You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An exploration into community nodes, content value, autovotes, patrons and improving user experience on Hive

in LeoFinance4 years ago (edited)

I don't think being 'over-rewarded' is too much of an issue, eventually the market will sort out who gets the higher votes on what basis.

If we ever get an influx of serious creatives then I'm sure many autovotees will switch their votes accordingly, making the daily churn-to-earn mentality less appealing.

Also, I'm sure @abh12345 would agree that not posting every day is a lot easier now his curation return is up due to a larger stake.

That 50-50 split has made a difference - a lot of people stopped posting almost immediately after the 50-50 split - the most notable was exyle, now he's just a mere passive investor, on both Steem and Hive I note. Can't say I miss those 'daily dinner selfies' that used to earn $25 a pop.

I sort of know what he means though, I wouldn't want to break the unwritten rule of posting more than twice a day (actually for me it's usually once) just to milk an autovote.

I also think the weekly limit thing helped too.

What is your 'fair share' is an interesting question! I think that one goes back to before Homo-sapiens!

Sort:  

I don't think being 'over-rewarded' is too much of an issue, eventually the market will sort out who gets the higher votes on what basis.
I don't think being 'over-rewarded' is too much of an issue, eventually the market will sort out who gets the higher votes on what basis.

Yep, I agree and while there will be space for all kinds of content, the spread will be far greater and there will be less peaks. Having said that, if the price is supported be growing demand, the amounts will be far greater than today, as the HIVE pool (or whichever SMT has value) will stretch much further. You remember the runs from 2017/18 and how much some posts were getting and how far it was going. Back then unfortunately, there wasn't a large community and a lot of abuse - the next time could be different.

the most notable was exyle, now he's just a mere passive investor, on both Steem and Hive I note.

I think there were other reasons that affected this too :D

Can't say I miss those 'daily dinner selfies' that used to earn $25 a pop.

Yep, low value all-round the board - but self-voting was still a thing

I sort of know what he means though, I wouldn't want to break the unwritten rule of posting more than twice a day (actually for me it's usually once) just to milk an autovote.

I have been posting a lot more in the past because I really enjoy the writing. I have cut back heavily since getting picked up by autos though and, my content has probably grown in length accordingly :D

I also think the weekly limit thing helped too.

A lot of people didn't know there was a change and were sitting at 100%

What is your 'fair share' is an interesting question! I think that one goes back to before Homo-sapiens!

People will always underestimate the worth others have, and overestimate their own.