You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can Governments really Ban Bitcoin?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Thank you very much for your post. It is definitely thought-provoking. If bitcoin was a substantial enough threat governments would have acted already. The U.S. federal government hasn't yet acted. Some states, however, have enacted legislation when dealing with cryptocurrencies. The IRS, though, expects its cut of profits if you convert to USD. Europe, on the other hand, appears to encourage its growth.

Ultimately, I feel banning Bitcoin, as well as other cryptocurrencies, is speculative at this time. It is prudent, however, to continue to keep an eye on things. We never know when the financial tides can change.

Sort:  

Yep, very good points. It's unfortunate that this is even a part of the decision on whether to invest or not. The good news is that as more and larger players come into the space, it makes it harder and harder to ban and of course I am sure they will likely do their part in trying to get those in power that are good for their investments, IE good for crypto.

I find your assessment is correct, though I don't have the financial background to prove it. I only started paying attention to crypto since I've been on Steemit/HIVE. I feel that if the world views crypto as a stable currency then it just becomes another form of payment. If it becomes a dominant form of payment, however, the governments will take action or develop competitive currencies of their own. My money is on development of alternative cryptocurrencies first.

My hesitation in investing in crypto, though, was only possible with the offering of a writing community. I never knew about the debate over government takeover or regulation of crypto.