Virtual Bartering: Just swapped some articles for a free online subscription!

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I've been trying to learn Portuguese using free apps, but the main ones such as Duolingo only offer Brazilian Portuguese, which is subtly different to European Portuguese, which is far more niche.

The main problem is the pronunciation - it's quite different between Portugal and Brazil, and kind of crucial to get it right if you want to be understood, so I figured I needed a proper European Portuguese portal to learn through.

I did a bit of digging and couldn't find too much that was easily accessible for specifically European Portuguese, a few YouTube videos, but nothing offering anything comprehensive for free.

I hit upon 'Practice Portuguese' as the best subscription based platform for me. It looked well structured and I also liked the fact that it was run by two independent Portuguese guys rather than a massive outfit such as Duolingo.

Screenshot 20201127 at 18.27.41.png

The problem was it was 15 EU a month for a subscription which is a bit steep, so I hit on the strategy of offering to write them a few articles on my blog which would direct traffic to them, as incoming links are SEO gold after all!

So a quick email to one of the founders, a bit of back and forth with me telling them about the amount of tasty traffic I get, he agreed, and sent me a link for a year's free access.

In exchange I wrote them a nice article directing people to their site, and I'll do a few more over the next few months.

I figured there is something of a synergy between my sociology blog and their's - one of the modules I focus on is education and they are independent education providers, so I can naturally write a few articles around language learning, relevant to sociology without it being too forced.

It's also something I find quite interesting - how small outfits like Practice Portuguese manage to carve out a niche against the big boys like Duolingo who have much more visibility and capacity to offer most of what they do for free.

OK this year's free subscription isn't exactly in the same league as what some of the internet's leading influencers manage to get for free with their YouTube channels, but I'm pretty happy with this result, it's saved me £150 this year anyway!

Win-win!

Or at least it will be when I start using it, best get to it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

You really put a very nice review for them.
And nice thing I feel that they provide forum also that I think it is not available in Duolingo. (last used 2-3 years back.)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's a lot more 'human' this site for sure, I much prefer it to Duolingo - that stupid bird thing was beginning to do my head in!

Nice! You are so right about SEO and incoming links. When/if I ever get around to really doing anything with my own blog, I plan to edit a bunch of my old articles to add keyword targeted back links. Good to hear you are learning the language proper accent and all.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I need to get better - I can ask for bread and pastries, gas, and for my mail,

I can just about understand numbers when I get the price of something.

But only if they know me and so speak very slowly!

I think I need to spend more time watching crap Portuguese TV

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice deal! Congrats!

Hopefully you will take full advantage of it and in an year you will be able to recite from Gil Vicente accent free.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm sure I'll get there!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

150£? Per year subscription all gotten for free? Absolutely win-win if you ask me. Good business. So how consistent will you be using this practice Portuguese?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Err, pass on that question for now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hahaha I thought as much lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The power of content creation and communication is amazing!
Hope you learn lots!
Going to reply your posts in Portuguese as a test for now on ahaha
Boa sorte!

Posted using Dapplr

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 92000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 93000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP