A quick look at my whisky investments....

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

I bought a couple of bottles of relatively expensive whisky back in 2010, and they've done OK as investments, up 10% per annum since then.

I used the Whisky Index to buy them, a firm based in Holland, which is also where they are stored. I've never actually touched either of the bottles! But I've got the option to have them sent over if I want!

At the time I bought them this really was just a bit of fun - I'd just recently bought my first flat (part-buy) and so I was free from desperately saving up for a deposit and just wanted a fun investment with a little bit of cash.

I put in 150 EU on two bottles of Whisky: a 17 year old Bowmore and a 12 year old Macallan.

Screenshot 20210113 at 09.14.05.png

Note that I do really like whisky, these are both brands I've bought and drunk bottles of before, albeit not as old as these two.

From that 150 EU investment, the bottles are now worth 460 EU, or a 10.7% annual return, which I must say I'm pretty happy with.

It also turns out that the 'brand' whisky Macallan has done twice as well as the Bowmore, besides being aged for less time.

The Whisky index has evolved a lot over the last 10 years, it used to be really basic, now it allows you to track the value of each bottle...

The Bowmore

Screenshot 20210113 at 09.16.41.png

Screenshot 20210113 at 09.16.57.png

The Macallan

Screenshot 20210113 at 09.16.22.png

Screenshot 20210113 at 09.15.15.png

Interesting to note how both just chugged along (no pun intended) for about 5 years, then sold for a couple of notches up over the next five years.

I guess whisky is a long term hold!

Rarity rather than quality I think drives the price here...

The maturity process with whisky is done entirely in the barrels - so once it's in the bottle it ain't gonna change - so the chances are that older 12 year aged Macallan is going to taste exactly the same as the 12 year old aged Macallan you can get from Tesco - and NB - a 12 year old Macallan is superb!

So what's driving the price is I guess sentiment surrounding the age of the particular bottles, the branding, the style of the label.

I really like my Whisky investment

Looking at these bottles, even from a distance, I like the look of them, I think they'd make great presents for really special occasions, so it's nice to have that option in the bag.

There's little temptation to drink them myself, knowing that the quality of a more recent whisky will be pretty much the same as these!

And it's no hassle, they are stored for me in perfect conditions.

I'll probably invest in more Whisky at some point, but spend more and go rarer!

150 EU was all I wanted to spend back in the day, but I fancy having another punt on some Whisky - next time I'm going to go in a little harder and maybe buy something from a closed down distillery.

I don't think Whisky is a good 'first choice' investment, but if you want to have a bit of fun in the long term - as in over a decade or more and you've got a few hundred EU spare - Whisky could work for you!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Quite an interesting investment.

How long are you going to wait before selling or drinking it?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice I didn't know this investment was possible .

!WINE

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's quite a fun one too - I didn't know about the Wine bot either!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Cheers, @amr008 You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @revisesociology.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 0.000 HIVE

Nice investment ;)
I could suggest you to have a look at whiskyinvestdirect if you want to invest in maturing whisky.
Buying by litres from different producers, whisky is kept in barrels there.
No sentimental labels or bottles but a bit more certainty in the investment.
Cheers !

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

whiskyinvestdirect

Interesting. Thanks for pointing this out :<)

You’re welcome :)
I’m using it for 2 years now and nothing to complain about so far.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good to know. I just put it on my list of possible ( long term ) investments. Will look into it soonish.

Wow, buying in LITRES of Whisky!

That sounds dangerous. I will check it out for sure.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thing is you pay for maturing whisky not packaged/marketed ones ;)
Prices vary between 1 and 9 GBP per litre.
The older the more expensive usually.
I’d say my average price per litre is around 5-6 GBP.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Macallan is the only scotch I drink. It is the absolute best. It will skyrocket in value.

It's one of my favourites too - very palatable even at a young age!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Actually .... Another one I really enjoy is Tomatin.... https://www.tomatin.com/home-1

I've never tried it, but that 36 year old brew has certainly peaked my interest!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It tastes a lot like the 60 year old Macallan Valerio Adami to me.

Ah, Whisky Investment...

I love Whisky, it's the alcohol I drink to enjoy as opposed to the rest I mostly drink to get, well, drunk.
I've bought a bottle of MacAllan Elegancia for 40€ back when it first was available. 40€!! These go for 600€ or more now. Obviously I've drank it myself long before it went crazy...
Ever since I'm always buying 2 bottles. One for me and one for the cellar ;-)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

People do seem to like Macallan.

Is your cellar like a proper storage cellar? You have to get the conditions right to preserve everything. Which is why I'd never trust myself to store anything!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well I do like it. I prefer the Islay ones but from the mainland it has to be my favorite.

I should have, yes. Had a friend I trust with this check the conditions and it seems to be fine for both Wine and Whisky so I'm stacking up on both ;-)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

nice

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I had a feeling you might be a whisky kind of man.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

@revisesociology, Genuinely speaking, first time hearing about this kind of investment. Feels like anything is possible in "Investment World". Stay blessed.

Very nice! I have a nice investment in Whiskey in my house as well. My wife would say too much I think.PXL_20210103_023253843.jpg

I look at the Macallen 12 (I think it is the blue bottle) every time I go to the store, but I just haven't been able to bring myself to pay the $70 for it yet.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's a nice collection - I think the most I ever had on the go at one time was around 12.

Currently I have none in situ!

I only ever buy what's on special - there's nearly always one bottle with 20% off or more.

I hit the jackpot a few years ago when Thresher's was closing down and had everything at 40% off, I spent about £200. That was a good week!

Macallan sounds expensive - you can get it for a lot less in the UK - do you have protectionist taxes on spirits in the US?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am not sure why it is so expensive. I think we do have taxes, but they are on the front end because the price is the price. I know the prices are pretty regulated though, so unless they are having a sale, you won't see something much cheaper at a different store. They will all be right around 3 dollars of each other. I usually try to not spend more than $30 to $40 per bottle.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

So you bough some whiskey to not drink it....
I'm so confused with life right now. 😂

Precisely that!

Maybe one day.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha, I was also wondering that aging does not refer to bottled whiskey..

Rarity is driving the price, same as with old toys.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I really should have spent the whole lot on a closed brewery bottle!

Wow. I might have stopped drinking alcohol recently but this sure interests me. I didn't even know this was possible and funny to hear that it's via a Dutch firm. Would you mind sharing the name of the company with us /me? Cheers!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sure - it's the World Whisky Index

Ah I thought that was just a List online.