I will look back at the amount of HP I can earn by playing Splinterlands now with amazement later

in LeoFinance3 years ago


talesofrewards04102019.jpg

look at me, I recycled an old image. I'm @sharkmonsters as well. I didn't steal this.

There will come a day when I'll look back on my ability to add just a handful or so of Hive to my Hive Power every day by playing Splinterlands a modest amount. This is what I believe, anyway. Sure, it might look like I'm chasing pennies to some people, but I look at it more like I'm collecting seeds.


fiveStarsWouldRecomend.png

Forgive me, as I know this isn't a unique take or metaphor. I'm not claiming to be some genius or even saying that what I'm doing would be worth your time. Rather, I'm trying to illustrate why I think it is worth my time. Playing Splinterlands is legitimately fun to me, so stacking a little bit of Hive by doing is just like butter on the steak. Or icing on the cake. Or nutritional yeast on the kale. Take your pick.

Stacking up 4-5 Hive Power per day just by playing a game doesn't sound impressive to the average person if you tell them that this only amounts to something like $.50 if you go by the current value. The value of Hive isn't just $.115 to me. If it was, I wouldn't bother to collect these seeds. That 4-5 HP I added today by playing Splinterlands are seeds that could (and I believe will) grow into much more value in the (hopefully near) future.

Screen Shot 20201231 at 2.09.42 PM.png

This is not too bad considering it's nearly all from posting, curation, and selling tokens I've earned on the LeoDex. A few times, I did convert some Bitcoin into Hive and power it up, but it was just leftover/trace amounts from buying it for never mind what I bought it for.

A couple of weeks ago, I decided that it was my goal to increase the HP of my @oh-high-mark account by as much as possible. The goal is to eventually meet what this account has, which is over 14,000 HP at the moment. I've got a long way to go. Now is still the time to work on it, though.

I'm sure others have talked about this before, but I wonder if Hive lagging behind a little bit in price has something to do with how much of it everyone on Steem got for "free" at the start. That was pretty great. Then, I powered down my Steem and bought more Hive with it, and powered that up. I achieved Hive Power that I would likely not have been able to if we'd all started at 0 when it launched.

Besides just selling DEC on the LeoDex to get more Hive Power, I'm also selling off a bunch of AFIT that I've accumulated over time. The app doesn't work well for me anymore. I'm not as interested in it as I once was. That token isn't worth a ton, either, but I'm able to get several Hive out of selling it every couple of days.

The AFIT will run out eventually, but I did manage to accumulate quite a bit. I delegated Steem Power and then Hive Power to Actifit for the longest time, and I'd get a bunch of the tokens. For a while, I held a bunch of their other AFITX (or whatever) tokens. I was able to trade in my AFIT tokens for pretty decent upvotes just about every day when I held the other tokens.

Sometime soon, I intend to invest some cash into Hive Power, but my second source of income is on hold at the moment. It'll pick back up some time after the new year (aka tomorrow) and I'll be able to put most of that toward either investments or frivolous things that I want.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Great strategy you got going. I am currently hooked to multiple Hive games and plan is to keep spending what I have in those games. Hope in a couple of years I can traded it for hive power with interest. Thanks.