Microsoft Doubles The Price Of Gold- Then Takes It Back

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Today Microsoft took a big step on increasing the price of Xbox Live Gold, whats required to play online on Xbox. I own an Xbox One, though I haven't touched it in a few months, this is some interesting development.


At this point, I was going to look for the blog post they made so I could link it here, but came across this tweet: ~~~ embed:1352845180735393793. twitter metadata:WGJveHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9YYm94L3N0YXR1cy8xMzUyODQ1MTgwNzM1MzkzNzkzLiB8 ~~~

I didn't want to scratch out the two sentences I had already written but I think this brings up another good point of conversation, consumer power and X as a service.

Cancel all of what I was about to write, they took it back and are canceling the price hike. Its quite amazing what enough people saying stuff can do. A company that got backlash ended up going back on what it had said because of the backlash.

Would this have been a good move for them? Yes from all I see, it looks like this was to drive people towards Game Pass Ultimate which is $15/month and has gold included on it. X as a service is getting more and more popular and I've had this discussion with @foxon before, but soon you'll be renting everything instead of owning it. Think about it, is it easier to pay $60 for a game once or $15 a month for a whole library of games? For me, I'd have to go with the $15/month. I don't play games often and when I do, I'd love to check out a lot at once and then if there's something I do particularly enjoy, I'll buy it. This is even better for someone without much disposable income(though it keeps them not having disposable income as they are spending it immediately) since they can get access to a whole lot more then before at a low monthly price instead of a large price up at once.

I expect Microsoft to try this again, but probably more quietly and promote Game Pass Ultimate in other ways than just straight up price competition within its own products. It would be nice to see price competition between the console companies some more to help make things cheaper for the consumers in the end.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

$15 a month for a whole library of games?

Not just the games, but a xbox instance so you can play them (android only currently, but ubisoft is on stadia and luna right now)

Oh they got even more on them? Wow, even more reason for people to get it. Who doesn't want to play Batman on their phone?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

@deathwing i wanna tell u broke thign

@someguy123 This is a tset.