You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wait.....So STEEM Has A 4 Week Power Down And HIVE Is Still 13 Weeks?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I suspect the 4 week power down is helping STEEM and LEO over HIVE.

Speed is everything in crypto.

I would go for the model, I think it is TheyCallMeDan that supports it, of an additional instant power down option in return for say a 10% burn penalty.

That would give a double bonus boost to the HIVE economy I believe - more attractive to investors and a good bit of burning.

The security angle on the instant power down option can be dealt with by pre-approval of accounts, and maybe 2FA as well.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Yeah I think it is helping STEEM and LEO for sure. Personally I like what DTube has done where it is just liquid. The only thing I would say is from the security aspect but I feel like if there is something where people can put in an e-mail to be notified that a power down has been started or something. But at the end of the day most people are not even using multi sig for significant amount of crypto on software wallets. Even 3 days to unstake is annoying to a lot of people.

With these DeFi apps you can unstake and take the crypto to some other project.

The thing that I don't like about the 10% burn penalty is then it becomes like HEX where there are all kinds of pitfalls and to people it feels like it is setting them up to fail kind of like banks always charging BS fees.

People just don't want any of that.

I'm thinking about buying a bunch of STEEM and powering half of it up and then converting my liquid HIVE to LEO and powering that up for the time being. Do you know when the airdrop is supposed to be for LeoFi or at least when the snapshot will be taken ?