You Never Know What Patience Is Till You Use A Blockchain Will Slow Transaction Time

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

It took me 16 hours of patience and a $24 loss but at the end of the day, patience was learnt. I have always been using Hive and Binance SmartChain to make transactions, forgot what slow transaction speed is, until I encountered the Litecoin blockchain. It took over 45 minutes to complete a transaction, I complained bitterly like that was the worst thing that could happen. It’s like the more I complain, the more I encounter worst blockchain with slower transaction speed. Hive has been spoiling me with its instant transfer that I feel like a spoilt blockchain brat.

C075D70162E54126870CD04E59DD9439.png
After experiencing that 45 Minutes transaction speed from Litecoin, I encountered worst, or rather, I thought I did, the XVG blockchain. It was supposed to be a blockchain with fast payment, something weird happen which I still need some clarifications on. I transferred XVG from my Binance account to HitBTC, it took 3 hours to get to my HitBTC account after going through 200 Block Confirmations. But when I was sending it back from my HitBTC account to Binance, it took it less than 10 minutes to get to my Binance account. So I got confused, was it an exchange problem or a blockchain problem? I complained bitterly when it was taking too long to transfer from Binance to HitBTC. I declared I wasn’t going to use that exchange or the coin again. I thought 3 hours transaction time was ridiculous, but never knew what was ahead of me.

Last midnight, I saw a trading opportunity in the new Ethereum merge token. The Ethereum Proof of work, a token that was airdropped to all Ethereum holders. The token has been having some series of pump and dump lately. It was trading differently across different exchanges last midnight, I thought it was a good opportunity to do some arbitrage trading, so I bought some. I was so excited because I was about to make 8% profit and the transaction fee was $0.02, so why not. When I wanted to copy the deposit address, I saw this:
63250EF36F25448DB13BEA80DD3D670F.jpeg

This means that it was going to take 4,000 Block confirmations before I get the token deposited in my Kucoin wallet. For a second I felt 4,000 confirmations was too much, but I felt it would be fast, so I ignored it and went on with the transaction. Boom!!! That was the beginning of the longest 16 hours I have ever had in my life. At first I felt 30 minutes is enough to go through 4,000 confirmations but after 30 Minutes no deposit yet. But the token has left my Huobi wallet, then I checked the block explorer, it’s showing that the token is in my Kucoin wallet, but I can’t see it in my Kucoin wallet. Then I checked the block activity and noticed that I have only been on 125 conformations after an hour plus and the block needs to get to 4,000 conformations before I see it on my wallet.

After so many hours of heartbreak and constantly checking the price to know how much loss I have incurred while waiting for the token, it finally came 16 hours later. I had to be patient because there was nothing I could do, but remain patient.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @readthisplease ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

It is frustrating when you have to wait a long time for a transaction to be confirmed!

Especially when you didn’t plan to hold it for more than 1 hour

Especially when it is for an arbitrage opportunity.

It is surprising. LTC has never been that slow for me. I haven't used it in some time. But, it has always been fast.

Might just be the exchange I used

Can't even imagine the toil it took on your mind. Lesson learnt, patience. There's nothing worse than put in a situation that you have nothing else to do but wait...

It's over that's all I can say, lol.

Your post definitely echoed the frustrations felt by many on slower blockchains. Indeed we have been spoilt by Hive chain! 🤣

Congratulations @readthisplease! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022

I used to experience it often. it's really uncomfortable if you have to wait a long time while doing arbitration

Very sad, that is the risk that makes you lose money.