Buying: How to Spot When You're in a Good Community

in LeoFinance3 years ago

pexelsdiohasbisaniskoro3280130.jpg

There are certain advantages to being a people person and one of those is understanding the importance of the community backing a cryptocurrency project.

Many people new to crypto will run in and buy a random shitcoin for $10 they heard on the news and think it's going to return them a Lambo. This was the case for me when I began, as it probably was the case for you too. The excitement of investing your hard earned money for the first time into something seemingly valuable that promises wealthy returns is quite an adventurous prospect for the first timer.

But what many people don't understand on their maiden voyage into crypto is how value is created in the first place. You can't just create value out of thin air. There needs to be some (or many) processes in place to create that value in the first place. Of course how it's created could be many things in many ways, but in essence there will need to be some inherent value there or the token will crater.

Holding Dogecoin to get rich for example isn't value. Think of it this way, what is in Dogecoin that makes you want to hold the coin in the first place? This is the value that needs to be there. There needs to be some incentive to hold the coin in the first place. Say Elon Musk stops tweeting about it, or let's say in one of his bitch fits he turns anti Dogecoin. What happens then? Do you hold? Buy more? Or sell? A coin with value wouldn't ride on empty words of Billionaires.

That being said Dogecoin has one of the biggest and oldest communities in the cryptosphere, and this is something that is most often overlooked -- in any coin. A community is like the founding block of your project. The community is what will keep you from toppling over and having to give up what you've created so far. Without your community, you are nothing. Your token might well be the inventor of light-speed space travel, but without a community behind it, it's dead in the water. You need people to believe in what you're doing.

That's why whenever I want to invest in something I always like to get a feel behind the founder and the community at large. What are they saying? How are they going around their business? Do they treat everyone well? How does it feel to be in there? All these questions need to be answered because a founder that doesn't engage with his community is going to end up on the wrong side of the mob in the end. Trust me on that one.

I think the best part of a community is how open the leaders are to the hard questions and do they see that as an attack, or an opportunity to let people know more about their project? I think that's key. Often a frail ego can topple a community, or frighten it into silence, and when that happens, even if not right at this moment, it's a dead man walking.

So jumping into a community head first and getting a feel for the place is key. I try to run the man cave this way. Open to any questions at any time. No matter how hard, or how simple. I'll just roll with the laughs and the punches. And sometimes there CAN be punches you know? Everyone is welcome, anyone can ask a question at any time

The first thing you should be checking, before the tokenomics, before what the token does, before any of that shit is how do the owners respond to their community and how are community members treated.

Now that's not to say communities can't be run in a different fashion without being successful because they can. The key is transparency and openness.

Take Neoxian City for example, @neoxian rules that place with an iron fist, and bloody hell don't get on the wrong side of him or he'll catapult you out of there before you even know what's happening, but on the flipside he's probably the most open and honest community leader we have on Hive right now. His rule might be harsh and uncompromising but he's never ever pretended it's not, and those that sit within his guidelines and follow the rules are treated way more than fairly.

Example: One of our Nigerian homies got in trouble from hivewatchers and they wouldn't listen to him in main chat, or me either. So Neoxian fought his corner and got him re-instated. His trouble was obviously a mistake. See? A true leader will go out of his way for his community

This of course is in direct contrast to my own community. I am more of an anarchist and enjoy letting people air what they say. I'm a firm believer in accountability and consequences, and when someone acts out, well, the community deals with them.

Neither way is wrong, both are successful in their own rights.

This is why you need to look at the community, their leaders and those that follow them. Actions speak louder than words. So do they talk a lot but don't follow through with any of it? Is there a bad feeling in there? How does the community react?

And MOST IMPORTANTLY how well do the leaders lead? Do you feel your token is working towards a certain goal? Or does it just feel like a mish-mash of anything and everything cobbled together by high hopes, big wishes, sugar and spice and everything nice?

Hope this helps! :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Totally agree with mr. ray, everyone wants to be reached in a day but that is not possible indeed. maybe can happen if someone is really that much lucky .
what you mention about nexioan city that is really very true also.
and the example you mention I was there on that day and I have seen that why my own eyes neoxian sir are really helpful and he made the city a better place and he really very engaged with the community.
and for the project, I have faith in your BRO token a lot. you are a great guy there is no doubt.

have a great day and great week too

Thanks, you too Bhatt :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm in a group that's not to bad. Sometimes I wonder if I fell down Alice's rabbit hole but it has provided some good incite. Just don't listen to a bloke by the name of fish. Tends to be late to the party and buys at an inflated price.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There's this funny guy on there who's a Politician. He's strange also ;)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Very interesting points. I agree with you that community leaders need to have pretty thick skins. I do not, so I don't think I could ever do it. I just don't take criticism well and I know it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Self awareness. I like it :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good point. I think that's also another important selling point for LeoFinance. We have a good team behind it with a good track record and they keep working to add more and more to the community.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Splinterlands, too. The devs are very accessible and the community is ride or die.
I feel like that pretty much sums up Hive in general.

Not everyone here is in it for the long haul but there is a core group that knows what this is and what it can be and do, and we'll charge the gates of Hell with spit wads before letting this opportunity drift by.

Ah yea! I'm not in Splinterlands myself but I only hear great things about them.

I keep telling myself I should try it at some point but I never actually pull the trigger

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think all things considered it’s still kind of early, but I’m in the same boat with Exode. I finally broke down and bought a starter deck a month or so ago but still haven’t gotten into it.

Yup. hard working team = awesomeness.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh yea, I did buy a starter pack there.

I've also done a couple of missions there and got my NFT planet. It looks like it's going to be a promising game

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I still haven’t completed the intro. I get impatient waiting for tasks to complete.