or do whatever it is I fancy in the long run.

I don't have my whole life figured out so I can very well relate to your plight. I thought I did, however, life has its way of contradicting us sometimes, but we need to make do with what we have and avoid putting unnecessary pressure on ourselves.

Phewww! Finally, someone who gets me. This has got to be the craziest phase of my life, but I'm learning to not put so much pressure on myself. Thank you so much for your comment.

Dear @omosefe,
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Done 😁

Thank you for your support @omosefe, really appreciate it! 👍

You're most welcome.

Is your shoe businesses an ecomm store?

What's the link?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, it is. But 70% of my business is on WhatsApp, the other 30% is on Instagram.

One thing we as people we need to realize is that we’re all different. Some people figure things out very early and are already making millions whiles the rest of us go in and out of different carriers, searching for what fits us. That’s totally okay. We shouldn’t be rushed into decisions because it seems others are already doing well and we aren’t. Perhaps it’s just not time for you to spread your wings yet, but the time will surely come if you keep working on improving on whatever you’re doing.

Took me too long to realize this honestly. I punished myself for far too long. Now, i know better

Dont worry about the wasted time. I have a friend who didn't know what he wanted to do. He tried all types of things and started 28 small business and each one failed until the 29th. He went from working a job in a gym to living off his friends and their couches for 28 businesses and now he is a billionaire. He's only 48. My take away is that he got luck but prepared for that luck by learning how to fail and finding out what he didn't want. Now that he made it I noticed he's back to failing again lol. But his story inspires me. Dream big and work hard towards and you can succeed. If you fail, it is better to fail fast.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you so much for your encouraging words. I really do not take them for granted.

Congratulations @omosefe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you 🙂

You're welcome @omosefe, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍

Shit happens and what is done is done.
It is hard finding something that we enjoy and pays the bills.
I get bored far too easily which leads me into trouble.
Things happen for a reason and if you had not sat the exams and got the licence you would not have known you didn't want to do it.
Keep smiling keep writing keep laughing at your self and something will arrive that you will love.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta