How Co-Working Can Help with the Cost of Living Crisis...

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I've been paying a monthly subscription for access to a co-working space since on my ickle visit back to the UK this late July - early August, and when I return here for good in mid-September I will carry on paying said subscription.

This is because it's struck me that working in a co-working space is going to be an effective means of dealing with the cost of living crisis, and working in THIS ver well organised and large co-working space especially.

I pay £165 month which gives me unlimited, 24/7 access to the space, but let's call that £180 because there's no way it's not going to go up pretty soon, everything is going up!

IMG-20220810-WA0003.jpg

And for that monthly fee I get:

1. A temperate environment

This place has been lovely and cool this summer as it's in the basement of a hotel on a hill overlooking a large river - talk about airflow!

More importantly when we're thinking about keeping energy costs down from October I will here have a heated working environment ALL DAY which means I won't have to heat the house all time I'm here which I can stretch to 60% of my week without too much hassle.

2. Free coffee

This is possibly quite rare in the co-working world but FANTASTIC for me while it lasts. There is a very good coffee machine, I mean it's very good - it does a very decent latte and it's included in the membership fee.

Now for me, who has a penchant for a large Costa in the morning which currently costs £3.70 - that means if I'm here 20 days of the month I'm saving myself £80 - and that's HALF the membership fee right there.

In fact I usually have two-four coffees on a working day - but I can't really claim that's saving me money on Costas as I would never buy THAT many, but even so, overall, I'd say I'm getting my membership fee back in just the coffee alone...

3. Free elecriticty

There are convenient charge points everywhere - my current desk has THREE charge points to itself - one for the laptop, and one for the phone - and of course I can charge these up sufficiently towards the end of the day so that a full charge should last me until the following work morning, meaning I only have to charge my devices at weekends.

AND I've seen one guy charging his ebike battery here.... which gave me an idea.....

I could stick a larger battery in my bag and use that to power some devices at home overnight, I have an inverter already after all, I'm thinking the computer and monitor for starters, maybe some lights.

The only limitation is the fact that I'm on foot, which would limit me to a 2-5KG batter, but if I drive in every now and then I could set myself up with a 10KG stealth set up in a back without drawing too much attention to myself, maybe 15KG.

20 would be into too-heavy to disguise territory maybe....

Other benefits...

Well there are also free biscuits and occasional munchies - circa 200 calories a day I think I could push - that's around 7% of my weekly food needs met right there.

And free water but TBH that's a bit 'marginal savings' even for me.

It's also a very nice place to be with nice people to just hang out with and chat to, which means I've got little desire to wander into town and idly drift an shop and spend, so that's something.

And there are people here who have a of social media/ SEO/ coding/ tech skills and experience I can draw on so this might even help me with saving on professional services I might need or even help me with making money!

Final thoughts - my co-working space pays for itself!

This particular, most excellent co-working space defo pays for itself - I get back the full value and probably a little more than the £165 I pay for unlimited access.

However I think this space is pretty unique and that maybe this experience and value for money wouldn't be found in every co-working space.

I have actually toyed with the idea of buying a van and doing a conversion and living in that, and getting a gym membership for shower purposes too - rather than renting somewhere - that's a potential real money saver but also maybe just a tad uncomfortable.....

But it's certainly one to consider!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

I agree: I pay £30 a year for co-working space which doesn't have the coffee and munchies freebies, but does have a temperate environment, cool in summer and warm in winter plus free electricity. There is a cafe on site, although I prefer to take a pack up with me, and there is the added benefit of being in walking distance, so daily steps are built in.

Zoom meetings were a problem, but I belong to a social club around the corner (£15 a year) and the lounge is usually quiet enough or I can book the meeting room, use of which comes free with membership. The only hazard with the social club is constant requests to join the committee. I try to look busy when a committee member approaches.

Leicester always struck me as the kind of city where co-working would be well established, £30 is a real bargain - do they not have meeting rooms you can book for an hour or so, mine does, and just little booths you can hop into.

when I return here for good in mid-September

What's this? What do you mean? Are you leaving Portugal? How did I miss that?

You just bought a house there as well as your land. 😱

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah there's a few reasons for me coming back, they've just stacked up in the last month!

I happily work from home and have for years.

That being said, I am about to secure a retail space downtown for our marketing company. I figure it will do nicely for brand recognition, legitimacy and help spur a little more community/culture. Additionally to that, when I am in the new environment, the threshold will be real. Blocking out home distractions and putting our minds in work mode.

Just have to make the benefits outweigh the value of the investment!

I guess you just have to work HARDER!

Using a co-working space is something I've considered for a long time.

I've gotta take the plunge!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm a convert, I love them!

That's a very nice deal indeed!

I'll check if I can get a similar place where I live

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta