Pre 33 Gold is a must have in my opinion…

in LeoFinancelast year

Afternoon everyone….

Being that I started out as a coin collector. To me a beautiful coin will always hold a higher regard to me than any round or bar will.

While I still collect coins here and there. My main goal over the passed several years was adding weight.

In certain instances you can do both. One of those areas is pre 1933 United States gold coins. They are 90% gold and are highly collectible in mint state. But they are drying up rather quickly over the last few years.

Why???

Because the amount produced was nothing like what is produced today.

Example: I am going to share a $5 gold Indian head coin from 1913. There were only 916,000 of these struck. More than half of these have been melted down since then. These coins have a gold weight of just under a quarter of an ounce at .24187.

But you get to hold a piece of history.


0DF771F1E5654F9094D75A8EAD559F9A.jpeg

081228DB3DB04514A3D8B6602F6A620A.jpeg

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Very nice coin! They don't make them like that anymore! I love early American coins, just so much more beautiful. I would take that any day of the week over a bar or round! Keep up the collecting, thanks for sharing!

The coin looks so nice

The Gold coin is nice. I have the gold eagle, but it's modern !

But you have some gold.👍

So what would the value of something like that be?

That particular date 1913 in that condition is in the range of $1,100-$1,500. I bought this about 5 years ago for $600.

You received an upvote of 96% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

I would never melt that down damn, that's so nice I hope to get my hands on some gold circulation coins soon.

Would love to add more history to my gold stack.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is really adorable I must confess

Lovely beautiful gold coin with amazing designs on it.

Beautiful gold coin shared