I Was Thinking of Leaving Hive

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I've been on HIVE for nearly three years now, along with 30,000 others who are either still with us, away from the keyboard indefinitely, waiting for the HIVE price to increase, have left for good, or have forgotten their keys or who may be alts. I've written 851 posts, some good, some bad. I've thrown quite a few comments in the ring, tipped quite a few users with HIVE to encourage them, donated HIVE to people who need it in times of trouble, tweeted, instagrammed and Facebook'd HIVE, told my friends and been ignored because they think I'm crazy, had thousands of hours of Discord conversations about HIVE, joined in many competitions and won a couple, mostly manually curated, delegated over half my HIVE to Natural Medicine, founded and co-ran that community with some amazing people, joined in a virtual HIVE fest and failed, ran a Discord server, delegated to worthy projects, answered many cries from people who were struggling to upload images, download keychain, transfer funds to exchanges. I've learnt a little bit about crypto and own a little Bitcoin and a few other alts. I've experimented with other social media ran off other blockchains (no comparision) and not bothered to be too exclusive, still running an Instagram account of nearly 3 thousand followers (@wildtrackdreaming) and worked full time, with the exception of 2020. I've experimented with 3speak and Dcity and even bought some Splinterlands cards once, which for all I know is still sitting there.

It's bloody exhausting.

So for about two months now I've had about 1,500 HIVE sitting there ready to get to an exchange should the price pump, which it hasn't. Yep, seems we've become a stablecoin after all.

I've stopped short of powering down, but I've hovered my hand over the button many, many times.

I've had days away from my screen not even thinking about HIVE, except perhaps the niggling possibility of walking away.

What would life be like without HIVE, I wonder?

image.png

Oh don't be ridiculous. I'm not going anywhere. I have a goal of 50K HIVE this year, just bought a few more basic homes in DCITY, reviewed my delegations, and bought $200 worth of HIVE in AUD because I just sold an old surfboard I didn't think anyone else would buy. Slow and steady gets us places, right? I did it with Bitcoin - tiny amounts every week, and now I could cash out and half pay off my mortgage (but I won't, because I'm HODLING with the best of you folk with nerves of steel wrapped up in hope). There's no reason I can't do that with HIVE, and there's no real reason I can see that the HIVE price won't eventually go up.

I thought buying Bitcoin was crazy six months ago.

Now look where we are.

Go HIVE.

Go HIVERS, you eccentric, creative, intelligent, irreverant, beautiful, funny, wierd, interesting nutjobs. Go elbow tendonitis from typing, go power upping, go commenting and upvoting and creating. Go being amazed at what people do with their lives, go sorrows at what they suffer, go the global friendships and learning experiences and births and deaths and virtual hugs. Go waking up to people's beautiful comments, go dramas and popcorn, go getting the muse and writing things you're proud of. Go learning finance shit you never thought you would, go being a better version of yourself than before you started here.

I'm not going anywhere.

Did you really think I was?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

You had me concerned for a minute 😲

Ha, that was the point - I did have a lot of fun sucking people in and you wouldn't have known til after the picture! Gotcha! Now no-one's going to belive it when I ACTUALLY say I'm leaving HIVE - they'll be like, yeah, yeah, I've heard it before River!

wow that was really a great post I feel amazed after the post and can't stop my self to read it at once.
The hive will give you sooner a good valve you just buckle up your seat belt 😋.
And about the BTC I think every crypto investor have the same thoughts 😅.
Maybe the Hive will give a good return so so will not regret on that
and also saw your Instagram profile 🙏👍

Thanks so much - I'm buckling up like you say, and appreciate you being here and being so enthusiastic and sharing my posts on Twitter! The instagram is very different to here, it's all Landrovers!

That is my pleasure don't thank me 😊, Hive price are growing slowly.
Slowly the #hive is growing bigger day by day.

Oh whew!!!!! I was so glad to get to the part after the picture. It was worth the wait. Your subject line was a bit of a hint, but still.

Yes, it’s a crazy crew here, and it’s great. I’m not going anywhere either. Even if it never pumps, moons, etc. it’s still worth the ride.

Yes, it's been worth it, right? You reach a point where the dollars don't matte rmuch at all - well, it doesn't for me, but I understand others that come here might really need it and get discouraged it's not what they thought it was. But for us who love to write and communicate, or even game and distract ourselves, it's a great place to be and I don't mind if it doesn't moon. Even if I powered down all I had it's not nothing, really. As long as it doesn't go to zero!

Agreed. That said, when the greater population wakes up to crypto, I wouldn’t want to be one of those people on the sidelines waiting for the price to go up to get involved. To me, it’s about daily activities, connections and building stake over time.

You really startled me with this post, but then I heaved a sigh of relief!
I personally would go into a deep depression if I did not have Hive as an outlet!
I have not been able to build much Hive since the start of the pandemic BUT it certainly came to my rescue at times and helped keeping us afloat during a 3 month hard lockdown!
Still recovering and hoping that we don't go into another one now with this deadly second wave that's also brought a new highly infectious strain!
The 324 room Hilton Hotel that was thriving pre-Covid, is closing its doors on Monday, how tragic for all the staff and management!
Being small, we've managed to keep going but this platform called Hive has been one of my lifelines!
Hive on @riverflows, you are such an inspiration!

It's really nice to feel loved and wanted - logging on to 13 replies telling me that they were worried does wonders for my heart strings! I'm glad that it helped you out financially, and I know what you mean about the psychological support of HIVE - when I was in the first lockdown, it was people on HIVE that kept me afloat when I was terrified I'd never get back home, depressed as all my plans had been waylaid, and I was stuck at my sister in laws - god love her, but it wasn't ideal living conditions for me.

Oh gosh - the Hilton closing - that's really tragic! Are there no government subsidies to keep it afloat? A lot of our hotels are being used as quarantine hotels, but I guess that's hard to manage in a country like yours?

We were worried as the South African strain came into a hotel quarantine here - but they've kept it under control. We have so few cases but it DOES keep popping up - they've gotten so good at contact tracing and locking down that they've kept it under control. I hope South Africa manages to do that soon too.

I appreciate your kind words - see - how could I leave with lovely pepole like you around?

Do sing out if you are in need. xx

Thank you @riverflows, this place just won't be the same without you!
Apparently over a 1000 Hilton Hotels are closing down worldwide. I just mentioned the one in our city! Sadly you're 100% right, I honestly can't see our government help a private hotel group with any kind of rescue plan even though I'm sure their officials make use of it to their heart's content.
They do make use of private hotels for quarantine but the repatriation flights mostly fly to Johannesburg so that would have saved some; my son was quarantined in a very good hotel up there when he returned from Russia before he was allowed to fly home.
Many irresponsible people still had big family get-togethers over the festive period plus some restaurants didn't curb numbers so many older folk are now deadly ill or dying from this disease!
We fear we may go into another hard lockdown but the country simply cannot afford it as our economy is not as strong as the rest of the world so it may just be more restrictions but keeping the economic wheels going, even if it's at a snail's pace;)
We wait and see!
Take good care of yourself too xx

I am putting my hopes on Hive second layer that eventually drive the first layer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well that's a way of looking at it that is really interesting, and I think you might be right! There's so much great building going on - build it and they will come, right?

I guess you already know LEO..

But I am keeping my eye on DLUX, CTP and LIST.

Anyways my Splinterlands income is more than my Hive income on post so I was never banking hard on Hive first layer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ask not what you can do for Hive, ask what Hive can do for you.

It's a very moving post, you really have a way with words. People like you make me want to stay, that's for sure. Team dreamers 1, reality 0

You are one of the reasons that HIVE is great - I hate it when you leave!!! You put the colour in the HIVE rainbow - and your comments are always enough to make me stay!

I'm so moved! I'm gonna do my best to be active for the coming months!

No leaving allowed, unless you take off in a Landrover.

Haha, well, at least you know that to get me back, all you need to do is something in your boxer shorts.

Good clickbait title Riv.

Ha, isn't it? Logged on after dinner to 13 replies - I should be a tease more often. I HAVE thought about leaving HIVE - I've just learnt how to manage it better.

It'll wear quite thin I would imagine...

Oh also, if and when you leave, just leave...Don't bother with an I'm leaving post...It's sort of dumb I think. Make the decision to leave and own it...Just disappear. Just my thoughts on the matter, for anyone I mean, not just you.

OH mate, I'd never do that - what if I wanted to come crawling back when it moons?

This post was always intended to be a hive vow renewal post - just with a more interesting way in... :P

Lol...It just looks silly when people make I'm leaving posts and then they come back. 🙄 It always seems like a poor attempt at gaining some validation, or pity. I always comment with, see ya.* (If I comment at all). 😂

Yeah the attention grabbers like that are a bit tedious. Quit the pity party lol.

I’ve tried leaving a few times now. It doesn’t work. Once you’re here you’re stuck forever.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Plenty of people have left sadly - but there's still many good ones here too, thankfully! It is so addictive and rewarding if you give it a chance.

kakakakaka!!
I fell for it, cause that could have been me writing without the bitcoin and IG bit ...
But push come to shove, I still have so much heart for Hive and the communities :D

So I am glad you were pulling our legs - a good one too 🙃

Great to hodl with the likes of you @riverflows 😊

Ha, looks like I fooled a few people good - I had fun writing that! And it's not even April 1st. Yeah, 'heart' - so much love. It'll only take a price increase for them to come back!

And a price increase we shall all put our energy towards ;D

For a moment, you had me wondering... mostly because some good people have left, so I rarely see such headings as "idle" threats.

I'm definitely glad you're not going anywhere!

You know, there must be good people that are new here, surely? We need to make sure we grab them and support them! I really appreciate you saying that. There's so many people I wish would come back - I miss them! But yeah, I'm kinda addicted.

I'm sending you a bunch of virtual hugs from here, turns out that this was a pleasant read. Thanks for the motivation, see you at the top

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks! We need people like you, so I'm glad you are around!

Wow, beautiful post <3
I totally fell in love with Hive, since I'm here, I couldn't believe, anyone wants to leave ^^

People like to blame things when it doesn't always go their way. I tend to look for the positive.

I've stopped short of powering down, but I've hovered my hand over the button many, many times.

I have recently and cancelled it 6 hours later. It's damn depressing ain't it?

It is yeah.... feels masochistic at times!!

You scared me a little ( but I've been there so many times myself ), only a little. Hive wouldn't be the same without you.

This place is like Hotel California ( although the checking in part is tougher ) but then without the ( pink ) champagne.

And sometimes it feels like the Overlook Hotel in The Shining.

I love that movie though.

Big hug!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hahaha like the hotel in the Shining indeed.. such a great analogy! I think I've given up trying to quit now..I just choose little breaks instead.

True that and thank you for reminding me to take breaks. I took Sunday off ( put my laptop away ) and it was much needed. Trying to do this every week from now on.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I’m right there with ya. Not easy to do, but
I grip on my HP is fierce.

Man that's good to hear. Read a couple of negative posts this week that kinda upset me. Glad I can have a bit of enthusiastic solidarity with ya.

If they flake another two will replace them. Hopefully we stick together and growing without losing too many long time believers.

I've quit so many times, yet here I am. FB on the other hand is another story. I'm waiting for one person I follow and respect a lot to move to another platform (it's in progress) and when he sets that up I'm done.

FB is for marketplace and maybe entertaining spats in community groups.

I did actually. I began reading like 'bummer, we just met, she's leaving' but waiting for the punch line and if it was something like instawhatever it's called I woulda been 'bullshit!'

And all that stuff about nutjobs, weird, and funny.. I resemble that remark!

Hahaha yep, lucky I love nutjobs. Far more interesting!

stable coin, haha
As there is inflation in HIVE tokens, it's a good thing for it to keep a stable price. Not riding with the Bitcoin rally is not a good thing for HIVE.

I'm a bit confused.. it's a good thing to stay stable but NOT good to rise with BTC?

sorry for writing in a confusing manner.
HIVE kept a stable USD price.
But it lost a lot priced in Satoshis while BTC gained on the USD.

This community is too beautiful to leave! :)
Glad you are still between us.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you! I agree!

aw man, I was ready to read a really pessimistic abandon all hope post... how dare you turn wholesome in the end! :D

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have read a few of those lately and they are depressing. I don't think they do us service... I didn't want to be part of it. Sorry ...

I don't know why, but some how I have a feeling that, we will be noticed soon. Hope 2021 will bring fortune for hivers.

I hope so too. Meanwhile, we have to be part of making it a good place even if sometimes we don't get the rewards we thought we'd get.

Honestly, all my hive are investment, I barely post and look after rewards. I think, the investment is worth more than bank accounts, given that I can earn at least from curation alone.

seems like you are doing it right!

For a moment you had me! But then I was like hmm nah shes bullshitting me! Thankfully you were but at the same time if you needed to step away and turn into pure delegation or auto votes for a bit I wouldn’t blame you at all. Sometimes this internet stuff is stressful, potentially as stressful as the real world! Glad you are sticking around though.
A goal of 50k hive power is really good! I’m hoping to double my hive power this year, optimistic hitting 25k hive power. Not sure about the second goal but who knows!

I created that rant community and made you an admin by the way! Go shit on someone in it if you want hahaha just kidding. I may need to do some posting in it soon though!

Ha, yep, totally bullshitting! I did have a good few breaks last year (2020) and have learnt that HIVE carries on fine without me, and that it won't hurt to not earn post rewards for a week or two lol - was getting a bit obsessive there. At the moment, I'm enjoying the 'daily' - just sitting down to write for a bit is kinda relaxing. Oh yah, give me the link to the rant community, that' shilarious - I will definitely think of a rant to support it!

Totally right on the exhaustingness. I've resumed posting on both give and steem, I guess I'll build my SP back up from the bottom again after I left that platform. Not going anywhere though, but I have stepped back my involvement in a lot of things. My digital life is less active, but my bioregional life is thriving. We just did a big seed buy with some friends and friends of our intentional communities. It's gonna be a good year :)

If you have the opportunity for a real life and real life connections in thriving communities, that must always be your priority. That sounds like a good venture - the thing is, if you leave, how would we gain your insights on this kinda stuff? You are so valuable, whenever you can drop by.

Not leaving. :) Not by my own doing, anyways. Even if I did, I'd leave a contact for things if I'm ever needed.

I got up this morning and the first thing I run into is this post. 😢

I read the first paragraph and start wondering what the heck happened to @riverflows. 😢😢

As I continue reading I'm impressed by all of the ways you have given to this community, and I'm further saddened by the possibility that someone so active in this space is throwing in the towel. 😢😢😢

I continue to read, finishing the article, and immediately start to 😊😊😊.

Despite the price of #hive, where else can you go that has a decentralized platform that allows you to speak your mind, share your adventures, learn, engage with people living halfway around the world, and travel to places never imagined.
These are the reasons that many of us are still around pounding away at the keyboard, for the pure enjoyment we share with people like yourself.
Things have a way of working out. While a spike in the price of #hive would be great and is long overdue, the ride continues to offer an outlet for creativity, making friends, and documenting activities that will be there for generations to come.
For me, creating a storybook of part of my life is the most exciting aspect of blogging.

So many times I think about my parents and wish they were still around to share good times with.
Long after I'm gone, bloodlines will still be able to get to know me and in turn develop a better understanding of themselves while visiting, even if I'm only there is spirit.

You know, I've been thinking about that too, a lot! And it makes me want to go and delete a few posts!!! I've only got over 800 to go through, that's fine ahahaha... I know they won't be completely deleted but I doubt very much anyone would know how to dive into the intricacies of the blockchain to find previous edits haha!

Thanks for dropping by, your comments always make me smile. It's exactly why i keep it up here - the people are just fucking A1!

Stop it, my heart was in my mouth, you can't do that, cos then I'd be thinking of it. AHHHHHH I do know how you feel though, how sometimes it's exhausting and sometimes I feel guilty for not doing more. But we are all in this together, so you better feckin stay lol. Love you xxxxxxx

HHHAAA - I know, there would also be that feeling of letting people down!!! Don't worry, I've learnt to step away for a week or two if it gets too much. And you guys are so supportive in helpiong me do that - it's the responsibility for NM that weighs heavy on my mind, but you have all helped me in that regard so there's no reason to have a hissy fit and disappear. And I love writing too.

बहुत सुंदर फोटोज़ 👌👌👌