Stepping up my curation game & why you should do that too

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

As regular visitors to my blog already know, Sundays are usually reserved for golden hour posts here on my profile but the weather has been so bad lately and I have no fresh pictures to share with you so instead, I decided to write something about curation on Hive today.


hivenovy.png


Originally, I started out as a content creator here. But that was some 3.5 years ago and coming up with a new, decent post every single day has been increasingly difficult so after some time, also as my Hive Power was growing, I found myself being interested in the curation role more and more.

Currently, I can see two main reasons why I have been trying to further step up my curation game and why you might want to do that too.

First, the recent increase in the price of Hive has caused (as usually) a significant increase in the overall activity on the chain and the competition in the author section is now much bigger than it was during the low times when Hive was crouching down in the $0.10 - $0.15 price range, which means there are now many more hands trying to grab something from the reward pool.

The second reason why you might want to pay more attention to curation now is the upcoming hardfork that will bring some pretty big changes to curation. From what I have read so far, it seems like there will be 3 curation windows (0 - 24 hours, 24 - 72 hours, 72 - 168 hours) with the most profitable window to curate being the first one where the rewards will be linear, which means those voting in the first 24 hours will be rewarded proportionally, just based on the amount of their HP. When voting in the remaining two windows, the curation rewards will be even smaller. In other words, there will be no way to achieve curation efficiency greater than 100% anymore. So, after the new system is implemented, even if you are one of the very first voters on a great post that later get massive votes from big accounts and curation groups, you get no extra reward for that, only the proportional reward based on your HP, just like anyone else who vote on the post in the first 24 hours. For more info about the changes, feel free to check out for example this post by @tarazkp who explained a lot of these things there.

From what I have heard, the hardfork will probably take place in a couple of weeks from now so we only have that much time left for getting some 100%+ efficiency curation rewards for finding and curating the uncovered gems that will be then curated by some big curation groups.

I have been paying a lot of attention to curation lately here on Hive so let me now show you some of my current stats to maybe motivate you to step up your curation game too. At almost 40k (organically gained) Hive Power, some 170 authors on my autovoting list, a lot of daily manual curation (with no curation trails), my current stats look like this:


More than 600 upvotes given out to more than 220 different accounts in the past 7 days. All time curation rewards more than 7,000 HP. Last 30 days almost 450 HP. Last 7 days more than 120 HP.

jedna.png


Got over 20 HP per day twice in the past 7 days.

dva.png


Current curation APR 16.3%

tri.png


This much curation comes with some very exhausted voting power but that´s ok, just too much good stuff to curate :)

ctyri.png



So that´s it about curation from me for now. I hope you found this post useful and maybe even motivating. The point was to show you that curating can be as important and profitable as posting if you pay some attention and time to it.

Thank you for checking it out. Enjoy the rest of your weekend everyone and have a great start to the new week tomorrow.

All screenshots featured in this post were taken from my profiles at HiveTasks and HiveStats.




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving! :)

Sort:  

This post is very interesting and you have certainly managed to motivate me to focus on this. I love creating my posts, but I could also notice the increase in good users and clearly the competition is more and more difficult. I was just investigating how the healing system works and this brought me here, also thanks for sharing the Tarazkp link. I will focus on increasing my HP for greater curation rewards :). Thanks for the info.

Thank you for this nice feedback Laura, I happy to see that the post met its goal :) Good luck with your curation!

I am new to hive, just 2 weeks . I don't know many things that is happening around here . But am learning day by day slowly. Your posts are very informative, motivating and enjoyable, and is really helping me to get better here . Keep up the good work brother .

Thanks for your feedback man, I think you are doing it right ;) It´s important to take it easy and slowly so that you don´t get overwhelmed by all the new stuff here. Good luck! I will keep an eye on your blog.

I hope it goes well because I am not a frequent visitor to your blog

Feel free to become one :D :)

I will o r at least I'll try to

Dosahuješ velice pěkného RPSN, klobouk dolů ;-)

Díky :) Dělám, co můžu :D

🙄 i am new here, so i don't understand everything, but i'll try it.

No worries, we were all newbies once :) You will figure things out. Just take it easy, step by step. The most important thing is to enjoy being here. Welcome!

Of course, and i am enjoying it very much.
Most people are very friendly

Glad to know you feel it this way :) Have fun here.

I hope most of curation be manual if the person is a regular user. Seems like all whales voting each other leaving minnows behind.

I expect a massive shift from autovotes to manual curation after the fork. There will be no need to be fast with voting anymore. I will definitely reduce my autovoting list and increase manual curation ;) But I cannot agree with your comment about big accounts voting each other only. Things have approved a lot since we left Steem where this behavior was much more common...

I saw some big whales auto voting other whales and their favorite bunnies. I hardly seen people manually voting and that too only 2 to 3%. Well it's just my observation. Good to know there will be more manual voting in the future

There will surely be more manual and also honest curation because the curation rewards will be the same, no matter if you vote a popular author with thousands of followers or an unknown newbie.

Nicely said. Hope many people realize that :)

Excellent post! You know, although my HP is still very low, every day I have been paying more attention to curation and I have gotten good results when I look at my stats.

Thank you Sofia, I am happy for you! :) I know you are mostly a content creator (a very good one actually) but it´s good that you are looking into curation too. Keep it up!

Hehehe, thanks for the compliment @phortun! I also hope to continue reading you!

Hmmm too bad for 100%+ rewards...
Good and fast curators ofter received them :)
But I am sure it will be good for whole ecosystem on the other side.
Let's wait and see what the future holds!

And congratulations on your great achevements here on Hive.

I know what you mean Andy, you are actually one of the best and most efficient curators I know. But yeah, this change should be beneficial to the whole community and Hive as such so hopefully, it will turn out well. We will see :)

Great info... I still don't fully understand curation, I just read that if your one of the first 5 votes you also get rewards...
So that goes to the new format you talked about?

Also, at which point do you suggest curation for newbies? At how much hp is it okay for you to start delegation?

Well, it was actually quite complicated and since the new, simple system is coming soon, I think you don´t have to worry about it ;) I don´t know exactly, but you should be able to start earning first curation rewards when you have at least a few hundred HP. The more you have, the bigger the rewards are. You can also delegate some HP, yes.