$0.50 for 5 minutes cut and pasting a day - Is it worth posting on Blurt?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Drum role please, my results for 26 days of cut, paste and shit posting on Blurt are officially in, and.....

  • 26 days of posts copy/ pasted from Hive/ Leo = 401 Blurt
  • 26 days of random photo shitposts = 914 Blurt
  • 26 days total Blurt earned = 1315 Blurt
  • With Blurt at $0.02 that = $13 in total to me (I think it's a 50-50 curation split), or $0.50 a day
  • Hourly rate = $6 an hour as one has to wait 5 minutes between posts!

blurt.png

Is it worth posting on Blurt with these statistics...??

Hmmmm - well it's a tough call - $6 an hour IS below minimum wage, but then again it's hardly work, this is just tagged on to my 'blogging micro chores' tasks.

And - you know crypto - Hive-ists may hate to admit it, but Blurt COULD moon to $0.20 - there's a fuck lot less of it than Hive after all, and despite all the dumping that's been taking place, the price has stayed at $0.02, and it's threatened/ threatening to go higher! So that $0.50 a day could easily, easily quadruple (and the rest).

And what if Blurt goes to $1? That'd be nearly $700 I'd have missed out on 'earning' in the last month.

However this is a very negative experience

I know only a handful of people on Blurt, there's almost no engagement - I upvote other people's shit, they in return upvote mine, it's circle jerk tastic, every now and then someone comes along with a large stake and slaps a vote on one of my shit posts.

It's low effort milk, so it's probably got a better chance of mooning than Hive has, but it's a bit crap over there TBH!

I mean take my highest paying post.....

1.png

And compare it to what this cut and past post (which earned 76 LEO and was a perfectly good post)

2.png

I mean come on, that's not great, in comparison, although in fairness for the first post I had just been watching recent Metallica videos on YouTube so at least it had some integrity to it!

If I keep posting I'll probably go for a modified approach...

I MIGHT try a new tactic on Blurt - it seems to be the kind of place where people don't mind you dumping yer daily life photos - maybe I'll take a few snaps during the day and use it kind of like Instagram, that may better use of it - I'd like to keep earning the coin, I think it might DO something crazy like moon into the dollar range, but I think I'm done with really cut and pasting and shitposting, it feels dirty!

Postscript on the blurt price

I'm aware CMC is saying the Blurt price is $0.04, but I don't believe it, there's been some funny swings with the price in the last couple of days, so I'm staying safe and calling it $0.02, although I have withdrawn some to ionomy and put a rather silly sell order in, just in case some idiot decides to buy the entire book!

It does appear to be alt season now, after all.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Free money is free money... if we find a 10-cent coin in the parking lot at the supermarket we tend to pick it up, even if 10 cents is utterly meaningless in the greater picture of our lives.

The original airdrops on Blurt didn't "cost" us anything either, so I have no skin the the game of this thing possibly mooning to $0.10 or $0.15 briefly, and offering a nice windfall...

=^..^=

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't think 10 cents is an unreasonable expectation.

That'd be a nice sell-point for me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's the spirit...and, in the meantime, let's see how evolves

I shall start calling you the Milkman! I have no interest in posting on blurt, powered down as soon as I logged in and got out whilst it was still at reasonable levels but hey, if you're able to get a bit more then why not!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I know how totally irrational people are. It will probably go to $1 at some point.

Also there's plenty people here on LEO that deserve that title more than I do for what I do on Blurt!

Some of them get serious money for churn.

Haha, yeah, seems a lot of Leo posts making it to trending with not much else getting a look in on other topics. I hope that gets resolved and they maybe replace that trending with the curators pick section for a variety of topics. Has an era of Hive/Steem trending page from years gone by at the moment which is the one thing I'd suggest.

People are pretty irrational! I'll follow your *financial advice and go all in on BLURT then!

*not financial advice, not a financial advisor

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

To me, it's all about making more money with excessive of one's content, so it's generally worth it, blurt have proven decent to post on and if originally create my content for Leo is hive, blurting it will just be an added advantage for me

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If it's there and it works for you, then use it I say, use it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It would make a ton of sense to write a script to automate cross-posting to Blurt. Otherwise, the rewards might not justify the hassle and the time spent. As a bonus, bypassing the the website and interacting only with the API would allow one to sign all the transactions without exposing any of the keys to the website.

Despite having no downvotes, Blurt has one mechanism to deter shit posting by those without voting power: transactions are not free.

If only I had the skills to write such a script!

Thankfully I can upvote my own posts and that easily covers the fees there!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It would make a ton of sense to write a script to automate cross-posting to Blurt.

That's a good idea. I've never been a fan of copy/pasting though, but I guess it could be something to consider.. I mean, free money is free money.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I recently found out about blurt, and my blurt power lol. Have no idea how to power it down yet but what I can say is —the shit posting is literally in the name...

47B09E9522D2487AB731E0453F3209B9.jpeg

I couldn’t imagine anything more than 💩 there.

I tried buying blurt on HE and sent it to blurtlink, that didn’t work... then I forgot 🤪 lol

Cheers

Interesting point about the name - you know it's the name that's the reason I think it might catch people's attention!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Free money is free money, why not taking it? ;-)

Oh, I have been, don't you worry!

It's a question of whether it's worth the time though!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Really funny post.. 😀

I started my power down in BLURT but I still have all the coins from the hard fork..

I can't sell in the echange where I'm registered so I HODL for the moment.. 🤣

Yes it doesn't seem sensible to sell them atm, alt season, crazy crazy things happen!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Where do you even sell blurt tokens?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good old Ionomy!

Or Probit just listed them, although I don't have an account with the later.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cool, thanks!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Blurt, I still have to try it as it was not under my attention,but as you say, it is copy paste from here, this should do the trick.

On a serious note, you need roughly 8 years to save for the Oculus rift at this pace, if you want to pay with Blurt for it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Actually more like 15 years, 8 years is so far in the future, those early VR masks would be antiques, and thus worth twice as much!

Nice way of looking at it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I've never thought about Oculus as an investment as an antiques. This idea made my day. I still have an commodore64 and a zx81 machine somewhere in the basement. Need to check their price now :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I did sell a ZX81 fairly recently, a couple of them, I had no idea whether they were working, I think I got about £40 for each of them.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ah Blurt... one of these things I know exist and could potentially increasing my earnings by a bit but that I - so far - totally refused to join because I simply don't care for it at all.
Now the numbers on your good quality posts are not really promising so I'll most likely keep ignoring it. But please give us an update how posting random live pictures is going for you in a week or two - might copy that if it turns out to do something for you.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You know the main reason I did the experiment was to give me something to post about.

I do love posting about tracking,

But I got sick of the cross posting even before the month was up!

I think I might switch to a more 'daily life' type of posting, the odd selfie here and there!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I haven't put the time into cross-posting on Blurt (yet). You pretty much sum up everything the way I see it. Small earnings now have the potential to really add up in the future with increasing prices. The entire crypto-upvotes blogging model mostly remains broken with Post2Mine, Upvote4Upvote, Pretend2care as the keywords.

I still see it as a small miracle that the price of Blurt is as high as it is right now.

Damn I missed out those tags!

Personally I think it's completely irrational to not be posting something on Blurt - if Hive moons in 2021 or 2022, people will look for cheaper alternatives, one of which will be Blurt.

The elephant in the room about this whole Tribe experience is this - it's not about people 'finding their tribe' it's about people wanting to be a big fish in a small pond rather than a no-one on Hive.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I powered down all my Blurt, but I've been doing the odd low effort post to set what happens. Engagement matters to me and there's not enough there. I see others shitposting there. There's nothing really compelling. I can't be bothered with it.

Ive noticed the odd vote from you so cheers!

But you're right, there is almost no engagement, I get the odd comment saying how surprised they are when I do comment!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I may as well use up some votes when I go there, but they are not worth much. I will let some funds accumulate there and see what happens.

I mean who knows, Blurt could hit $.10 - I mean who of us ever thought the HUNT token would be worth more than 0!?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice statistic about s...posting. Probably worth trying it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

cut, paste and shit posting on Blurt

Why do they let you spam them with duplicate content?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Because they've got no way of controlling it. I think they've been quite lucky so many people powered down TBH, with no downvotes there's not a lot they can do to counter all the problems you used to see on Steem.

It was just an experiment anyway, probably not worth carrying on with, but I do like to try these things out.

I mean someone's got to, it is the competition after all!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

While I'm not really wired for sh*tposting, that might be a place for those "take a walk and a pic" style of posts. That way you're involved just in case this thing moons.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think that's it maybe - walk and photo. Easy!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hmm.. Might be worth looking into. Just as Publish0x could be another copy/paste-option to earn something extra. I've never been a fan of copy/pasting though..

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I got 4 Blurts for my first post and some 300 Blurts for second post(I am lucky to picked for upvote after sharing link on targeted Blurt discord.)

In both cases I received only one vote and 0 comments. I gave up there.
(Both post are actually not related with Hive and generic, still I saw no interaction on it.) Frankly I have no time for doing user interaction in Blurt for attracting user there to my post's. I think I will occasionally post, just to see if someone like it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta