1892 Austrian 20 Francs/8 Florin Gold Coin

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I saw a squirrel recently. Maybe you saw it too in a photo on my recent post. You know squirrels work like crazy gathering up food when times are good and store them for the coming Winter. And they work frantically while time allows them. They know that they have to store up food to survive the Winter and they work with a sense of urgency, or they are done.

No choice

My Dad use to say “when the sun shineth, make hay”; taking advantage of a good situation or of good conditions and making the most of your opportunities.

Have you noticed the rising health care cost, rising fuel cost, rising food cost? It is hard enough to have a normal life today. But the bottom line is we don't have a choice.

It could be your job, it could a health scare, it could be your adult kids who are screw-ups and a drain, but they are your kids...

I protect myself by buying gold and silver. Although by design my lifestyle is very modest, it can be under attack by many things. I stack as a hedge against inflation. I stack to save. I stack with a purpose.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

In 1892, the Austrian Mint struck these gold coins as a commemorative release. 20 Francs gold coins were popularly used throughout Europe at the time and the Austro-Hungarian Empire had first issued gold coins in this denomination in 1870. What makes these particular coins unique is the dual denomination they hold with a value of 20 Francs and 8 Florin.


1892 20 Francs / 8 Florin Austrian Gold Coin

The reverse of the 1892 20 Francs/8 Florin Austrian Gold Coin includes the crowned arms of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The empire was forged out of lands controlled directly by the House of Hapsburg and included Hungary following his ascension to the Hungarian throne in 1867. The crowned arms feature a double-headed eagle and engravings of the ceremonial date mark and both denominations issued to the coin.


On the obverse of 1892 Austrian Gold Coins is the right-profile portrait of Emperor Franz Joseph I. He reigned predominantly as the Emperor of Austria and King of Hungary from December 1848 until his death in November 1916, making him the third-longest-reigning monarch of any European country. His portrait here depicts him with a wreath crown and his name and title in Latin around the design edge.



😍#ilikeitalot!😍


This year, I have shown you these gold pieces:

Source: Apmes, JM Bullion, SDbUllion


Best Regards,

@silversaver888

I am not a financial adviser. This article is not meant to be financial advice. My articles on cryptos and precious metals share my personal opinion, experiences, and general information on cryptos and precious metals.
All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!


Join the Ladies of Hive Community and the Ladies of Hive in discord.

Would you like to support The Ladies of Hive Community?

Consider giving a delegation!

25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 150 HP - 200 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP - 5000 HP



Posted Using [LeoFinance Beta](https://leofinance.io/@silversaver888/1892-austrian-20-francs-8-florin-gold-coin)
Sort:  

Beautiful coins saver. I really need to get me some of that old European pizazz!
And you are so right about stacking as a means to prosperity and assurance.

Just yesterday, and a Sunday no less, I had an urgent need for some cash dollars in my hand… And my stack was there for me again.
I converted to fiat, and then struck at what I believed to be the bottom of the crypto rout.
Today? Profiting!
Soon I will take some more crypto off the table and maybe, just maybe, find meself some florins.
Keep on stacking and keep on macking saver!
👊🤩

Great call, Old Man 🤣
I'm thinking about another PRECIOUS w/d in the near future!!

Not older… wiser 😜

That's the way to do it, @thedamus.
Your stack is there to serve your needs.
CHEERS!!!

It's a GOOD idea to hedge against inflation. My wife and I gave this considerable thought many years ago and decided to make a few moves to assure we would not have to worry.. As much. lol.

Neat gold coins! I think that the dual denomination is very interesting. I can't remember if I've ever seen anything quite like that. Guess I can't say that anymore. lol. I always want to buy gold coins, but am drawn to the silver ones mostly. The premium is lower and the upside potential could be greater.. what are your thoughts on that?

You and your wife are ahead of the game. @bdmillergallery!
I think the old gold coins are neat! But I stack the gold coins according to what I can afford. Sometimes I don't have a choice. My budget allows for one fractional gold coin a month. Seldom am I able to afford a 1-ounce gold coin, but I have several, the first one being a 1 oz American Buffalo proof.

Good grief your stacking hard! I do like gold coins but silver is my bag really, I am waiting for the world to go more to shit than it already is and my stack will come to the rescue. Winter is coming

Only what I can afford @monsterjamgold, only what I can afford.
Oh yeah, Winter is coming!

Love them. I used to have similar coins in the vault. But... I spy a Spyderco...

Hahaha, yeah, it's a Spyderco!

IMG_6629.JPG

I love excellent knives. That's an excellent knife.

Hi @silversaver888, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @stokjockey. Holding at least 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Thank you very much @stokjockey!

I !LUV The Fact that Your Dad was Right....... Ms. Saver @silversaver888

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 57 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I loved your introduction dear friend @ silversaver888 you say very true things, you knew your father's words.
Your collection is admirable, you always surprise us with something beautiful.
I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid afternoon

Hi @jlufer!
When my Dad said it (and he does often), I did not quite understand it.
Such is life.

Have a great afternoon, my friend.

A favorite of mine @silversaver888!!😀 You can't go wrong with this dual denomination Gold coin in the stack my friend. My Daughter in Law is Hungarian, and she would live this coin!! 😀

Old gold coins when they are reasonable is better than new bullion. But I have a 2021 Sovereign too.
I can only afford a fractional gold per month.
But, I don't know about showing them. Had a bad experience doing that.

Sorry to hear about you having a bad experience @silversaver888. It is a strange/dangerous World my friend, always be careful!😀

A very nice coin sis, and extra special because of the Hungarian. Our daughter in law is Hungarian, and I am familiar the the Florin because of that. Thank you for sharing!

So your daughter-in-law is Hungarian? Where did your son meet her?

He was involved in sky diving and had a buddy who knew her. They met through him. She spoke little English when they first met. Now, she's a teacher at a preschool. He's passable at Hungarian. Me, I can say Happy Birthday and Merry Christmas, and once upon a time I could ask how much something was, but the rule 'use it or lose it' is so true. I lost that part, lol! They say it's one of the most difficult languages to learn.🤗💕

From little English to being a teacher! There are some who learn quick!

She is a very smart woman!💕

What an interesting coin!! I do love the gold coins and gold in particular, but, silver is more affordable to stack.

That said, I do both and even though I never considered myself a stacker, I guess I really am. I collect. Same-same?

Anyway, thank you for the history and for showing off the coin. Pretty coins still turn my head. :))

You can say that again. Silver is more affordable.
Hehehe, yes you are a collector and a stacker, sis!
There is a difference between a stacker and a collector, and you both!

It is, but, sometimes, something comes up that you just gotta have.

And that is when we start saving our allowances. :)

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.