Sort:  

Great post about a subject should pay a LOT more attention to!

Here in America, wealth in crypto can be essentially destroyed (or made very difficult to exchange for real goods) at any moment with the stroke of a pen.

For anyone who is measuring their 'wealth' in crypto, or securities, or any other number in a ledger, it can all end on a whim. The only real value of any of these things is our belief in them, and people are whimsical in their beliefs, even more so in what they value.

All these forms of wealth also depend on a functional society in many ways. If the infrastructure fails, where is crypto left? If corporations end, what are your securities worth? What are your dollars worth if the stores are all closed? What's a Lamborghini without gasoline, but a really shiny, heavy tent?

To me, wealth is being able to provide for myself without any of these things. I use my imaginary numbers to acquire things with real value: A home and the means to defend it. Land to grow food on and a means to defend that. Now I'm working on luxuries, like ways to produce electricity without any national infrastucture.

Whenever evaluating your wealth, keep in mind just how stable that wealth is. The only thing that lasts forever is change, but things that only exist in our collective imagination have the most precarious and fragile lives. One decision to strike, by some random ship commander out there in the ocean, can dramatically change everything about our shared financial hallucinations.

Measure your wealth accordingly.

All fantastically said. 🙏

Thanks! This actually inspired what I think will be my next post... A different take on wealth. Now I just have to figure out how to make it interesting without regurgitating my comment!

man, sometimes comments are worth their weight in gold and worth flipping around directly into their own post - or using them as the skeleton to expand upon.

no rules here... may the inspiration flow into whatever form it takes... 😎🥂

Wealth is the same to me as health. I don’t want to pretend to be too smart because I’m not. I only realized this now that I have a broken leg and am completely helpless without help.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hello Rok

I trust you are keeping well.

We posted on similar vax related subjects yesterday but I am wondering why you did not post it here on Hive?

I most likely did. Have been posting first on Hive, with slight delay on Steemit - so if didn’t already, will soon.

Hi
This is certainly a thought provoking post.
While perhaps more rhetorical then anything, each of us who reads it can decide how to apply its lessons to our lives.
Peace out.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta