Goals vs systems, and a small objectives change

in LeoFinance3 years ago

With all the excitment of the last HPUD and finally reaching 5000 HP, forgot to add my goals progression update, one of the things I've commited myself to make during this year, at least once a month.

But speaking of goals, heard a very small lecture the other day of the topic of goals vs systems. Acording to the lecturer, one should change the approach, and focus on systems instead of goals.

Why? In his opinion, although no doubts about the importance of setting objectives, being them short term or long term, just focusing on the goal by itself would place us in a state of constant failure: while the goal is not obtained, we are in a failure state. And after we reach it, most of the time the excitment is short lived, and we have to progress to a new goal.

Instead, the emphasis should be place on creating systems to reach an objective, and not so much goals. Of course the goal still exists, but the focus is different. Applying this to Hive, for instance: Instead of just setting a goal and saying I want to reach 8000 HP this year, I would focus on a system, something like:

  • write 4 posts a week
  • spendind 30 minutes per day engaging and commenting other users posts
  • spending 15 minutes a day researching new tokens and communities
  • etc.

Commiting to following that system would place us in a state of constant achievement, instead of failure, while the end goal isn't achieved; and we would continue to grow torwards that goal, checking the progression and making the necessary adjustments.

Probably just a question on mindset, but found the ideia pretty interesting; will probably put it to practice and see if I notice any improvement!


In the meanwhile... I still have my goals! And will change them just a little bit; I won't change my HP and LEO goals, but decided to even the indexes. Looking at both LBI and INDEX again, it makes more sense to me instead of going for 500 of one and only 100 of the other, even them and strive for 250 each. Investment wise, the value is similar.

And how did I fare in this first month? First of all...

Reach 5000 HP

Done! This brought me great joy, but it was a certainty on the short term, so time to progress to the real goals:

2021 objectivesLast MonthToday%
8000 HP4660 HP502562.81%
500 LEO15717535%
250 LBI308534%
250 INDEX10012550%

I think it was a pretty good month! And now, maybe time to focus on an actual system and continue to grow!

Are you using a system? Or don't bother with goals at all? Let me know!

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta