A funny ole day in the land o' funny money! (But a nice day in Paradise none the less!)

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Maybe I should have shit posted this morning when I woke up and saw this:

Screenshot 20201011 at 09.46.55.png

Compared to this from yesterday:

Screenshot 20201010 at 19.24.00.png

You see, I was thinking about it - i did the screen shots!

All I was gonna say was : wow! someone just made a MASSIVE LEO dump.

But then I thought 'na, enough with shitposting to the leofinance platform, wait until I've got something worth saying instead' and headed on out for the morning.

Then on return, thanks to @themarkymark I was alerted to the hack, and thanks also to @nealmcspadden for the prompt post in Discord that let me (after one failed attempt) to extract my entire stake from the liquidity pool only 2.5 ETH lighter than yesterday.

Believe me, I regard that as having dodged a bullet - now I'm just waiting on the 10K LEO I unwrapped to arrive in my account, I'm sure that'll be honoured eventually!

In dollar terms I'm roughly back where I was before the LEO pump started. But who knows where the prices will be tomorrow!

That's crypto folks, you win some, you lose some!

Or you just end of sort of end up breaking even after a pump that comes to nothing!

Funny thing is I've had a really nice afternoon meeting the locals after a long lunch and drinking way too much of the local vino, so I'm kind of like 'whatever about the LEO', that's just crypto.

I do feel a bit for the LEO team, having to sort out all this mess, and figure out a way forwards, nasty nasty hacker!

What's Next?


Well I've now got 30K LEO rather than the 25K I had yesterday, I'm actually quite happy with that - I mean, hack aside, which I'm sure will be sorted, the underlying fundamentals are still sound, so I'm sure this is just a temporary set back!

I'm holding onto what I've got!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Good for you!

I feel sorry for the team too. I hope they'll be able to overcome this setback and push forward. With much tighter security and checks in place, of course.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, it's a bit embarrassing for them to get hacked like this!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lucky you! My shock this morning was a bit different: suddenly I'm 1.3 ETH lighter in the pool, but on the upside I have 80K of WLEOs, worth... like ten bucks? What only yesterday was worth close to a grant is now barely thirty bucks. A loss of more than 95%. Since this happened in the same week as my unfortunate bike sale, I feel properly bummed out, so I may seek out some vino, even though it's still quite early.

I'm hoping the Leo team put some kind of leo compensation plan in place!

Not a great day that's for sure.

Posted using Dapplr

You're obviously right about something, hack or not I'm still holding on, the leo team has learnt the hard way and better precautions will be taken to sort out the mess we're in.

It's a bit embarrassing for them to say the least!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's sad but I really think that we'll come back much stronger.

I was away for the duration... came back to 57usd left over
this has not been a good ending to the day

Oh shit, sorry to hear that.

We just have to hope that LEO is going to recover!

yea, lets hope so, and that some of that rescued ETH is coming my way.

I guess long term the project is not going anywhere

I guess it's just a matter of being patient and trying not to think about it for a few days at least!

That's about all we can do.

Think I'll be spending a lot less time on Hive this week! (I've got a lot other stuff I really should be doing anyway!)

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!