Is More Money and Stuff Really Needed?

It doesn't take rocket science to see we are in a consumerism motivated society. This is nothing new, but is this really how we all want to be?

Untitled design 3.png

Do I really have to strive for more???

Personally, I find myself struggling with this often as the majority of my network is all about financial success. Majority of the people in my network are good, generous, honest and caring people (which is the important part) but they also have this drive for more that I just don't find myself having as much.

Don't get me wrong, I want to continue to see my financial well being grow, as the reality is life is easier with money. However, I have been blessed to be in a place where my basic bills are covered and there is some money left over to have a pretty normal social life.

I don't desire too much more than that. Yeah, there are times I have more wealthy friends do things that I'm like..."oh hell I'm not spending that kind of money on that" but otherwise I'm good to go.

I've worked super hard over the past couple decades to get to a point of "safety" and I supposed anything more than that isn't as enticing for me. Maybe its because they are just "nice to have" things and I really don't have enough motivation to put in the work for them.

On the flipside more is also safer given one big hiccup could potentially jam me up so its not exactly like I'm set for life or anything.

Really, the path that I'm on is getting the job done and over the years more wealth will be built between my real estate investments and crypto, so it goes back to...why do I need do to more?

I supposed there are no guarantees with real estate and crypto being worth more and generating income in the years and decades to come, but I'm pretty comfortable hitching my wagon to those and taking my chances.

Just random thoughts on a random day as I feel pressured to do more, when I really don't want too. I'm pretty content.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

!PIZZA🤑

Oh I totally get that. I’m not young, but I’m still plenty of years away from retirement. I have friends that stayed single, make great money and do all sorts of cool stuff. Meanwhile I broke my ass paying for a house and putting my daughter through school. I’m happy to say that my daughter is a nurse. Unfortunately I’m recently divorced which killed pretty much everything I worked for. So I’m breaking my ass even harder now to build myself back up. I’ll get there.

I bet your daughter's accomplishments is worth the hustle.

100% absolutely!!!

Love this!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@aurikan(4/5) tipped @scaredycatguide (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Well it's very obvious that people who work so with ease spends lavishly but I belong to your school of thought I don't do much of spending to be noticed even if I got much but what I do in substitute is visiting the needy to support them. Probably the IDPs and likes. Thanks for sharing

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The Cat has spoken ;)
Having time for yourself is probably one of the most undervalued things we can have in life.

Indeed it is! A sense of peace is valuable.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

For some people it will be never enough. Cat already knows how much is enough.

There is a quote from the book "Psychology of Money" by Morgan Housel which fits here -

"The hardest financial skill is getting the goalpost to stop moving."

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great book!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

“I don't give a sh$t about being wild rich, just make me comfortable and I'll deal with it….” - Q-Tip

Posted via Veews

Props for quoting Q-Tip.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ya man, been on a Tribe kick a lot lately lol