Quality over Quanity? Or a compromise?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

There are two Fashion Gurus I used to follow on youtube, Antonio of Real Men Real Style and Aaron of Alpha M. From time to time they would bring out tips and hacks kinda videos. You know, the 7 tips to make you look classy, or 10 hacks all men must know, etc etc. You know what I'm talking about. You've definitely seen tons of these all over the internet. Most of these are just cliches. But Antonio and Aaron, their content was always top notch and it seemed they knew what they were talking about.

They both have quite different approaches to style, but there was one tip they always had in common, in almost all their videos : Quality over Quantity.

This is very interesting. If we think about it, we can apply this, or different versions of this, or go against this entirely in our day to day lives. This is not just restricted to style. Find one quality partner instead of countless ones. I don't just mean life partner, could be business partners, study partners. You apply to your circumstances.

Quality over quantity does not always stand. Quality will always cost much more per unit. If I want a financially struggling person to eat quality food for one meal, that might mean having to skip the next 6 meals as he would have spent up all his money on that one quality meal. Depending on his situation, the better solution would be to either compromise quality a bit, and increase quantity, or, compromise quality altogether and have at least something on the plate every meal.

So as I was saying, different ways of applying the same concept under different circumstances.



Source


This applies to blogging on HIVE too, and this is a very important concept, especially for new users to get a good understanding of the etiquette needed to do well here. To succeed on a blogging platform, consistency is key. Almost all new user have been given this suggestion, to post consistently. This is where the problem begins.

To post consistently is perceived by almost all the new users as, post daily. If you are a human machine like Tarazkp or Sidwrites, and can put out top notch content daily, that's perfectly fine. But there's no shame in accepting a lot of us aren't at that level to be churning out content daily, and maintain that level of quality. So you're once again presented with the difficult question, quality or quantity?

How you answer this decides how well your blog does.

Consistency. Most users will interpret this as posting regularly. The better, more sophisticated interpretation however, is, Consistency of quality in your articles. If you're unable to write a quality article today, don't post. As simple as it gets! When it comes to my blog, quality is something that I will not compromise with for quantity. The past week, I posted only 2 articles. If I wanted, could I have posted 7-8 articles? Yes, I could. At the same time I can also guarantee you, 80% of those would probably just be garbage, no kidding!

With the auto votes, a pile of garbage would probably have earned a good 20 bucks. Instead I chose to invest more time into the 2 articles that I eventually posted (one of which was perfected at the 3rd attempt), and these 2 are sitting nicely at $70! :) This is generally not how it looks, this week has been exceptionally good. During a more normal week, 2-3 good articles would sit comfortably somewhere around $40, which is still much better than posting garbage all week long.

Like every business transaction, the more you invest, the higher are you chances of more profit. On you articles, you invest your time and effort. The more you invest, like every other business, the more chances and all that beautiful stuff!

A very common message I read on the various discords is, I can't find a topic to write about today. What should I write, what should I write. Answer me this : Who said you have to write today?

If your answer is, Well, I thought we should be posting everyday to grow our blog, we can fix this mentality :)

However, if you answer me If I don't write one day, I won't get those juicy bucks, those lucrative auto upvotes, then my friend, you're already halfway up the stairway to heaven failure!

End of Post Signature.png

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

Quality over quantity.

It was a very nice explanation for the most important question of us.Thanks for describing it so easily.

Glad you found this useful. :) Make good use of this 😉