Direct Messaging On Hive? The Pros and Cons

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Direct message.jfif

Throughout the last few days I have been wanting to get in contact with a few different groups here on Hive. I announced the other day that I am working on a new tribe here and after making a full list of what I need to get done, let me tell you... there is a TON of things to do.

Leo Finance Lazer eyes.jfif

Firstly I wanted to connect with the @Leofinance team to find out a few things regarding their back-end development, tokenomics and inquire about using their Leopedia page as model for my own.

3speak logo.jfif

Next, I wanted to contact the @threespeak team and see if they would allow me to use their whitepaper as a model for my own. I really enjoyed how thorough it was and plan on rereading it today in order to go over the structure once more. Though my platform is nothing similar to theirs, I think the professional nature of the paper is something I want to emulate.

I plan on contacting @mariosfame to find out if he will be willing to create some logos/gifs for a payment of some sorts.

Though I have the ability to reach these groups/people via Discord or Twitter, it is not the most efficient way of communicating seeing that I spend way more time on here than on those platforms.

This mini-dilemma got me thinking about whether or not a direct messaging function on Hive would be a good thing. I've decided to throw together a personal pro-con list for that function being added to any Hive platform.

Pros

  • Ease of communication
  • Faster responses if people are spending more time on here than other platforms
  • More personalized conversation
  • Possible boost in onboarding as it would be seen as a secure messenger system

Cons

  • This may not be monetizable communication, upvoting back and forth in a DM would be dangerous as it would resemble the upvote farming I have been reading about lately
  • Direct messaging is often private, something that is morally confounding with the idea of blockchain
  • Great conversation may be withheld from the community
  • Would likely take a ton of development to do well
  • Would be competing with other messenger platforms

My Take

As convenient as it would be to communicate with Hive community members with a direct messaging function, I just cannot see it working with our current platform. The beauty of a platform like Hive is that everything is public and immutable. If we begin privatizing out information and conversations, it may take away the allure of being able to jump into any conversation and supply a personal opinion.

What is your opinion? Do you see a way to add direct messaging on Hive in a safe way for the community?

As frustrating as Discord and Twitter messaging are in my eyes, I suppose I will continue to communicate like that. @threespeak and @leofinance if y'all are reading this, please reach out to me in the comments, I am trying to build a great platform and want to take inspiration from the best there is.

@mariosfame I will be sliding into your Discord DM momentarily!

Leo author banner.jfif

@mariosfame gif once again, I love it

Leo Gif.gif

Links and Connections:
Follow me on Twitter: Rob_Minnick23
LeoFinance/HIVE : rob23
Join me on Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=robminnick23
Join Cake DeFi and get $30 in $DFI as a new user: https://pool.cakedefi.com/#?ref=187314
Noise.cash: rob23
Read.cash: R23
Join me on Publish0x: https://www.publish0x.com/?a=M7e587xqd2

Who I am:
My name is Rob and I am a college student doing my best to get involved in the crypto world. I have enjoyed blogging thus far and thank you for reading my article! Give me a follow and let’s build the community together through consistent engagement.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I'm really grateful for this post. I have been thinking about this a lot as well, being fairly new to Hive.

I never really got the hang of legacy social media but Hive makes a lot of sense. As for the Con's you list only the possibility of 'lost' communications would really worry me. However the greater facility of more direct communication between individuals would facilitate smaller group cohesion for developing projects and could lead to more efficient communications in post/comments at least in so far as proactive participation is concerned. Perhaps a type of group messaging could be built.

Monetizing private messaging is certainly not something I would care for. Having the function could be very useful for many reasons and that is a 'value added' plus for the ecosystem as a whole I think.

Given that projects such as Hive are as much about invigorating social evolution and positive change as they are about earning a living, it seems to me that such value added propositions would help far more than they would hurt. I have however been know to be wrong on a few rare occasions.

Really good question and nice job putting up the pros and cons.

Blessed Be.

I like the point that you have brought up regarding value adding additions to the ecosystem. I think that a private messenger in its purest form would be very helpful for enabling the types of conversations you reference. Where I find myself at odds with the idea is that it goes directly against what we want to accomplish by having interactions take place on a blockchain - the transparency. I think that it could go either way in terms of being helpful or harmful, but the concept of being able to see everything that has ever happened on a blockchain is something that is very important to a lot of people. Glad to have you comment and glad to see you on Hive! Just gave you a follow and I am looking forward to hearing your opinions in the future!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Umm there is private messaging using the memo line. I remember some work done on it but I don't know if it ever went live.

https://peakd.com/hive-139531/@dbuzz/announcing-hive-pm-private-messaging-on-hive-sneak-peek

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The concept seems interesting, but having to pay for the initial message (regardless of how small the cost may be) is not exactly sustainable in my view when you could do it for free on telegram. Not sure I'm on board here

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think you can share the minimum but yes you need to send something like the minimum in order to send pms using the transactions and memo. It's kind of unavoidable but it is an actual PM system working on the block chain.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'll read this post now, I had never heard of the option. Thank you for sharing!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for posting your updates as I'm also interested in the process. I use PeakD for direct messaging and it works well. Except I don't get notified of the message until i'm on peakd


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That does seem inconvenient, I wonder how much work will be done on the topic in the next few months

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Have you tried the PeakD direct messaging ?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have not, I use peakD for formatting my images onto my posts here, but have not really been thorough in looking at the features they offer. I see they have something called Beechat. Does that provide curation implications or is it just free messaging?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's free messaging with PeakD.

Screenshot 20210503 at 12.48.27.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

3 second block times make it more like an Email than a DM,
but it's a good point. Using our own DM and chat is preferable.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Fair points raised here. I think that I agree that not everything really has to take place on the blockchain, it does create a dangerous precedent that no innovation can spur off chain. I also do think it is a good concept to allow for Hive-endorsed or sponsored platforms because it helps us to branch out while getting the best platform for the specific use case. Thanks for reaching out and I think you made fantastic points here

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Maybe we can somehow find something in the middle. People now message each other through transfers with 0.001 hive. Not ideal

We need a way for people to reach out to each other in a public chat built in hive. Fully open it has only 1 option to encrypt a Skype username or WhatsApp etc.

In the end hive =social media no chat or inbox isn't very social

The implementation of an outside application onto the Hive blockchain would be interesting though maybe not feasible. I am not a developer so I am not sure how reasonable that idea is or if it would make the outside app less functional if we put it on chain. Not quite sure

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta