Just bought 1000 Hive and Powered up to 70K! Yay!

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I think a 10K Hive Power Milestone is worth a quick celebratory post. The recent drop in crypto prices encouraged me to trade some of my stables into a little more Hive.

I also sold off a little Doge, which didn't plummet as badly as most of my other holdings (and is another reason to steer well clear of it if you asked me, the price just makes no sense!)

I bought just over 1000 Hive to take me from 68.8K to > 70K (combined with the proceeds of my most recent payout)

Screenshot 20210418 at 12.14.15.png

It may only be another 1000 Hive but having 70K Hive Power feels very different to having 60 something K.

I think I know why this is - it's due to my career in teaching - 60% is a C grade, 70% is a B grade, and so pushing potentially and A grade - I think i just associated anything over 70 with success, anything less as somewhat mediocre.

Or maybe it's just because 70K feels like it's edging up towards 100K, another base-10 monster goal.

Whatever the reason, 70K Hive sounds good to me, and it feels great - lord knows it's taken me long enough to accumulate that stake!

animated.gif

Reasons to Buy and Hold Hive

I feel VERY comfortable buying and powering up Hive - I understand the system, I know how it works, I know a lot of good people around the blockchain, and thanks to a couple of 'Fests' I've met many of them in person.

I'm much happier investing in a project where I've actually met many of the main stakeholders and know that they are reasonable human beings, rather than faceless executives.

Of course I do very well financially out of Hive too, I'm not going to say that isn't a factor - and I think with the next HF having a large stake is going to be key to maintaining those earnings.

And I still think the fundamentals are awesome - the fast transactions times, the zero fees to move money between accounts, and low fees from exchanges.

There's just so much good stuff built on Hive too - like Splinterlands, leo and Exode soon to launch (excuse the pun) - it just works!

Leo of course deserves a special mention - thanks to it enabling me to leverage my Hive turned Leo into Cub and stables earning me, well, more Cub, that has been VERY NICE to say the least!

And I am a blogger at heart, of course, and now I've got my 'new life' in Portugal, Hive is just the perfect place to spill my guts and earn something for it!

And of course the decentralisation, pro free-speech stuff aspect too - which means it can be chaotic, a bit wild west, but that's all part of the fun!

In short Hive is just a great place to be, so here's to the road onwards and upwards to 80K and beyond!

animated.gif

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Hey @revisesociology, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Well congrats!
I was chaising you at some point, but now you went to far ahead :)

Although not chasing me is maybe not a bad idea, far more money to made in Defi land!

But I do feel like my funds are more secure here!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, thx for great description!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think that is a big help to the Hive community. Thanks for doing so.

Sometimes I feel as if 'i power up so others don't have to!'

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I feel you. Not all of us from Hive have the freedom to power up. Glad to know that there are still some people like you. :)

Congrats on your power-up. It's a logical decision :)

How are things these days in Portugal? Improving, I hope.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hey cheers,

Portugal is great, enjoying the 'green gym' - I don't feel like I need to run anymore, working the land is enough work for sure!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great to hear that, I am happy for you.

Working the land is the old way of keeping fit. Without physical work modern society invented recreation. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That is an awesome move! I am gunning for the 30k mark myself at this point. I bet the kids over here would love to be graded on your scale! 60% to 70% is a D here and 70% to 80% is a C.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Just a hop across the ocean makes you more cleverer!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I guess so!

Right behind you! I put in 1K to get to 69 and thought that very shortly I will put in another. 70 does sound better than 60 odd

Bastard! No way you're beating me to 100K!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice one on getting to 70k! I'm settling for mediocrity myself, nearly at 64k which is a 2:1 Uni degree, I'll take it lol

Well it's better than a Desmond!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lol, aka the "Drinker's Degree"

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

'7' is a cool number, it looks the part. That's why you are feeling good 😀

Yes there is that too, although 8 sounds better!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I cannot afford to power up at the moment but definitely all that is earned powered up stays there, and I'm posting a bit more often with the hope to become a dolphin by the end of the year... I'm at 3.6/5 so on my way. And yay, you've grown so much. :) salted pretzels cheers!

Hey Cheers Yidneth! You're not too far off that Dolphin status! Good move to keep powering up!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

thank you, well I need certainly to post more, and I'm determined but life is a bit of a turmoil of late, still lots of things coming so I'll keep them dropping around here, yes, the part that is liquid I don't power up, life is "complicated" but I have never powered down (hope not to have to) from the part that goes to HP, and still believing I can make it to dolphin... If I post more hahah :)

You will eventually, you can only do what you can do while accomodating life!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes gotta do for now.... thanks... trying to figure many things out... it's quite overwhelming but also challenging

Great! Now give me some upvotes to check it's perfectly working or not. 😁😜

Well there's an alt upvote!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You're zooming ahead of me now. With current prices I can't afford to buy much, but I'm earning quite well. More big accounts has to be a good thing.

!BEER

Hey cheers! A lot of this is thanks to Leo - and Cub, I guess I'm basically reinvesting that in the mother platform!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I could sell a load of LEO to get more HIVE, but that earns too. Not making a huge amount from CUB so far, but I didn't have loads.

Oh my, you've just added me to the shame wall with my 10K+. :) I don't know if there's a grade for that, but I surely wouldn't pass the class.

But otherwise, congrats! That's a great achievement!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

10K is still a pretty decent stake, no shame at all in that!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Wow! 🎯
Congrats on the milestone mate.
Your dedication to Hive is inspiring and enviable!

Cheers, and well it is my internet home!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congrats on the power up. I have another role to follow, My target at the moment is to get more hive to power up and also keep on earning Leo to make my curation account bigger.

Congrats once again.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hey cheers, you just have to keep on stacking!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Damn, that's an amazing Hive achievement, congrats! 🍻

I read it as bought 100k and powered up 70k. Really wish that was the case.

Wow, that's a nice way to read it, unfortunately not the case!

You could probably make a decent amount every week just trading 30K Hive back and forwards!

Wow that is amazing since my current account doesn't even have anywhere close to 1k HP yet so I guess my account is still F grade. I am working to improve that but its slow at like 100HP or so a month currently.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well it wasn't so long ago I only had a few hundred, you just have to keep on stacking!